ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-05-2012, 01:49 AM   #1
DDT Rider OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Kanagawa, Japan
Oddometer: 473
Anyone else have trouble w/ the fit of the Promach dual tool?

...or am I being a wrench-tard...?

I ordered one of these for my 2008GSA. The first time I tried to use it to remove the spark plugs, I was unable to get it to fit the cap of the plug coils. I then reverted to another plug tool (the Mark Parnes tool) and it worked a charm.

I tried again with the Promach, and it was just too tight to get around the coil...I thought maybe it was a snap fit so I pushed a little harder and it ended up gouging the plastic, so I quit...

I contacted Promach and they said this was a first...so maybe I am missing a subtlety...

...any recent experience with this current batch of dual tools?

Cheers
Jim in Japan
DDT Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 10:40 AM   #2
WoodButcher
Beastly Adventurer
 
WoodButcher's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Oddometer: 2,004
My promach has worked just fine on my 09 GSA.
__________________
Rusty

2009 BMW R1200GS Adventure
1999 DR650
WoodButcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 03:54 PM   #3
Shred Head Fred
Captain Amstel
 
Shred Head Fred's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: End of the trail
Oddometer: 53
Yep!

I had the same problem, but I forced it on because I wasn't gonna hassle the return. But now that I know its a possible production problem they should replace it free of charge. That baby wasn't cheap and should fot like a glove.
Shred Head Fred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 03:56 PM   #4
DDT Rider OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Kanagawa, Japan
Oddometer: 473
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shread Head Fred View Post
I had the same problem, but I forced it on because I wasn't gonna hassle the return. But now that I know its a possible production problem they should replace it free of charge. That baby wasn't cheap and should fit like a glove.
"Good" to hear...
They offered to replace it in the next production run...I forget when that was supposed to be...possibly summer.
DDT Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 04:44 PM   #5
Das Boot
down periscope
 
Das Boot's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Oddometer: 191
I just used mine for the first time on my 2012 ADV, it worked fine for me. I bought mine directly from them last Christmas. The build quality is awesome, although so is the price for what it is.
Das Boot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 10:44 PM   #6
DDT Rider OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Kanagawa, Japan
Oddometer: 473
Quote:
Originally Posted by Das Boot View Post
I just used mine for the first time on my 2012 ADV, it worked fine for me. I bought mine directly from them last Christmas. The build quality is awesome, although so is the price for what it is.
I guess that would have been Christmas 2012...I wonder if there was an out of spec batch in there somewhere in the new year.

Is the coil the same over all the 1200s?
DDT Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 09:49 PM   #7
Promach 1
Promach 1
 
Promach 1's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: NW Montana, Flathead valley
Oddometer: 207
Troubles?

The Dual Tool is guaranteed. I have no problem replacing tools that are too tight. There was a small batch that was a little tight that got out there but very few returned.
I was just cruising the net tonight and found this blog or I would have taken care of this sooner if I had been notified.
Sorry for any inconveniance.
Promach 1
Promach 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 09:38 PM   #8
simmonsk133
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Augusta/Bville expressway
Oddometer: 93
Hi,
Mine fits pretty tight. I use it on both the 2009 GS and RT. First time I think I was only able to get it on half way. It was enough to do it. Now it fits snug but I can get it on all the way. I spend more time looking for it than using it now.
Enjoy...
PS: I think mine was also from December 2012.
__________________
The more I drive the Ural, the better my BMW shifts.

simmonsk133 screwed with this post 02-27-2014 at 09:41 PM Reason: Added purchase date
simmonsk133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 08:55 AM   #9
picard
engage!
 
picard's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Boulder, Colorado
Oddometer: 1,128
Guess I'll have to try mine - never used the coil puller... the axle tool works great. :-)
__________________
"Rumors of my assimilation are greatly exaggerated." (Capt. Picard)
picard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014