ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2012, 08:50 AM   #1
klinquist OP
übergeek
 
klinquist's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Oddometer: 1,004
GoPro Wifi Bacpac thread



I picked up the just released GoPro Wifi Bacpac for my HERO2 camera yesterday. It is advertised as having several capabilities:

a) comes with a remote to remotely control the camera (actually up to 50 cameras!) from up to 600ft away
b) use your smartphone as a viewfinder & remote control
c) Live stream video from wherever you have a wifi connection. The manual shows the facebook and youtube icons...

The wifi bacpac is the same size as the LCD or battery bacpac, as expected. It comes with a new rear "door" (both waterproof and non-waterproof versions) to accomodate for the larger size. It has its own power button so the new rear door has an additional "push through" button on it.

It has its own battery contained within and the manual says that if the wifi bacpac's battery is fully depleted, it will use the camera's battery as a backup. I have not tested the battery life, I *hope* it at least equals the camera battery.

It looks like the bacpac has both wifi and bluetooth radios in it - I will have to use a frequency counter to see if the remote control it comes with is actually using wifi or BT (for my own curiosity).

I like the design of the remote control - it comes with a wrist strap as well as a clip that you can easily attach to a zipper pull or keychain. The clip is removed (by moving a slider on the bottom) and a special USB adapter is plugged in to charge and to update the firmware. I have not yet tested the battery life of the remote control.

The remote works well - it has a display on it that mirrors the display on the camera itself.

Unfortunately, capabilities b) and c) above have not yet been implemented. When you try to enable wifi from the new wifi menu setting on the gopro, it says "coming soon." The GoPro app for the iphone does not yet exist.

Some tech blog writeups have said that an existing wifi network will be required to use the smartphone gopro app as a viewfinder & camera control. Combing through the manual, I believe this is NOT true. I believe that the wifi bacpac will form its own ad-hoc wifi network which you can connect to with your phone.

I look forward to reviewing the full capabilities of this device once all the features are implemented. Using wifi as a transport protocol means I can sniff the traffic and maybe do some creative things.
klinquist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 05:35 PM   #2
klinquist OP
übergeek
 
klinquist's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Oddometer: 1,004
A reply from GoPro as to when the full capabilities will be available (via a software update):

Hi Kris,

Thank you for contacting GoPro!

We don't know the exact release date. This item should be released in the next couple weeks.

Please let us know if you have any further questions.

Many Thanks,
Kellie F
GoPro Support
www.gopro.com/support
klinquist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 06:14 PM   #3
SnoDrtRider
Got Snow?
 
SnoDrtRider's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: South Jersey... Close to the Pines
Oddometer: 2,299
I've often thought that a remote shutter/record button would be great for conserving battery and SD card space on the Gpro. I haven't used my old Hero in a long time because it is just a PITA but once this set up gets sorted out I may need to spring for a new HD and the WiFi back.
Many times I have been riding down a road and thought "This would make a nice shot" but haven't taken the time to stop and take the photo.
__________________
Wayne 2005 BMW F650GS... 1984 HD FXRS
Gone but not forgotten...
'80 Montesa Cota 200, '03 DRZ 400s,
'80 Suzuki GS850G, '74 Honda MT250 Enduro
'71 Kawasaki 100,1971 Honda SL70, Sears Mini Bike
SnoDrtRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 06:36 PM   #4
dacrazyrn
ED RN Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Oddometer: 493
Which one is the camera? I see no lens.
The remote control with smartphone would be better through a bluetooth…wouldn't it? Unless you want to pay that extra money to the corps for Hotspot smartphone. Not worth it just for that.
__________________
Tracy E / Photos4Aidan.com / dacrazyrn.dpcprints.com / Can you SPOT me?
“When you do things RIGHT, people won’t be sure you’ve done anything at all.” God in Godfellas-Futurama
Life is Risk Management
'09 BMW F800GS-Fate Honeyed GSabelle
dacrazyrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 06:58 PM   #5
ktm950se
Banned
 
ktm950se's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Southern Maine
Oddometer: 1,385
Following this closely...

ktm950se
ktm950se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 07:41 PM   #6
EmmEff
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 1,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by dacrazyrn View Post
Which one is the camera? I see no lens.
Neither. On the left is the "back" (or module) for the GoPro camera, on the right is the remote that communicates with that module to control the camera (not shown, not included).
__________________
2001 F650GS Dakar
2008 DR-Z 400S
EmmEff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 08:09 PM   #7
klinquist OP
übergeek
 
klinquist's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Oddometer: 1,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by dacrazyrn View Post
Which one is the camera? I see no lens.
The remote control with smartphone would be better through a bluetooth…wouldn't it? Unless you want to pay that extra money to the corps for Hotspot smartphone. Not worth it just for that.
You don't need an existing wifi hotspot (or paying for the ability w/ your cell provider) for this - the wifi bacpac can (err...will, once the software is updated) form its own ad-hoc wifi network.
klinquist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 12:31 AM   #8
dacrazyrn
ED RN Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Oddometer: 493
so you connect an existing GoPro into it…K. Good if you already own one. Good idea to bring those in.
Must be working on a camera with all this incorporated into it. ?? I wouldn't be interested in buying all that and THEN a camera.
__________________
Tracy E / Photos4Aidan.com / dacrazyrn.dpcprints.com / Can you SPOT me?
“When you do things RIGHT, people won’t be sure you’ve done anything at all.” God in Godfellas-Futurama
Life is Risk Management
'09 BMW F800GS-Fate Honeyed GSabelle
dacrazyrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 01:50 AM   #9
GoGo Gadget
Beastly Adventurer
 
GoGo Gadget's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Oddometer: 1,255
Quote:
Originally Posted by dacrazyrn View Post
so you connect an existing GoPro into it…K. Good if you already own one. Good idea to bring those in.
Must be working on a camera with all this incorporated into it. ?? I wouldn't be interested in buying all that and THEN a camera.
I doubt they are. This seems to be their format. They have the base camera, then various backpac add-ons so you add the capability you want. Extra backpac that is a larger battery, LCD view screen that the base camera lacks, or this wifi add-on.
__________________
I don't know how or when I'll die, but I know someone will be holding my beer for me when I do.


I have been told I have the body of a God. What does this Buddha guy look like?
GoGo Gadget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 02:54 PM   #10
Aviatordoc
BMW K12S rider
 
Aviatordoc's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Oddometer: 328
I have one on order as well and get it by tuesday.
Aviatordoc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 02:56 PM   #11
klinquist OP
übergeek
 
klinquist's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Oddometer: 1,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Smallberries View Post
Response from GoPro on "why won't my remote connect"
I must say that updating everything was a breeze on my Mac.

(I also use Windows for many things, I happened to use my Mac for this... )
klinquist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 07:55 PM   #12
GB
Mod Squad
 
GB's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Oddometer: 55,249
Thanks for the review.. very interested in this.

Does the camera or the remote indicate the status of the camera? (recording, pause.. etc.).
__________________
ADV decals, patches & flag? Here
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 09:12 PM   #13
klinquist OP
übergeek
 
klinquist's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Oddometer: 1,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by GB View Post
Thanks for the review.. very interested in this.

Does the camera or the remote indicate the status of the camera? (recording, pause.. etc.).
The remote has an LCD that mirrors the one on the camera. It also has a red LED that blinks with the camera's LCD.
klinquist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 09:13 PM   #14
SportFaller
Dirt dont hurt, MUCH
 
SportFaller's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Laramie, WY
Oddometer: 665
One of the most frustrating technology days I've ever had.

followed every step just as listed on the gopro site, and no joy.

camera says it successfully updates, but I plug it back in and it wants to run the update again.

bacpac update freezes in the "importing to device" stage and forces a CineForm restart

I should have known better than to buy one from the first batch.

Guess I'll try tech support monday, was hoping to use it riding tomorrow...
__________________
"The chokers, and the chain saws, and the log trucks have been stilled, now spotted owls, and hippy gals, run freely through the woods!"
Bikeless in WY
http://www.dakotadualsportriders.com
SportFaller is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 10:50 PM   #15
GodSpeedRally
Gnarly Adventurer
 
GodSpeedRally's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: In my dreams
Oddometer: 102
Damn, and I just bought one of those LCD screen pacs. Should I take that back in favor of this?
/?
GodSpeedRally is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014