ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-09-2012, 08:40 AM   #16
GB
Mod Squad
 
GB's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Oddometer: 55,370
For my usage, the remote on/off was the only thing missing. Thanks for all your feedback on this..

The GoPro support team have always replied to my inquiries in a timely manner and when one of my cameras crapped out, they replaced it no questions asked. Gotta like that service.
__________________
ADV decals, patches & flag? Here
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 05:40 PM   #17
Dajudge70
n00b
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Oddometer: 1
I had problems updating the wifi backpack also. I finally rebooted the computer and everything worked fine. Mine was hanging up on "updating firmware of the backpack." so if you run into this, reboot the machine and try again.
Dajudge70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 05:37 AM   #18
Dogscout
Been there done that
 
Dogscout's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: East Tennessee
Oddometer: 1,379
I am a bit annoyed with this. There are three items that need charged. Backpack, camera, remote. I bought the camera and wifi kit for a trip I'm planning to Africa and I'll have limited USB ports available to charge things. I'm really hoping that the battery life n this is better than a few hours.

Any thoughts on keeping these all charged easily?
__________________
Originally Posted by matteeanne
You sir are now denoobified and an honorary member of the secret order of the wtf thread. Well done sir, well done.
Dogscout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 05:49 AM   #19
EmmEff
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 1,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogscout View Post
I am a bit annoyed with this. There are three items that need charged. Backpack, camera, remote. I bought the camera and wifi kit for a trip I'm planning to Africa and I'll have limited USB ports available to charge things. I'm really hoping that the battery life n this is better than a few hours.

Any thoughts on keeping these all charged easily?
You don't need to charge USB devices using a computer. You can get a plug-in AC adapter that includes multiple USB ports for charging. For example.
__________________
2001 F650GS Dakar
2008 DR-Z 400S
EmmEff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 06:17 AM   #20
John Smallberries
Beastly Adventurer
 
John Smallberries's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Northville, Michigan
Oddometer: 1,239
battery

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogscout View Post
I am a bit annoyed with this. There are three items that need charged. Backpack, camera, remote. I bought the camera and wifi kit for a trip I'm planning to Africa and I'll have limited USB ports available to charge things. I'm really hoping that the battery life n this is better than a few hours.

Any thoughts on keeping these all charged easily?
I am doing a 3-day ride in Austria next week and had the same concern. I bought a 6000 mAh backup battery with two USB ports from Radio Shack. I also got a travel USB hub to handle all of these devices. I have a spare GoPro battery as well. I will let you know if the whole gadget-palooza actually works.
__________________
'05 BMW 1200GS
'09 Honda CRF230
'10 Yamaha TW200
John Smallberries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 07:29 AM   #21
Dogscout
Been there done that
 
Dogscout's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: East Tennessee
Oddometer: 1,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmmEff View Post
You don't need to charge USB devices using a computer. You can get a plug-in AC adapter that includes multiple USB ports for charging. For example.
Right, but I do need USB hubs or ports on a vehicle. On my Africa trip I'll have an inverter to power some items, but need more than two USB ports. Right now I have a USB cigarete lighter plug for a third port and I could put a hub in also. I want to minimize the spaghetti loop of wires though and I got too many gadgets.

iPad
Gps
Cameras
Mac book
Phone
__________________
Originally Posted by matteeanne
You sir are now denoobified and an honorary member of the secret order of the wtf thread. Well done sir, well done.
Dogscout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 04:52 PM   #22
SportFaller
Dirt dont hurt, MUCH
 
SportFaller's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Laramie, WY
Oddometer: 666
new version of cineform was released today, everything updated fine, working great now!
__________________
"The chokers, and the chain saws, and the log trucks have been stilled, now spotted owls, and hippy gals, run freely through the woods!"
Bikeless in WY
http://www.dakotadualsportriders.com
SportFaller is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 04:56 PM   #23
SnoDrtRider
Got Snow?
 
SnoDrtRider's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: South Jersey... Close to the Pines
Oddometer: 2,316
Like I said in my post ONCE THIS GETS SORTED OUT... I may give it a try. Go Pro has always been good for support but I'm not buying in until the beta version gets sorted.
__________________
Wayne 2005 BMW F650GS... 1984 HD FXRS
Gone but not forgotten...
'80 Montesa Cota 200, '03 DRZ 400s,
'80 Suzuki GS850G, '74 Honda MT250 Enduro
'71 Kawasaki 100,1971 Honda SL70, Sears Mini Bike
SnoDrtRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 05:26 PM   #24
John Smallberries
Beastly Adventurer
 
John Smallberries's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Northville, Michigan
Oddometer: 1,239
Still not working!

Quote:
Originally Posted by SportFaller View Post
new version of cineform was released today, everything updated fine, working great now!
I haven't gotten a response from GoPro on my problem: remote works, but no display.

My Cineform version is Version 1.2 (1.2.0.122), downloaded last week. I launched the software just now and got no indication of any new version. Is this the same as yours?

I tried to start from scratch tonight, but cannot get Cineform to recognize either the wifi bacpac or remote in the "Device Window". Tried rebooting, restarting Cineform, unplugging USB, power-cycling devices......

I guess I'll just wait to hear back from them.
__________________
'05 BMW 1200GS
'09 Honda CRF230
'10 Yamaha TW200
John Smallberries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 05:47 PM   #25
SportFaller
Dirt dont hurt, MUCH
 
SportFaller's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Laramie, WY
Oddometer: 666
uninstall cineform completely, reboot your machine, download cineform fresh from gopro, and try again, like I said, there was a cineform update 6/9/10, 1.2.0.156 i believe...

give that a try, and there is a good youtube video:

__________________
"The chokers, and the chain saws, and the log trucks have been stilled, now spotted owls, and hippy gals, run freely through the woods!"
Bikeless in WY
http://www.dakotadualsportriders.com
SportFaller is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 11:34 PM   #26
klinquist OP
übergeek
 
klinquist's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Oddometer: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogscout View Post
Right, but I do need USB hubs or ports on a vehicle. On my Africa trip I'll have an inverter to power some items, but need more than two USB ports. Right now I have a USB cigarete lighter plug for a third port and I could put a hub in also. I want to minimize the spaghetti loop of wires though and I got too many gadgets.

iPad
Gps
Cameras
Mac book
Phone
Hubs won't do you any good, they just split the power, your devices would take twice as long to charge..
I have disassembled a few USB cig lighter adapters and wired them all into a smaller package for the bike. Get a few 6 inch long cables to avoid the spaghetti.
klinquist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 09:29 AM   #27
gots_a_sol
Gnarly Adventurer
 
gots_a_sol's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Charles Town, WV
Oddometer: 410
I think the motorsports package was 260 on Amazon right now
__________________
11 Husky TXC250
09 Husky WR165 - VCHSS #79L
gots_a_sol is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 05:09 PM   #28
Dogscout
Been there done that
 
Dogscout's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: East Tennessee
Oddometer: 1,379
Can't wait to see the film of the Passes.

good on ya.
__________________
Originally Posted by matteeanne
You sir are now denoobified and an honorary member of the secret order of the wtf thread. Well done sir, well done.
Dogscout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 08:11 PM   #29
SportFaller
Dirt dont hurt, MUCH
 
SportFaller's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Laramie, WY
Oddometer: 666
This was my solution for keeping track of the remote:

I didn't want it fixed on the bike, mostly because I'll have the cam on my helmet, and want to be able to still film the carnage when I'm on foot, walking up or back on the trail to help other riders in the group.

I bought a $7 heavy-duty retracting lanyard from the local police supply shop, attached the remote key deal, and attached it to my klim backpack. presto, safe, sound, and accessible.



__________________
"The chokers, and the chain saws, and the log trucks have been stilled, now spotted owls, and hippy gals, run freely through the woods!"
Bikeless in WY
http://www.dakotadualsportriders.com
SportFaller is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 11:14 PM   #30
MasterMarine
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Now serving just Snohomish County
Oddometer: 1,388
I was having trouble with the updating process but was finally able to get it to work after restarting the computer. If you are having trouble with it hanging up during the update process, try restarting the computer.

Now where is that Android app?
MasterMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014