Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Hacks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-16-2012, 11:38 AM   #1
Gentleman Adventurer OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 68
Questions about a Used Ural side car for sale (hack only)

I'm new to this motorcycle stuff, but I've been lurking for years.
The boss said she would ride in a side car if we had one, so I'm starting the process.

I found this used URAL sidecar, seems a bit overpriced. I'm thinking more like $1200-$1500.
It's from a dealer.

http://www.cycletrader.com/listing/1...nk&vrsn=iframe

I do want an off paved road capable rig, so I'm looking at mating it too an 1100, 1150, 1200 GS series.

Given that background what are your thoughts on this sidecar, pricing, things to check, etc?
Old 06-16-2012, 12:17 PM   #2
Nsfrt
Adventurer

Oddometer: 38
It is NOT Ural. It is Dnepr.
Nsfrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 12:24 PM   #3
Gentleman Adventurer OP
Adventurer

Nsfrt;

Thanks for the reply, a couple questions:

Is it being a Dneper a bad thing? How does it affect the price?
How did you identify it as a Dneper?
Old 06-16-2012, 01:05 PM   #4
RedMenace
Adventure Sidecar

Oddometer: 5,224
Dnepr's have more rounded fenders than a Ural and the trunk is accessed by folding the seat back forward rather than a latching lid.

Nothing wrong with the Dnepr sidecar, but the price seems high and it is likely much newer than advertised judging by the signals and the wheel.

I'd offer about half that and not feel too bad if I paid a little more than half IF it is in good shape and IF I really wanted it. But it is worth what the seller can get for it and a solid sidecar under $2000 is not awful.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gentleman Adventurer View Post
Nsfrt;

Thanks for the reply, a couple questions:

Is it being a Dneper a bad thing? How does it affect the price?
How did you identify it as a Dneper?
Old 06-16-2012, 04:18 PM   #5
Gentleman Adventurer OP
Adventurer

Red,