ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-18-2012, 08:13 PM   #1
StepOnIt OP
Assitoner
 
StepOnIt's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Huntsville ON.
Oddometer: 961
KTM 690 problem

Hi I am posting for a friend who needs some help

We are a three person team for next weekends Dacre who just lost a member to the dreaded dead 690. It decided to die a few weeks ago (sputter and stall, would run for couple days then die) so he has changed out the Plug, filter, injector, fuel regulator, internal fuel hose, checked all wire connections more then once. I think it is the fuel pump but cant get one quick enough and there is an arm and leg price on it.
Anyway if there is anyone who thinks they can help out by either advice or worse case taking his place it would be greatly appreciated. You can either PM me E-Mail stepaen at hotmail dot com or give me a call 705-774-8649
thanks
Step
__________________
The road less traveled is the road I travel more.

"I feel sorry for people who don't drink. When they wake up in the morning, that's as good as they're going to feel all day." Dean Martin
StepOnIt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 04:04 AM   #2
Deadly99
Fast and Far
 
Deadly99's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Merrickville, Canada
Oddometer: 9,021
Is it the same fuel pump as a 950? If so I could rip mine off my bike and bring it with me

Let me know

Alliteratively you might be able to source a facet locally in the GTA
__________________
Tales From The Bivouac Rally Print Publications

TCAT (Trans Canada Adventure Trail)


Gravel Travel Canada - Canada's Source for Overland Travel
Deadly99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 04:48 AM   #3
GB
Mod Squad
 
GB's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Oddometer: 55,854
You'll get more help if this is moved to Thumpers.
__________________
ADV decals, patches & flag? Here
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 05:39 AM   #4
isplat2
Gnarly Adventurer
 
isplat2's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Soo Ont.
Oddometer: 303
I've ordered Facet's from "Aircraft Spruce" in Brantford Ont.
519-759-5017
They seemed to have them in stock as it was very fast shipping.
The 950 uses a Facet # 40171
You'll need the filter also Facet # 479729
The nice lady that takes your order is involved in the Ontario Vintage Road racing group...(sorry...I forget her name...) ...say Hi, and be nice to her...she will understand a racer's delimma/deadline.

...All this info is for the 950 KTM.




...ok...as per phone call...all this info is deceased, expired, not valid....like Monty Python's parrot........this info is for carbs not FI....sorry.
__________________
950 GO!!!!!
650 GS (Lovey's Ride)
SR 500 - Velorex Side Car

isplat2 screwed with this post 06-19-2012 at 05:45 AM
isplat2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 05:51 AM   #5
crankshaft
Guns are for pussies
 
crankshaft's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Burlingtron,VT
Oddometer: 13,976
Make a jumper wire for the ignition switch, clean the grounds really well at all attachment points, and replace the terminals at the coil connection. The main distribution relay under the seat can fail causing problems. If you have a Yamaha dealer locally, bring the relay in and they can match it with one that's used on a Yamaha. It's the relay with the big Molex plug in the middle and the big wires from the battery and the starter.

Try the ignition switch first, they're crappy and it's only tying two wires together.
__________________
Just say'IN
crankshaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 05:53 AM   #6
crankshaft
Guns are for pussies
 
crankshaft's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Burlingtron,VT
Oddometer: 13,976
If you get stuck PM for my # I also have some parts and some Dacre folks staying at my place Thursday night.
__________________
Just say'IN
crankshaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 06:36 AM   #7
shipwrek12001
Shipwrek
 
shipwrek12001's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Ottawa
Oddometer: 2,074
fuel pump is not the same as the 950 from what i saw on Evil Clowns bike....
shipwrek12001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 06:57 AM   #8
StepOnIt OP
Assitoner
 
StepOnIt's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Huntsville ON.
Oddometer: 961
Bike runs

Ok the bike is sort of running. It will start and run but only if you rev it. It will not idle and back fires when you relese the throttle. I am now wondering if it is a mapping problem.
__________________
The road less traveled is the road I travel more.

"I feel sorry for people who don't drink. When they wake up in the morning, that's as good as they're going to feel all day." Dean Martin
StepOnIt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 09:42 AM   #9
BK.RD.RNR
Torque Stick
 
BK.RD.RNR's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Livin' in the 90's
Oddometer: 5,452
Try the TPS reset, and FI reset proceedures.

Mine suddenly started sputtering, popping, and the FI light came on on my first ride back from the roaming rally. I switched the ignition off for a few seconds while riding, turned it back on, and hit the button. It started and ran fine before I came to a stop. I did the 15min reset sunday morning, and took her out for an hour without a hitch.


***Edit*** my understanding is that the FI reset only works if the engine is dead cold.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by metaljockey View Post
None of us are exceptionally skilled riders (excepting when I'm drunk, then I'm fcking quick).
BK.RD.RNR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 09:44 AM   #10
BK.RD.RNR
Torque Stick
 
BK.RD.RNR's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Livin' in the 90's
Oddometer: 5,452
I have a CA Cycleworks pump if you need it, and we can find a way to get it across the border in time.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by metaljockey View Post
None of us are exceptionally skilled riders (excepting when I'm drunk, then I'm fcking quick).
BK.RD.RNR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 11:16 AM   #11
GISdood
Studly Adventurer
 
GISdood's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Prince George, BC
Oddometer: 855
Have you checked the regulator/rectifier? I think I recall Fishfund having similar problems in his Africa RR. The faulty voltage regulator would intermittently send a spike of voltage, causing the ECU to throw the error codes and thus crippling the bike.

Its something worth checking if you have a voltmeter handy.
GISdood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 01:37 PM   #12
Uller
Beastly Adventurer
 
Uller's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Arlington, WA
Oddometer: 1,668
Quote:
Originally Posted by GISdood View Post
Have you checked the regulator/rectifier? I think I recall Fishfund having similar problems in his Africa RR. The faulty voltage regulator would intermittently send a spike of voltage, causing the ECU to throw the error codes and thus crippling the bike.

Its something worth checking if you have a voltmeter handy.

I had a Rectifier/Regulator go bad on my 690 causing all sorts of running issues too. You probably won't find it via testing though. It was an intermittent problem and couldn't be determined by checking with a voltmeter. Mine tested out fine but, was definitely the cause of my problems....
Uller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 06:29 PM   #13
Drif10
Accredited Jackass
 
Drif10's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Gates of Moscow
Oddometer: 46,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uller View Post
I had a Rectifier/Regulator go bad on my 690 causing all sorts of running issues too. You probably won't find it via testing though. It was an intermittent problem and couldn't be determined by checking with a voltmeter. Mine tested out fine but, was definitely the cause of my problems....
Fishfund found his out because his gps had a voltmeter built in, and he happened to see a spike at the right time, IIRC.
__________________
I guess your get up and go needs a coffee. - Drif5
Drif10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 06:51 PM   #14
BK.RD.RNR
Torque Stick
 
BK.RD.RNR's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Livin' in the 90's
Oddometer: 5,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drif10 View Post
Fishfund found his out because his gps had a voltmeter built in, and he happened to see a spike at the right time, IIRC.

Yes, and he thought he was chasing a fuel pump issue all through africa, and most of europe too, if I'm not mistaken.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by metaljockey View Post
None of us are exceptionally skilled riders (excepting when I'm drunk, then I'm fcking quick).
BK.RD.RNR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 07:08 PM   #15
StepOnIt OP
Assitoner
 
StepOnIt's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Huntsville ON.
Oddometer: 961
bike runs again

well I am crossing my fingers but it seems like the bike is running. Took it to a dealer and they checked out the mapping, the throttle body sensor was not calculated right ( or something like that).
Hope that is the end of that then and ride it till it breaks lol.
thanks everyone for the input
__________________
The road less traveled is the road I travel more.

"I feel sorry for people who don't drink. When they wake up in the morning, that's as good as they're going to feel all day." Dean Martin
StepOnIt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014