ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > Southeast, The Lair of the Dragon - The Blue Ridge and Smoky Mountains
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-18-2005, 11:35 AM   #1
iDave OP
Studly Adventurer
 
iDave's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Oddometer: 914
need

'.

iDave screwed with this post 07-07-2005 at 05:49 PM
iDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 12:04 PM   #2
Jack90210
mindful
 
Jack90210's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Oddometer: 15,097
It doesn't even begin to start up? DOS doesn't run? Sounds like a hardware problem, not a software problem.
__________________

I must say that my son has exposed a reservoir of love and of worry within me that I never knew existed. --nskitts, 9/2/12
Jack90210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 12:43 PM   #3
Gibeon
Sans-Cycle (for now)
 
Gibeon's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Oddometer: 3
If it's doing ABSOLUTELY nothing when you're trying to power it up, I'd try resetting the CMOS.

On your motherboard should be a 3 hole socket with a jumper thats inserted into two of the holes. Take that jumper out and move it over one. Leave it there for about a minute, then stick it back where it used to be and try to reboot.

Before you reboot, you may want to pull the battery from the MoBO as well for a minute or so while the PC's unplugged.

If the hardware isn't fried, the computer should always do SOMETHING when you try to turn it on. It it gets real confused, you need to reset the CMOS (I've done this a couple times with no ill effects other than lots of cursing).

HTH

Edit: Oh, I should warn you that I'm more of an adventuring electronic enthusiast than a PC professional... YMMV.
__________________
If it ain't broke, I haven't fixed it.
Gibeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 12:59 PM   #4
Skinner
Mr.KTM
 
Skinner's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Lake county Il
Oddometer: 5,603
I hate to sound stupid but just for kicks check the plug, outlet etc. Never hurts just to look.
__________________
You might be an ADVRider if:

You recognize your friends by the sound of their mufflers.
http://www.meetup.com/Chicagoland-Du...torcycle-Club/
www.jimstarwaltteam.com
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 02:55 PM   #5
Jack90210
mindful
 
Jack90210's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Oddometer: 15,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsquiggy
Microsoft said the problem is a faulty hard drive.
Bummer. At least new computers are cheap. Hope you didn't lose a ton of stuff on the old hard drive.
__________________

I must say that my son has exposed a reservoir of love and of worry within me that I never knew existed. --nskitts, 9/2/12
Jack90210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 03:11 PM   #6
westnash
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Oddometer: 3,246
I would take it to a computer repair shop and maybe they will have to reinstall xp and reformat the hard drive. Shouldnt cost as much as a new one. Your hard drive shouldnt have gone that quick.
westnash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 03:14 PM   #7
MookieBlaylock
Beastly Adventurer
 
MookieBlaylock's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: IntheeaglewingpalaceoftheQueenChinee
Oddometer: 2,581
i got a new hard drive installed for $125 at my local shop. The guy was cool, at compusa or wherever beware.
MookieBlaylock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 04:11 PM   #8
westnash
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Oddometer: 3,246
Well if it is an e machine noone will help you much,,,,,,take it to a computer shop,,it doesn't sound like a hard drive to me.
westnash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 04:51 PM   #9
Barry
Just Beastly
 
Barry's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Fredericksburg, Va.
Oddometer: 7,146
If your hard drive did take a crap, a good PC shop can maybe still get all your data off of it.

Good luck,
Barry
__________________
Tail of the Dragon at Deal's Gap... Avoid it now, do a trackday.

Do not do business with Myrtle West Cycle... Not a reputable vendor by a long shot.
Barry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 05:38 PM   #10
carioca
Gnarly Adventurer
 
carioca's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Oddometer: 206
My hard drive crashed, and my computer was unbootable. Unfortunatly the only thing you can do is buy another hard drive and transfer the contents of the old one into the new one. I think it ran me like 230$ for everything, including the new HD.
carioca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2005, 07:44 AM   #11
westnash
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Oddometer: 3,246
It doesn't make sense that this is a hard drive crash,,,sure its a cheapo computer but everything went haywire when you added real player,,,,take it to a shop and pay for a diagnostic if it is important to you!
westnash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2005, 10:55 AM   #12
carioca
Gnarly Adventurer
 
carioca's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Oddometer: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by westnash
It doesn't make sense that this is a hard drive crash,,,sure its a cheapo computer but everything went haywire when you added real player,,,,take it to a shop and pay for a diagnostic if it is important to you!
It doesnt have to make sense. A failure can occur at any time. Its unpredictable, if we knew when HD's would fail, we would always take precautions. But computers are kind of like cars, with age their life span decreases. Stuff fails, breaks etc.. They arent full proof.

Most shops charge 60-100$ for a diagnostic.

If he tells us more about this prob, maybe we can help more. Can you get into Cmos?
carioca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2005, 11:02 AM   #13
Caffeind
Team Piggly Wiggly
 
Caffeind's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Outside the Triangle
Oddometer: 11,555
Quote:
Originally Posted by westnash
I would take it to a computer repair shop and maybe they will have to reinstall xp and reformat the hard drive. Shouldnt cost as much as a new one. Your hard drive shouldnt have gone that quick.
My dad paid some guy about $600 to do just that. If it is faulty hardware, you probably won't even be able to successfully format the drive. FWIW, pop's machine stopped booting after downloading a security update for XP. His was complicated by the fact that he was working in another program (as was advised as being safe by a dialog box) while the update was being installed. That program took a crap and the system spontaneously rebooted in the middle of the update. Needless to say, his system was pooched. Hindsight being 20/20, he should have dropped $100 for a new hard drive, had me come over and get Windblows set up on the new drive, slave in the old one, and transfer his data (or just leave it there as a data drive). But, he wanted to try and preserve his Windows installation.
__________________
Childhood is a journey, not a race.
Caffeind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2005, 11:20 AM   #14
EHPhillips
Adventurer
 
EHPhillips's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Reston, Virginia
Oddometer: 89
I do computer forensics. My company is in Chantilly near 28 and 50. If you can get the machine to me I'll see if I can at least pull the files off. Don't toss the hard drive in the garbage, it still has all of your info on it!!! I promise I won't look at your porn. PM me.
EHPhillips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2005, 11:27 AM   #15
Jack90210
mindful
 
Jack90210's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Oddometer: 15,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by EHPhillips
I do computer forensics. My company is in Chantilly near 28 and 50. If you can get the machine to me I'll see if I can at least pull the files off. Don't toss the hard drive in the garbage, it still has all of your info on it!!! I promise I won't look at your porn. PM me.
That's good to know, my machine is ancient (mid-late 90s).
__________________

I must say that my son has exposed a reservoir of love and of worry within me that I never knew existed. --nskitts, 9/2/12
Jack90210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014