ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-26-2012, 02:10 PM   #1
Grinnin OP
Forever N00b
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Maine
Oddometer: 2,363
Who here uses dual GPSs?

I know that some people use two GPS units at once. Do you use one GPS to show a calculated route and another to show a large-area overview? Two calculated routes?

I think that a large overview would allow me to occasionally ignore the route calculated by Garmin for a while. (For example, to see a freeway bypass of a small city when my GPS is set to avoid freeways. Stopping to allow freeways would not route me to the backroad on the far side of town.)

So, who uses two GPSs and how?
__________________
Motorcycles are magical.

Grinnin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 06:13 PM   #2
helotaxi
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Oddometer: 380
I was riding last month with 2 guys that had dual GPS's. Both had the route loaded. One was primary and the other backup. Yes, I gave them crap about it.
helotaxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 08:18 AM   #3
NorthernTraveler
Long time Adventurer
 
NorthernTraveler's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: The Big Mitten
Oddometer: 392
Two GPS's

When I'm mapping routes I often use two GPS's.

I've run a Garmin 498 marine GPS to follow the routes.... 5" screen, buttons, waterproof, really easy to see. On this I primarily load US R&R maps with some Metroguide maps.

And a Garmin 76cx to record the tracklogs that I'm generating - high sensitivity receiver, micro SD card, saves active tracklog to the micro SD card. On this I load everything - US R&R, Metroguide, old US Topo, enhanced Canadian basemap along with the routes I'm using - just in case.

That's on my XR650L.

On my DR650SE I just used a Garmin 182C and the 76cx... same kinda deal. Turns out the 182c has a pretty limited set of waypoint symbols and some of my waypoints changed symbols that didn't show up. Otherwise OK.

Both the 498 and the 182c don't do via points on routes, so I ran the files through a program (can't remember right now WHAT program) to convert via points to waypoints. Both the 182 and 498 have similar specs to the 276c that I normally use - 3000 waypoints, 50 routes of at least 250 points, and 15 tracks of at least 500 points.
NorthernTraveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 09:01 AM   #4
larryboy
Paint it black.
 
larryboy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Über Alles,Ca
Oddometer: 13,656
Guilty.









I can't get a Garmin to live through one trip, so yes, I run two so I can keep going when one croaks. I don't have any high speed dirt trips planned for awhile so I'm down to NO gps, don't need one for low speed putting around near home.

The 376c let me zoom in tighter for trails. The Zumo was a safety factor for me since it could route me to help when needed.
__________________
Be sure the safest rule is that we should not dare to live in any scene in which we dare not die. ~Lewis Carroll~
larryboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 09:11 AM   #5
BigDogAdventures
Fart Letter
 
BigDogAdventures's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Mt. Vernon, Illinois
Oddometer: 4,646
3 gps's

I once asked a fellow why he had 2 gp's----and he replied.

"Cause I ain't got room for 3"

True story.

BigDog
__________________
WR250R 2008
KTM EXC 450 2006
Husqvarna TR650 Terra 2013
KTM 690 Enduro 2014
If your bike weighs more than 400lbs. You might not make it.
BigDogAdventures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 09:18 AM   #6
MoBill
Smiles when says dat
 
MoBill's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: NJ
Oddometer: 13,332
MoBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 12:06 PM   #7
Abenteuerfahrer
Deaf on Wheels
 
Abenteuerfahrer's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Oddometer: 2,274
Dual sport-Dual GPS...

Here's mine on the GS.



Old faithful Zumo 450; full of TAT routes but can't do "Tracks"...while the Montana's also full of TAT routes and can do "Tracks" with ease!

Can do the Zumo(Mapsource) blindfolded; still learning as I chug along the routes with the Montana and it's BaseCamp...

cheers...
Abenteuerfahrer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 12:29 PM   #8
Nut Clutch
was Steve Lavigne
 
Nut Clutch's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Shilshole
Oddometer: 429
Not really what you asked, but...

I have my Montana mounted to my bike. I often have my 4g ipad with me with offline maps via Gaia GPS. This works as an emergency backup gps and also a high resolution screen to get a larger but detailed picture (2048 x 1536 resolution).
__________________
'07 KTM 990 Adventure Long Road to Dug Bar
Nut Clutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 12:39 PM   #9
scooterGdawg
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: columbia, sc
Oddometer: 526
i use two...... i like having a 2d and a 3d view........also keeps me on track while i search for food, gas, or motel on the other....... and various other reasons......

__________________
http://myscootlife.blogspot.com
scooterGdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 12:44 PM   #10
MoBill
Smiles when says dat
 
MoBill's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: NJ
Oddometer: 13,332
...hence my manic expression of joy, I know where I is:

MoBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 02:42 PM   #11
Grinnin OP
Forever N00b
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Maine
Oddometer: 2,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nut Clutch View Post
Not really what you asked, but...

. . . Montana mounted . . . 4g ipad with me with offline maps via Gaia GPS.
It's close enough to what I asked. Thanks everyone for your comments.

I may look for some cheap GPS to give dual GPSs a try. I've been riding straight through to Ohio one week then straight through back home the next. It's 1,050 to 1,100 miles so I'm trying to improve my route even though I can get there with no map at all.

EDIT:
I keep thinking that two GPSs will help me make better routing decisions. But then again, if one can occasionally screw me over, why would I want two?
__________________
Motorcycles are magical.


Grinnin screwed with this post 06-28-2012 at 02:50 PM
Grinnin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 02:55 PM   #12
MoBill
Smiles when says dat
 
MoBill's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: NJ
Oddometer: 13,332
When I do it, which isn't a lot, I keep an overview map up on my 2720 and the direct route open on the 60Csx.

Also, when I have to do a workaround I can reroute on the 2720 while I still keep the active route open on the 60.

I think that's been said, but that's what I do...also when I'm proofing a route, like in that picture, you are capturing tracks, that's important. And to lose them you might not be able to recover before an event, or if you wanted to pass them along.
MoBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 03:38 PM   #13
Cannonshot
Having a Nice Time
 
Cannonshot's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: SE Wisconsin
Oddometer: 18,042
I use two when I am recording tracks to verify a dual sport path. Sometimes I run a custom map on one and a standard map on the other.

On a big bike run I often use one that operates with tracks and another that is a highway model for the usual automotive GPS kinds of things.

On a trip that relies on tracks, I sometimes use one on the bars and carry a back up in my gear if I am solo.

If I'm in a group with other people that are running the same tracks, I don't worry about carrying a spare.
__________________
Cannonshot.net
Cannonshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 10:22 PM   #14
redpillar
Studly Adventurer
 
redpillar's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver Island
Oddometer: 822
I also use two.
redpillar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 04:50 AM   #15
konfucius
Gnarly Adventurer
 
konfucius's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Boras, Sweden
Oddometer: 220
Off course...


konfucius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014