Old 07-09-2012, 01:49 PM   #1
2GbeemerLUV OP
Bavarian Motor Pie

Oddometer: 51
Question Does this sound right?

Updating another thread:

Does this sound like a proper airhead?

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/90599092/bmw%20sound.mp3

After I rebuilt both cylinders, I noticed this sound. With my cell phone in my mouth, tucked behind my windshield, I got a clip of what I'm hearing (oh, the things we do for our baby's). It's hard to capture exactly what I hear in real life, but right after I shift into 2nd (about 4 seconds in), under load at about 3000 rpm, there seems to be this new low/throaty noise that I haven't heard. Keep in mind, I am not familiar with how this bike "should" sound, but it's never sounded like this. I'm a noob, but I counteract my lack of knowledge with care and research: I know everything went back together right, and nothing got bent,banged, or dropped. I've been talking to a few car guys and when I described the sound as wood blocks clapping together, they thought it might be a wrist pin or a crankshaft bearing .
2GbeemerLUV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 01:53 PM   #2
Sniper X
De Oppresso Liber

Oddometer: 33,290
Um no, sounds like you are riding thur an underwater grotto. And that sound is like a bad muffler or something.....strange. Exhaust leak or pluggage or something?
Old 07-09-2012, 02:20 PM   #3
east high
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 936
Might be in the transmission if it's only heard after the shift in to second.
Old 07-09-2012, 02:44 PM   #4
disston
ShadeTreeExpert

Oddometer: 8,025
What sound?

You're gonna have to find some old fart to ride next to you on the highway to listen. Sounds don't work very well on the interwebs.

Pay your debt, piratejohn.http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=949341
disston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 02:52 PM   #5
2GbeemerLUV OP
Bavarian Motor Pie