ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-09-2012, 05:28 PM   #1
V@lentino OP
Inspektor
 
V@lentino's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Vankouver
Oddometer: 817
Question LAMPF code question not-what-it-means

I recently changed both high and low beams (only low was burnt) approx 45000 km GSA 2008. On two occasions the fault code has shown up just after startup, and obviously the low beam was not working. I just turn off the bike (key) and re-started, and the fault code was gone and low beam working again this happened about 1 week or so apart. I changed the bulb about 3 weeks ago. I check my connection and it is as it is suppose to be (as far as I can tell). I did not reset any of the codes (don't have a diagnostic tool thing).

Question: could it be the fact that I have not reset the fault code, that is causing it to show up and not letting the bulb come on , or simply the case of a bad bulb?

Thanks
__________________
FEAR ===> False Expectation About Reality. GSA08
Work is just the time you have to spend between rides.

The motorcycle chronicles of Jackie & Valentino
The Southern Episode
V@lentino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 06:47 PM   #2
ShaftEd
Beastly Adventurer
 
ShaftEd's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2001
Location: San Diego, CA USA
Oddometer: 3,297
The lampf fault code will reset when you get a new bulb and everything is back working. It resets automatically, so the only reason you have the lampf code again, is that your new bulb went bad or there is a bad connection. Of course, you made sure not to touch the new bulb glass with your bare hand as the oils will blow a new halogen bulb.
ShaftEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 12:07 AM   #3
V@lentino OP
Inspektor
 
V@lentino's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Vankouver
Oddometer: 817
Thanks, will check connections and bulb again, I wore glove so I covered that
__________________
FEAR ===> False Expectation About Reality. GSA08
Work is just the time you have to spend between rides.

The motorcycle chronicles of Jackie & Valentino
The Southern Episode
V@lentino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 04:14 AM   #4
aGremlin
Studly Adventurer
 
aGremlin's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: New Zealand!
Oddometer: 517
The park light bulb is also attached to the LAMPF error, ie, I've replaced that bulb with a canbus compliant LED bulb, but occasionally it doesn't fire up.

Double check which bulb isn't coming on when the error is thrown, and it's definitely that bulb which is causing you some grief.
aGremlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 05:18 AM   #5
bemiiten
League of Adventures
 
bemiiten's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Hamilton NJ.
Oddometer: 4,877
Bike needs to run a bit to reset the LAMPF fault.
bemiiten is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 09:32 AM   #6
dancerdave
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: kentucky
Oddometer: 168
the first head light i blew and changed the fault went away(cleared) but the one i replaced over the week-end wont clear up,even disconnected the ground wire on my batt.. all lights work but it still says something is wrong.. the light blew when i started my bike.any help will be appreciated
__________________
never let be said to your shame that all was well before you came
dancerdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 06:22 PM   #7
V@lentino OP
Inspektor
 
V@lentino's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Vankouver
Oddometer: 817
Check my connections again on both Hi and Low bulb and they are well set. The bulbs also look to be in good shape, as far as I can tell. Let see if the fault code reappears a third time.

From the few posts above, there could actually be a bit of BMW mysticism at work
__________________
FEAR ===> False Expectation About Reality. GSA08
Work is just the time you have to spend between rides.

The motorcycle chronicles of Jackie & Valentino
The Southern Episode

V@lentino screwed with this post 07-10-2012 at 06:34 PM
V@lentino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 06:27 PM   #8
aGremlin
Studly Adventurer
 
aGremlin's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: New Zealand!
Oddometer: 517
Quote:
Originally Posted by bemiiten View Post
Bike needs to run a bit to reset the LAMPF fault.
I may be wrong, but I believe you're wrong :) The code is cleared every time the bike is off, or at least, when it's started.

If a bulb doesn't come on like it should (or more technically, drawing the current it should) then the code is thrown. I doubt keeping it on for a while would do anything, and I have indeed ridden for a leg with the park bulb off, LAMPF showing and it never cleared.
aGremlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 06:38 PM   #9
dancerdave
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: kentucky
Oddometer: 168
this is the second bulb i have put in this bike, the first one did exactly what it was suppose to do.. this one is not doing what it is suppose to do.. the bulb is burning and the fault is still on.. tomorrow i will ride it some and try again.. thanks guys..
__________________
never let be said to your shame that all was well before you came
dancerdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 08:09 PM   #10
trc.rhubarb
Beastly Adventurer
 
trc.rhubarb's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Concord, CA
Oddometer: 1,965
Said above but did you check the parking lamp? It will trigger lampf as well.
__________________
2007 BMW GS Adventure / 2000 Ducati 900ss / 2010 Harley Ultra Limited / 1975 BMW R90/6 / 2006 DRZ400S
Follow me here
trc.rhubarb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 09:57 PM   #11
Menoche
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: La Prairie, Qc, Canada
Oddometer: 36
Don't Forget To Check de blinkers, they are also linked to the lampF :)
Menoche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 03:45 PM   #12
WOLVERINE
Keep her pinned!
 
WOLVERINE's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: West of Sin City!
Oddometer: 625
I hate changing that stupid low beam bulb...They could have made access a little better so normal folk don't have to twist, contort and swear like a MotherF**ker to get it in and out... I mean, Je*us, I'm not a hobbit with tiny hands and if that weren't bad enough you have use one hand to get the bulb back in and hold it just right so the spring attaches JUST perfect so the bulb doesn't rattle in there....Grrrrrr!
__________________
If you think you're free, there's no chance of escape!

2008 R1200GSA
WOLVERINE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 04:36 PM   #13
trc.rhubarb
Beastly Adventurer
 
trc.rhubarb's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Concord, CA
Oddometer: 1,965
I took out my instrument cluster the other day... took about 2 minutes.
I'll never struggle again trying to get in that area underneath it. It's too easy to remove the cluster.
__________________
2007 BMW GS Adventure / 2000 Ducati 900ss / 2010 Harley Ultra Limited / 1975 BMW R90/6 / 2006 DRZ400S
Follow me here
trc.rhubarb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 05:03 PM   #14
jimmex
Guero con moto
 
jimmex's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Location: West Texas
Oddometer: 2,524
Quote:
Originally Posted by WOLVERINE View Post
I hate changing that stupid low beam bulb...They could have made access a little better so normal folk don't have to twist, contort and swear like a MotherF**ker to get it in and out... I mean, Je*us, I'm not a hobbit with tiny hands and if that weren't bad enough you have use one hand to get the bulb back in and hold it just right so the spring attaches JUST perfect so the bulb doesn't rattle in there....Grrrrrr!
And don't break the invisible plastic keeper for the spring thing; dealer said only fix is and entire new headlight assembly: $500. Stoopit.
jimmex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 05:40 PM   #15
WOLVERINE
Keep her pinned!
 
WOLVERINE's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: West of Sin City!
Oddometer: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmex View Post
And don't break the invisible plastic keeper for the spring thing; dealer said only fix is and entire new headlight assembly: $500. Stoopit.
Greeaaat! Now something else to swear about....
__________________
If you think you're free, there's no chance of escape!

2008 R1200GSA
WOLVERINE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014