User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-21-2012, 10:44 AM   #1
Jim B OP
n00b

Oddometer: 1
F800GS Sensitive Throttle

I am just getting into adventure riding with an F800GS. When I am standing on the pegs, sometimes I hit a rut or a rock that throws me backwards and I accidently torque the throttle a bit trying to maintain my balance. The bike then lurches ahead which throws me further backwards and I torque the throttle even more. The next thing I know, I am heading off into the bush doing my best impression of a starfish. I would really appreciate it if someone who has been through this could give me some advice that would help me solve this problem before I break something. Thanks Jim B
Jim B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 11:28 AM   #2
itsatdm
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 4,565
Look in stickies Throttle fix options: Throttle Tamer, Accelerator Module & Power Controller
Old 07-25-2012, 06:40 AM   #3
CheckerdD
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 1,268
I felt the same way right after I bought my 2010. I did not modify anything. It went away when I got more used to riding the bike. In other words I naturally adjusted my grip to compensate for my body moving around on the bike. It's possible your off pavement technique has gotten a little sloppy. Your supposed to grab the tank with your knees, and balance your weight over the pegs by bending at the waist down to bring your center of gravety forward, up to bring it back, you not supposed to have to hang on to the handlebars for dear life. I am not being critical, but every bike takes a little getting used too. Dave
Old 07-25-2012, 04:09 PM   #4
itsatdm
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 4,565
I never could master the throttle modulation. Maybe I was just doing it wrong. But I could ride the same terrain with my KLX680 with its modded suspension without an issue, so I think it is the bike.