Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-30-2012, 06:31 PM   #1
K0ncept OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 118
What GPS to get for MY KTM 530 EXC?

Ok im sick of trying to read maps with bad eyes, im tired of being lost and pushing my KTM while out of gas, I thought I knew everything and had a good sense of direction, this turns out not to be the case!

I need something that I can figure out where I am, load up Trail Maps, and be able to read the damn thing, oh and I need it to survive crashes as well...

So where do I start? Im a complete GPS noob when it comes to bikes............ Help!

and here I am lost in the woods, on sumo tires looking for Pavement.

K0ncept is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 09:22 PM   #2
SpeedyR
SE in the SE

Oddometer: 842
Montana or maybe the edge 800.
SpeedyR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 07:25 AM   #3
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 1,973
I have used a GArmin 60cx on my 08 450 excr since I bought. Works very well. I have it hardwired to the battery.

I am getting ready to buy a Montana mainly because the screen is brighter and my 60 has been acting a little flakey lately.
wbbnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 08:10 AM   #4
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 2,282
The Montana has a bigger screen than most others, current model so it will have the longer lifecycle. 60 is a nice unit but has a small screen (since you mentioned having trouble reading maps), discontinued.
Old 07-31-2012, 10:48 AM   #5
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 5,281
First you need to learn more about GPS features and determine which features you need and will use.

Learn about the difference between Routes and Tracks and about Navagating.

Current most popular units are hand helds 60/76/62/78 on DS bikes and Montanna on Adv bikes.
Looks like you are in the middle.