ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-12-2012, 09:06 PM   #16
ShadySmurf
Does Own Stunts
 
ShadySmurf's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Labama
Oddometer: 540
Anyone find a part number just for that new right side switch setup? I like how clean that is, could just wire it up to work with another set of lights and a relay.

Did they give you a wiring diagram with the kit? Or just tell you to plug it in?

ShadySmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 01:49 AM   #17
pebble35
Beastly Adventurer
 
pebble35's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands
Oddometer: 1,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadySmurf View Post
Anyone find a part number just for that new right side switch setup? I like how clean that is, could just wire it up to work with another set of lights and a relay.

Did they give you a wiring diagram with the kit? Or just tell you to plug it in?

Part number for the switch is 60011074000

The light kit includes a new sub-loom to fit between the exisiting headlight/switch wiring and the two wires for each of the lights. That is also available on it's own under part no 60111910000. But by the time you have paid for the switch and the wiring you are not too far away from buying the whole kit ...........
__________________
Proud to be supporting Pyndon
www.lyndonposkittracing.com

www.bikersjersey.com for all your KTM parts
A 2,400 KM ride around Egypt by Scooter - ride report here
pebble35 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 06:37 AM   #18
ShadySmurf
Does Own Stunts
 
ShadySmurf's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Labama
Oddometer: 540






It's not the price of the kit, but the mounting location. I really like the switch though, don't really need the loom.
ShadySmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 06:52 AM   #19
Terence FFM
prof. cat-herder
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Oddometer: 357
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peanuts View Post
60114910033 AUX LED LIGHT KIT 221.93 inc VAT or 188.64 after 15% discount from a friendly UK mainland dealer

But if you just want the two lights and brackets it's cheaper
60114910000 ADD. LED LIGHT 164.17 inc VAT or 139.54 after 15% discount
Yeah, the price seems right: I found them for 260Euro and change on German Parts site.

Question Peanuts: is there an E-number on the lights? I don't know how things are in the UK, but here in Germany the annoying, er, I mean "your safety is our concern" technical inspectors tend to look for stuff like that and typically, no E-Number means technical inspection not passed.

Thanks for any feedback.
__________________
"The powerful will delegate to the untalented until failure is achieved" Dogbert, CEO
Terence FFM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 12:32 PM   #20
Peanuts
Beastly Adventurer
 
Peanuts's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Oddometer: 1,370
Take them of at inspection time ;)


No need to buy the complete switch, you can source just the required parts off another switch on ebay. Very common on Japanese bikes

examples:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/YAMAHA-YZF...item4aba7ba43e

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/YAMAHA-YZF...item19d32e2737

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ZX6R-RH-Sw...item3a74dfbd16
Peanuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 01:22 PM   #21
pebble35
Beastly Adventurer
 
pebble35's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands
Oddometer: 1,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terence FFM View Post
Yeah, the price seems right: I found them for 260Euro and change on German Parts site.

Question Peanuts: is there an E-number on the lights? I don't know how things are in the UK, but here in Germany the annoying, er, I mean "your safety is our concern" technical inspectors tend to look for stuff like that and typically, no E-Number means technical inspection not passed.

Thanks for any feedback.
There is nothing in the fitting instructions relating to TUV approval. Nor is there any 'e' mark on the lights themselves.

But on the basis these are 'additional' lights to be used to supplement the existing 'approved' standard lights do they stil need to be 'approved' ?
__________________
Proud to be supporting Pyndon
www.lyndonposkittracing.com

www.bikersjersey.com for all your KTM parts
A 2,400 KM ride around Egypt by Scooter - ride report here
pebble35 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 06:35 AM   #22
Dellis
Adventurer
 
Dellis's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Cheshire, England
Oddometer: 71
Just fitted mine, very easy, nice clean installation and very bright. Oh and I didn't spot any e numbers.

Dave
__________________
Ya bugger...........
Dellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 06:37 AM   #23
Dellis
Adventurer
 
Dellis's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Cheshire, England
Oddometer: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by pebble35 View Post
There is nothing in the fitting instructions relating to TUV approval. Nor is there any 'e' mark on the lights themselves.

But on the basis these are 'additional' lights to be used to supplement the existing 'approved' standard lights do they stil need to be 'approved' ?
I think the chances of getting any grief from either the police or VOSA in the UK are next to nil.

Dave
__________________
Ya bugger...........
Dellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 09:24 AM   #24
go2cnavy
Gnarly Adventurer
 
go2cnavy's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Newport, RI
Oddometer: 479
I don't know how much they are to ship across the pond, but I use these and they are fantastic. I have them mounted to the top fairing bolt. Easy install!

http://www.twistedthrottle.com/denal...-and-m10-mount

__________________
╭∩╮(-_-)╭∩╮

990A / 450 EXC R/ 250 EXC/ 450R - for sale
go2cnavy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 12:04 AM   #25
Torquemada
Adventurer
 
Torquemada's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: TX
Oddometer: 26
Just installed the KTM 60114910033 light kit. Same as the OP it was truly plug and play. With the combination of the replacement RH switch gear (included) and the 3-way intensity level settings for each light (little button on the back of each light) I think it's a pretty good value.

Torquemada screwed with this post 03-06-2013 at 12:20 AM
Torquemada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 07:24 AM   #26
bob66
Adventurer
 
bob66's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Oddometer: 87
Hello guys

these leds are usable as low beam? I mean.. they don't upset the other cars?
Or do you have to switch them off when other cars approaching?

Is there any way to turn off the low beam and have only the leds on?

Thanks
Bob
bob66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 11:58 AM   #27
Peanuts
Beastly Adventurer
 
Peanuts's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Oddometer: 1,370
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob66 View Post
Hello guys

these leds are usable as low beam? I mean.. they don't upset the other cars?
Or do you have to switch them off when other cars approaching?

Is there any way to turn off the low beam and have only the leds on?

Thanks
Bob
I thought about that, but maybe car drivers waiting at a junction would think you were a car some distance away as the two LEDs might appear to look like 2 car lights further away......
Peanuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 02:58 PM   #28
Alex_RO
Wanderer
 
Alex_RO's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Romania, Bucharest
Oddometer: 187
More pictures ?

Does anybody have really detailed pictures of additional wiring loom... and the plug of the new RH switchgear?

I'll be adding some auxiliary lights (fork mounted) eventually but I'd really like to know how the KTM kit is wired :)
Alex_RO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 03:10 PM   #29
Peanuts
Beastly Adventurer
 
Peanuts's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Oddometer: 1,370
The switch is off a 950, it could plug straight into the socket on the 990 to allow the stock lights to be turned off.

The harness with the kit effectively splices in between the switch and the socket, getting power for the aux lights and altering the function of the switch.

There is no other connection, everything is done via the stock 990/950 socket on the plate behind the headlight that the stock switch plugs into.
Peanuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 03:58 PM   #30
Alex_RO
Wanderer
 
Alex_RO's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Romania, Bucharest
Oddometer: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peanuts View Post
The switch is off a 950, it could plug straight into the socket on the 990 to allow the stock lights to be turned off.

The harness with the kit effectively splices in between the switch and the socket, getting power for the aux lights and altering the function of the switch.

There is no other connection, everything is done via the stock 990/950 socket on the plate behind the headlight that the stock switch plugs into.

Hello Peanuts,

I just wanted to see where the extra leads from the extra switch are routed in the new "old" RH switchgear's molex plug (I've got a RH switchgear from an old Yamaha that i want to use as a donor for the extra switch). Just trying to keep it "factory".

Similar reasoning for the additional wiring bit of kit. Just wanna see how it's all wired.
Alex_RO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014