User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-09-2012, 06:56 AM   #1
Fast103 OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 44
BMW Vario Panniers

I am planning a South American trip....riding from Canada. My F650GS twin came with these and Vario top box. Should I change them for Touratech or other aluminium panniers? Any advice would be appreciated.

Fast103 screwed with this post 02-13-2013 at 11:26 AM
Fast103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 09:42 AM   #2
dmaxr1
n00b

Oddometer: 4
I had a minor crash on a rental F650GS on asphalt this week and the vario sidecase ripped apart. The plastic tabs on the back were already bent and let the case flop around a little, personally, I don't like them...but I'm a noob too.

I ordered pelican kit from twisted throttle for my F800GS, but to be honest, if I already had the varios, I probably wouldn't replace them...

Trip sound like fun, good luck.
dmaxr1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 02:52 PM   #3
GH41
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 822
I like the Vario top case over others. The fact that it is expandable and removes in 2 seconds is important to me. I went with 9 inch Jesse Safaries for the sides. I didn't want the wide ass look most of the others have but I don't travel heavy. I had no interest in side loading Pelicans. If your Vario sides are in good shape they would sell quick in the fea market here and probably fianance half of a good set of alumimum cases. GH

GH41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 03:25 PM   #4
Dorito
Dreamer and Doer

Oddometer: 5,090
Well, you aren't going to get many tip overs with the Varios. Mine survived a less than a handful, but they were all mostly controlled drops than crashes. Even then, I had to disassemble them as they would "skip a tooth" on the expansion gear cog on crashing.

Then I bought a set of adventure cases, and those aren't really waterproof for long. Now I am seriously considering soft bags or Jesse's.