ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool > Airheads
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-18-2012, 06:26 AM   #91
hardwaregrrl OP
ignore list
 
hardwaregrrl's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 7,183
I'm lucky......the guy that is the new service manager went on a back road ride with his mom and sister back in '09. From Alabama to keystone CO for the womens motorcycling festival. I met them with my buddy at a hotel 5 hours from the festival...then 2 years later I meet him at the HD dealership. He's very patient and just an all around good guy. They all think I'm nuts there as I routinely jump the curb to get a good parking spot as none of their customers can park their bikes. Albatross coming in for a landing.

I haven't asked yet, but I don't think it will be a problem.

hardwaregrrl screwed with this post 10-18-2012 at 10:31 AM
hardwaregrrl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 08:40 AM   #92
Uncle Pollo
happy cachiporra
 
Uncle Pollo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Albuquerque, Neue Messico
Oddometer: 47,449
Wicked

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai Ju View Post
Just tell them that you're riding a wide angle pushrod V twin
Che!ck out my super custom - - twin
Uncle Pollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 03:28 PM   #93
hardwaregrrl OP
ignore list
 
hardwaregrrl's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 7,183
well, there goes that idea.....the exhaust sensor is too large for the muffler. Stock muffler, no way to take the tip off to get the sensor past the cat. bummer.
hardwaregrrl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 08:20 PM   #94
Les_Garten
Studly Adventurer
 
Les_Garten's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: PSL, FL
Oddometer: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardwaregrrl View Post
well, there goes that idea.....the exhaust sensor is too large for the muffler. Stock muffler, no way to take the tip off to get the sensor past the cat. bummer.
You talkin' about the HD Dyno?
Les_Garten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 04:36 AM   #95
Uncle Pollo
happy cachiporra
 
Uncle Pollo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Albuquerque, Neue Messico
Oddometer: 47,449
If your jetting is yoo rixh it will run but suck gas like crazy

I had a pilot 3 sizes too big and the needle in the wron place and moleage was 40% worse.
Uncle Pollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 06:30 AM   #96
hardwaregrrl OP
ignore list
 
hardwaregrrl's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 7,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Les_Garten View Post
You talkin' about the HD Dyno?
No, HD dealership is 50 miles away from me but the tuning shop I picked up the jets from has one and they showed me the sensor.

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

So I'm shooting blind here. I went from an Q2 to a P2 needle jet

Q2 on the right P2 on the left
Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

, and 20 to a 25 pilot jet, put the needle back to the middle clip position.

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

The bike will not start with choke, but will start with a little throttle. Had this problem before. This was last night so only got a little ride in....but what is the pilot circuit telling me with that info? I have the air screw 1 1/2 turn out and apparently you cannot change them on the TM series carbs.

The left needle jet was black on the tip.

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

What is that telling me? thanks for everyones help....I may just get an extra splitter and swap these in before race time...
hardwaregrrl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 01:06 PM   #97
Uncle Pollo
happy cachiporra
 
Uncle Pollo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Albuquerque, Neue Messico
Oddometer: 47,449
ignition in good condition?

Uncle Pollo screwed with this post 10-19-2012 at 01:08 PM Reason: second thought
Uncle Pollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 01:19 PM   #98
hardwaregrrl OP
ignore list
 
hardwaregrrl's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 7,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Pollo View Post
ignition in good condition?
Not sure exactly what you're asking?? Timing is spot on, bike ran fine with bings, I wanted some cheap "omff" hence the flatsides.
hardwaregrrl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 05:11 PM   #99
RecycledRS
Along for the ride
 
RecycledRS's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Vancouver Island
Oddometer: 1,039
That carbon on the needle jet would suggest blow back past valves. They may be too tight/burned.
__________________
_____________________________________
"There's a fine line between a shearing and a skinning"
RecycledRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 08:19 PM   #100
hardwaregrrl OP
ignore list
 
hardwaregrrl's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 7,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by RecycledRS View Post
That carbon on the needle jet would suggest blow back past valves. They may be too tight/burned.
Nope, just had the heads done this summer, and just adjusted valves.
hardwaregrrl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 09:23 PM   #101
Les_Garten
Studly Adventurer
 
Les_Garten's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: PSL, FL
Oddometer: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardwaregrrl View Post
Nope, just had the heads done this summer, and just adjusted valves.
Have the new carbies been popping and spitting any?
Les_Garten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 06:13 AM   #102
Uncle Pollo
happy cachiporra
 
Uncle Pollo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Albuquerque, Neue Messico
Oddometer: 47,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardwaregrrl View Post
Not sure exactly what you're asking?? Timing is spot on, bike ran fine with bings, I wanted some cheap "omff" hence the flatsides.
Are the sparkplug wires new?

I had a dead cylinder ... I had spark .... but no go and the left cylinder spark plug looked dipped in coffee grounds.

It was the wires ... new wires were ordered ... after I ordered the bing rebuild kit .

lesson ... measure the resistance of your wires.
Uncle Pollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 06:25 AM   #103
oldroadie
Two wheel addict
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: North Alabama mountains
Oddometer: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardwaregrrl View Post
The bike will not start with choke, but will start with a little throttle. Had this problem before. This was last night so only got a little ride in....but what is the pilot circuit telling me with that info?
I'm having this same problem and in my case I think it's telling me the pilot is too large and I'm not getting enough air. I'm going to take the old fashioned approach and concentrate on getting the idle/starting circuit right before I start on the needle jet/jet needle main jet juggling.
oldroadie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 06:59 AM   #104
hardwaregrrl OP
ignore list
 
hardwaregrrl's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 7,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldroadie View Post
I'm having this same problem and in my case I think it's telling me the pilot is too large and I'm not getting enough air. I'm going to take the old fashioned approach and concentrate on getting the idle/starting circuit right before I start on the needle jet/jet needle main jet juggling.
Yeah, this is the info I was looking for. I had to choke the bings, but not the mikunis so not sure if I should add more air via the screw or get an even smaller pilot jet. I'm afraid going smaller that a 20 is too small and may starve it....I forget if air screw in adds more air or takes it away.?
hardwaregrrl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 07:21 AM   #105
hardwaregrrl OP
ignore list
 
hardwaregrrl's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 7,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Pollo View Post
Are the sparkplug wires new?

I had a dead cylinder ... I had spark .... but no go and the left cylinder spark plug looked dipped in coffee grounds.

It was the wires ... new wires were ordered ... after I ordered the bing rebuild kit .

lesson ... measure the resistance of your wires.
wires are not new, but just tested all caps and wires, it's usually the caps that go bad and not the wires.

@Les....no spitting or popping. No exorcism needed.
hardwaregrrl is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014