ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Vendors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-19-2014, 02:19 PM   #736
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,219
As for size, I don't think you will be disappointed.

craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 01:10 AM   #737
Riot
Tiger Rider
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Brisvagas, Oztralia
Oddometer: 104
You need to place a slight taper on the mould, also you need release agent - can be as simple as vaseline or cooking spray to coat the mould.
Riot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 02:10 AM   #738
640 Armageddon
-oo-
 
640 Armageddon's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Greece
Oddometer: 1,848
Hi Crafty,

A 2 degree taper will allow you to extract it easier and silicone molds are cheaper as well and the silicone allows you to better extract the part from the mold.

500$ for this mold is way too expensive, let me know if there is any way I can help with the design and manufacturing of such a thing. pm if needed so as not to hijack the thread. I am willing to help as far as the mechanical things is concerned, as far as electronics I have no clue what is going on
__________________
Aurora Rally Equipment
"Do or Do Not. There is No Try" - Yoda
640 Armageddon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 02:21 AM   #739
Gany
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Melbourne, Au
Oddometer: 311
I still say try a silicone mold. I'd never used the stuff before, forgot to use mold release and it still released this without issue (I thought I had thrown a few hundred in silicone, casting resin and time down the toilet):



Heaps of videos out there, check out brick in the yards YouTube channel: http://m.youtube.com/user/brickinthe...brickintheyard

A general rule, hard casting use a flexible mold. Flexible casting, rigid mold. So in your case go a flexible silicone mold. For something motobrain size you wouldn't need too much and mold release (though not needed with silicone) should prolong the life of your mold.
Gany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 03:44 AM   #740
Mike.C
Stelvio Dreamer!
 
Mike.C's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Brisbane-Australia
Oddometer: 588
Make up a blank and post it over, I'll make you some silicone moulds.
__________________
Cheers, Mike
Don't just look at it - Ride the bloody thing!
Mike.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 02:05 PM   #741
dwoodward
Beastly Adventurer
 
dwoodward's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Pacific NorthWet, Napa Valley North
Oddometer: 4,929
As for electronics assembly, maybe you need a couple of these and a few months to program them:

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects...tch&ref=search

(Dammit, another KickStarter I'm going to struggle to ignore... I need to find a job as a professional goof-off...)
dwoodward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 03:14 PM   #742
HighTechCoonass
Living the Dream....
 
HighTechCoonass's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: land of the swamps!, Cajun Country LA
Oddometer: 2,453
Laugh

Go out and find something cheap and existing to use as a mold. I wandered a while for my molds for my Power Controllers... this is what I found.




here after it is pulled out of the mold and heat shrinked...






Thinking outside the box


Soap tray molds!!

https://www.google.com/search?q=soap...molds&tbm=shop

__________________
Living the dream here in the good old USA! l

HighTechCoonass screwed with this post 02-27-2014 at 07:47 PM
HighTechCoonass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 01:12 PM   #743
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,219
Last weekend I installed a Motobrain on one of my motorcycles. It squeezed in behind battery and was velcroed to the side of battery box. The installation is pretty trivial with just a single output activated and one input setup but it is nice to be rolling around with a Motobrain. The single input is connected to the high beam and that signals the trail lights to turn on with the high beams. I also tested the over-the-air firmware update capability while actually mounted inside the vehicle. It all works great.

3B623802-3B63-46BA-8D3F-EB731CD1C52A[1]
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 05:32 PM   #744
VFR
Studly Adventurer
 
VFR's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Sunny (sometimes) SoCal
Oddometer: 688
Good point about making these useful for automotive applications. I do wiring on hot rods, customs & restorations as well as bikes. I was looking at the PDM 60 as an add-on for hot rod applications but it is very limited, as are things like Fuzeblock, etc.

Yours looks like a viable product, given that the outputs can be configured in several modes and not limited to very small amperage.

Anxiously waiting to see what the final configuration looks like.
__________________
Larry

If it ain't fun, I don't do it!!!

Stuff - I need more Stuff....
VFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 06:14 PM   #745
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,219
We are very close to a releasable product now. I am working on production details and final the look and feel now. I have already begun sending prototypes to potential buyers so things are moving in the right direction. I think there will be an "add to cart" button somewhere by summer. I'm excited. This project has been fun and we are just getting started.


Quote:
Originally Posted by VFR View Post
Good point about making these useful for automotive applications. I do wiring on hot rods, customs & restorations as well as bikes. I was looking at the PDM 60 as an add-on for hot rod applications but it is very limited, as are things like Fuzeblock, etc.

Yours looks like a viable product, given that the outputs can be configured in several modes and not limited to very small amperage.

Anxiously waiting to see what the final configuration looks like.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 06:24 PM   #746
Lounge
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Lounge's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: COS
Oddometer: 396
Have you figured out your price point yet?
__________________
My apologies to the meek and the Earth they will not inherit.
Lounge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 06:28 PM   #747
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lounge View Post
Have you figured out your price point yet?
Aiming for $300 retail. I believe I can hit it if I were retailing. It's harder to make that number and provide margin for retailers, but that is one of the things I am working on.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 07:48 PM   #748
HighTechCoonass
Living the Dream....
 
HighTechCoonass's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: land of the swamps!, Cajun Country LA
Oddometer: 2,453
Question

I am guessing you solved this problem?
Quote:
Originally Posted by craftycoder View Post
Removing the Motobrain from the mold this morning was a mixed bag. I successfully extricated it from its prison but failed to do it without the use of a hammer, saw, and vice. At the cost of $550 for the mold I'd say this is a failure. I am going to need a better strategy for casting these things. Unfortunately, this is not my core competency so if I try to go it alone I am bound to run into more issues like this. The good news is that all my bashing didn't appear to cause any damage. Unfortunately, this means I cannot make any more potted Motobrains until I get disposable molds made. I think the smart move is to find someone whose business this is and inquire about copying a plastic version of the mold in high temp wax or plaster. Alternately I need to find a potting box that has no bottom. I want to have a high thermally conductive surface on the bottom of this so it can be mounted on something that offers good heat dissipation.

In the photo below you can see the Motobrain. It ought to be jet black but the paint used to give the mold a smooth finish stuck to it. This means that the fancy $130 a jar mold release didn't work. I like to blame the tool but I'm certain it was the craftsman. Notice the new screw down terminals for the signal inputs. Those are looking pretty sexy I think.

Below the Motobrain is the mold, in pieces.

81E1E634-6651-44A9-9892-19AEFF7A91B9[1]

AAC2A198-D9E6-48B6-BF3B-C49CCD8D9F42[1]
__________________
Living the dream here in the good old USA! l
HighTechCoonass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 04:15 AM   #749
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by HighTechCoonass View Post
I am guessing you solved this problem?

I designed a split mold.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 04:25 AM   #750
kingnba6
R1der
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Location: NYC
Oddometer: 120
how have i missed such a great thread.
__________________
2 Continents down, 5 to go
kingnba6 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014