ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Vendors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-12-2014, 11:25 PM   #1096
Craneguy
British Hooligan
 
Craneguy's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Riyadh, KSA, Cuernavaca, Mx, Houston, Tx
Oddometer: 1,027
Thought it was time to drop back in and congratulate you on your progress. I was the first comment here, and gave you the crappy kickstarter suggestion.

Anyway, I'm really glad to see you've gone the distance with this, and I'm definitely in for an "8ter" when they hit the market. I have two fuse boxes sitting in a drawer, but yours is the only one that seems appropriate for attaching to the box of magic wires that is the Multistrada. Plus it's awfully geeky and that's great!
__________________
Young enough to think I can. Old enough to know I shouldn't. Stupid enough to do it anyway
'13 Duc Multi GT, '10 Vstrom 1k, '10 705cc KLR
Craneguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 11:43 PM   #1097
EKinOR
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Central Oregon
Oddometer: 263
This looks like a great pot for pairing with the MotoBrain. IP67 rated and a 5/8" glove friendly knob. Only downside is price at $12/ea.

http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/...xFColnE8XlA%3d
__________________
- Eric
2002 BMW R1150GS
EKinOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 06:01 AM   #1098
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craneguy View Post
Thought it was time to drop back in and congratulate you on your progress.
Thanks for sticking with me this long.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EKinOR
This looks like a great pot for pairing with the MotoBrain.
Good find.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 10:45 AM   #1099
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,259
It looks like I should have units in hand about the second week of September. This video also shows how you might setup an air horn (or other high current load) with Motobrain.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 11:54 AM   #1100
tdcarter
Adventurer
 
tdcarter's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Oddometer: 63
Ready to produce!



Good news Crafty! Long journey and now coming to a big milestone.

Can't wait to have one to play and learn with.
2nd week of September I'll be in the middle of a 8k trip to California and back. So please let me know how I can make sure I'm in line for a unit. Come home and re-wire the bike; sounds like just what I need to ward off the post-trip blues.

On another note. The 15amp per channel. How solid/firm of a limit is that? Can it take a momentary surge higher?

Specifically I ask for a pair of HID's. I do believe they pull just over 16~18amp on cold start. But then settle down to 6 amp continuous.

Are you limiting (electronically) the channels to 15amps? So even if we try and draw more it won't let it?
tdcarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 12:03 PM   #1101
EKinOR
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Central Oregon
Oddometer: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by craftycoder View Post
It looks like I should have units in hand about the second week of September.


Great news! Put me down for one!
__________________
- Eric
2002 BMW R1150GS
EKinOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 01:39 PM   #1102
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,259
There is an analog current limiting circuit hard set at 24A. Above that and the output shuts off for about 1.4ms and turns on again. This is an analog current limiting circuit. This is different from the digital current limiting circuit that you set via the user interface. This is designed to prevent you from blowing the output transistor. The below image shows an output shorted to ground and turned on. The voltage spikes until it hits 24A and then turns off and repeats until the digital current limiting circuit decides that it has tried hard enough.


In real life, I've had no problem firing up HIDs. I have seen issues with igniting 10A halogens though (normal halogens are 55W or about 5A and present no problems). In order to fire up a 10A halogen you need about 70A to warm up the filament. This is more than Motobrain can accomplish without you doing something "special". You can use two outputs to ignite the lamp or you can use a "choke" in between the Motobrain and the lamp (shown below). This uses some magnetic field science stuff to reduce the current flow during the ignition sequence but then become low impedance once it is lit. If you use a choke, a diode also needs to be in parallel with the choke as a choke is really just an inductor and all inductors need a diode.



Quote:
Originally Posted by tdcarter View Post


Good news Crafty! Long journey and now coming to a big milestone.

Can't wait to have one to play and learn with.
2nd week of September I'll be in the middle of a 8k trip to California and back. So please let me know how I can make sure I'm in line for a unit. Come home and re-wire the bike; sounds like just what I need to ward off the post-trip blues.

On another note. The 15amp per channel. How solid/firm of a limit is that? Can it take a momentary surge higher?

Specifically I ask for a pair of HID's. I do believe they pull just over 16~18amp on cold start. But then settle down to 6 amp continuous.

Are you limiting (electronically) the channels to 15amps? So even if we try and draw more it won't let it?

craftycoder screwed with this post 08-19-2014 at 02:22 PM
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 03:23 PM   #1103
moto_dmitriy
que?
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Oddometer: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by craftycoder View Post
BTW you have seen one of these right?

Also please put me down for 1 MotoBrain
moto_dmitriy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 03:25 PM   #1104
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by moto_dmitriy View Post
BTW you have seen one of these right?
I've got 4 oscilloscopes within arms reach right now.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 03:27 PM   #1105
moto_dmitriy
que?
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Oddometer: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by craftycoder View Post
I've got 4 oscilloscopes within arms reach right now.
I was thinking in terms of mobile debugging, nudge, nudge, wink, wink
moto_dmitriy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 03:34 PM   #1106
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by moto_dmitriy View Post
I was thinking in terms of mobile debugging, nudge, nudge, wink, wink
The ADCs and amps I've included in Motobrain are not fast enough to use as an oscope. That said, technology like I've created could be used to create a mobile oscope with your phone as the UI. I would be a bit surprised if that has not already been created by someone.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 05:20 PM   #1107
dwoodward
Beastly Adventurer
 
dwoodward's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Pacific NorthWet, Napa Valley North
Oddometer: 5,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by craftycoder View Post
The ADCs and amps I've included in Motobrain are not fast enough to use as an oscope. That said, technology like I've created could be used to create a mobile oscope with your phone as the UI. I would be a bit surprised if that has not already been created by someone.
What, like this?
dwoodward is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 08:44 PM   #1108
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwoodward View Post
What, like this?
Exactly.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 10:20 PM   #1109
tileman
Studly Adventurer
 
tileman's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Melbourne, OZ
Oddometer: 854
Hi crafty.

Just looked back through a few pages and couldn't find a answer. I got an email via the kick-starter site. I got involved with that, do I need to let you know about interest or will I receive a purchase option via the original campaign?

I'm mid way through designing a nav tower and finding places for fuse blocks and relays etc but this will eliminate the need for all that, and more probably but my brain is going to take time to get around what this can do!!!!!
__________________
If ignorance is bliss, why aren´t more people happy?????
tileman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 10:22 PM   #1110
tileman
Studly Adventurer
 
tileman's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Melbourne, OZ
Oddometer: 854
Oh and what are the dimensions including hole centres for attachment?
__________________
If ignorance is bliss, why aren´t more people happy?????
tileman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014