ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool > Airheads
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-28-2012, 12:34 PM   #1
Voltaire OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Voltaire's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Auckland,New Zealand
Oddometer: 1,196
Ignitech Ignition

I bought one of these to try out on my race bike.

Unit mounted under seat.

My engineer friend made me an adapter plate and I found a bit of ally to mount the pick up on.
Rotor comes with the kit.

I was going to run twin plugs....might just run a single coil instead.

You can use the stock curve that comes with the unit or make your own, its as easy as uploading a photo on the net.
With the engine running you can alter the curve, adjust the 'soft' rev limiter, read the actual revs....pretty cool.
The curve shown is not the one I am using as I have limited advance to 30 degrees.

The instructions are a bit vague, I found as soon as I started the motor the screen would freeze.....this was due to needing 5000 ohms on the plugs.....easy fix was resistor plugs.

Raced it all last weekend, ran fine.
Would it suit a road bike, yes it would.
Would I ever buy another Boyer....no.
Voltaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 01:47 PM   #2
disston
ShadeTreeExpert
 
disston's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Silver Spring, Md
Oddometer: 7,992
It looks like you have that plugged into a laptop maybe. Is that how you program it? I'm thinking this is expensive. Well?
__________________
.
Never memorize something you can look up.
---Albert Einstein

Pay your debt, piratejohn.http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=949341
disston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 01:50 PM   #3
ptr
Elefant-Tamer
 
ptr's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Black Forest
Oddometer: 55
ignitech

hi

i agree ... absolutely uncomplicated ... really plug`n play ... and cheapier than original part(s).

btw: which kind of race do you mean ... on a BMW?
ptr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 02:42 PM   #4
Voltaire OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Voltaire's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Auckland,New Zealand
Oddometer: 1,196
Its pre programmed, you only have to configure it to suit the type of motor...1,2,3,4 cylinder, set up base advance ( like doing static).
Would run straight out of box.
Yes, Using a laptop.
Price....I paid $500 NZ for box, rotor, pickup, and two dual plug coils....thats about $400 US.
As a re limiter was going to be $100 us it works out good.
Wiring is straight forward, 12volt pos, earth, wire to coil, wire to pick up.

They have a variety of pick up options so could be used on anything.
The race class is pre 1976 Euro over 500cc, I'm a tail end Charlie but enjoy every minute of it.
Voltaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 02:53 PM   #5
pommie john
Beastly Adventurer
 
pommie john's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Brisvegas, Australia
Oddometer: 1,338
Can you buy the kit without the coils? I already have a pair of Dyna dual outputs.
__________________
The trouble with the world is that the stupid are cocksure and the intelligent are full of doubt.
Bertrand Russell
pommie john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 03:28 PM   #6
Voltaire OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Voltaire's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Auckland,New Zealand
Oddometer: 1,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by pommie john View Post
Can you buy the kit without the coils? I already have a pair of Dyna dual outputs.
Yes, I got mine from the NZ distributor, but you can deal direct.
http://www.ignitech.cz/english/aindex.htm
Voltaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 12:33 AM   #7
RGregor
User Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Bavaria
Oddometer: 437
Major advantage (besides price) in my eyes is the flexibility regarding triggering.
I wanted it as a replacement for my Silent-Hektik and thus keep triggering mechanism and (inductive) pickup.
Sent them a picture of the 5 wing rotor and they made a special configuration file for me.
Worked right out of the box.

The Ignitech is used quite often here for beemers, a guy started the whole affair ~2 years ago by adapting it to his bike and documenting each step in the 2-ventiler forum.
In the meantime he's got the Ignitech Injection running in his two beemers.
Completely legal (TUEV) which is quite an affair in Germany.

I don't have the ignition running in the bike yet, but built a primitive test stand to run it up to 4000 rpm and check advance curve and all other parameters with the stroboscope light.
Looks very good up to now, the ignition does exactly what I had programmed.

Good message for PJ: it automatically detects needed dwell time of the coils (checked that with a Honda Fireblade coil and a BMW 4V coil) and triggers coil accordingly.

Ignitech does not provide a special mounting kit for the BMW alternator, but this guy here sells them:
http://www.parts4motos.de/ignitech.html
RGregor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 09:40 AM   #8
wirewrkr
the thread-killer
 
wirewrkr's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: HIGH desert
Oddometer: 4,297
So.....where's the alternator going to be?
I know Voltaire isn't running one because it's a racer, but ................
__________________

www.wirewerkes.com
KILL YOUR TELEVISION !!!!
wirewrkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 12:11 PM   #9
RGregor
User Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Bavaria
Oddometer: 437
Quote:
Originally Posted by wirewrkr View Post
So.....where's the alternator going to be?
I know Voltaire isn't running one because it's a racer, but ................
The alternator stays where it is, the pickup will be mounted on the alternator. I understood they are working on a new version.
http://2-ventiler.de/vbboard/showthr...light=ignitech
I didn't follow that thread as I don't need this solution.
RGregor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 06:10 PM   #10
adrenal
www.cafebeemer.com.au
 
adrenal's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Oddometer: 443
So, just how easy is it to program with you're own curve?
__________________
Adrian
cafebeemer is now:http://www.skrunkwerks.com
farcebook page: http://facebook.com/skrunkwerks
instagram: #skrunkwerks
adrenal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 06:51 PM   #11
Voltaire OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Voltaire's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Auckland,New Zealand
Oddometer: 1,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrenal View Post
So, just how easy is it to program with you're own curve?
The program starts up.
There is a standard curve.
You create a new file, save it.
drag the curve around with your mouse.
Save
Then upload to unit.
Hit verify to read and there it is.
Start the motor and watch the engine revs map across the curve.
If you don't like it make another file and start again.
If you can upload a photo onto the net you can do it.
Voltaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 07:02 PM   #12
supershaft
because I can
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: San Francisco Bay area
Oddometer: 8,020
So you can change the rpm range too? Strange but on many an electronic 'adjustable' curve, you can't.
supershaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 11:13 PM   #13
RGregor
User Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Bavaria
Oddometer: 437
Quote:
Originally Posted by supershaft View Post
So you can change the rpm range too? Strange but on many an electronic 'adjustable' curve, you can't.
A curve consists of ten points (in fact eleven, but the first one is at zero rpm). You can define them by setting rpm and advance wherever you like.
If i.e. your rpm range ends at 8k5 you set the last point there or maybe at 9k and additionally set the rpm limiter.
Between the points the ignition will interpolate.
RGregor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 05:34 PM   #14
adrenal
www.cafebeemer.com.au
 
adrenal's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Oddometer: 443
tks voltaire.
__________________
Adrian
cafebeemer is now:http://www.skrunkwerks.com
farcebook page: http://facebook.com/skrunkwerks
instagram: #skrunkwerks
adrenal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 08:01 AM   #15
datchew
Don't buy from Brad
 
datchew's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Savannah - the dirty south
Oddometer: 7,408
datchew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014