ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-02-2012, 08:44 AM   #1
SR1 OP
Back in S. Korea
 
SR1's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Western NC
Oddometer: 4,373
2006 GS handguards?

OK, I really ought to switch to real handguards. I have a Kakao throttle lock but not sure if I have the "Barkbusters friendly" type or not. Can someone guide me on this? Thanks!
__________________
My TAT trip in 2014: http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=998193
SR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 05:22 AM   #2
SR1 OP
Back in S. Korea
 
SR1's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Western NC
Oddometer: 4,373
Oh come on, someone knows!
__________________
My TAT trip in 2014: http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=998193
SR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 07:38 AM   #3
LaurelPerryOnLand
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Oddometer: 3,477
And the question was?
LaurelPerryOnLand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 08:51 AM   #4
SR1 OP
Back in S. Korea
 
SR1's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Western NC
Oddometer: 4,373
Can someone advise me on what I need to put real handguards (like Barkbusters) on my Kakao-installed 2006 GS?

Or, do I need the "special" Kakao for handguards?
__________________
My TAT trip in 2014: http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=998193
SR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 02:28 PM   #5
Osmin C
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: SoCal
Oddometer: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by SR1 View Post
Can someone advise me on what I need to put real handguards (like Barkbusters) on my Kakao-installed 2006 GS?

Or, do I need the "special" Kakao for handguards?
I think you just answered your own question.

A while back someone was making custom Cyra Handguards that would work with the standard style bar end but from what I can tell they are no longer available. Barkbusters and the "special" throttle lock is going to be your best bet.
Osmin C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 04:33 PM   #6
SR1 OP
Back in S. Korea
 
SR1's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Western NC
Oddometer: 4,373
I hear ya. The issue was the newest threads on the subject looked to be about 3 years old. The guy making the Cycra ones is no longer in business, and I wasn't sure if another good solution had been developed yet.

I suppose I can always sell my current Kakao after the conversion.
__________________
My TAT trip in 2014: http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=998193
SR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 10:48 PM   #7
oz97tj
Studly Adventurer
 
oz97tj's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Fenton, MI
Oddometer: 819
Barkbusters will not work with a standard Kaoko. I attempted to purchase the Barkbusters friendly version earlier this summer, but do to the postal people in their country being on strike or some crap, they weren't shipping. After almost two months of waiting, I cancelled the order. I don't know if it's still going on though.

I then contacted the people for the Kruz Locker as they are made fairly local to me. They don't have a Barkbusters friendly version either, but I met with the guy who actually makes them and designed them to see if they could be made to work. In the end, it was different enough that an existing one would be a pain to make work. He contacted the owner of Kruz to see if he would be interested in making Barkbuster versions, but the owner wasn't interested at that time.

This led me to finding the Go Cruise. It was like $20 shipped to my door so I figured I'd give it a shot. Surprisingly, I love it. Easy to use, nothing really to fiddle with. I actually like it way more than my Throttlemeister that is on my ST1300, which works similarly to the Kaoko. It's just easier to use. And it's cheap.
__________________
'13 BMW 1200 GSW
'05 Honda ST1300
oz97tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 02:47 AM   #8
SR1 OP
Back in S. Korea
 
SR1's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Western NC
Oddometer: 4,373
Hmm, better than nothing I suppose. Does it hold when wet?
__________________
My TAT trip in 2014: http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=998193
SR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 01:42 PM   #9
oz97tj
Studly Adventurer
 
oz97tj's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Fenton, MI
Oddometer: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by SR1 View Post
Hmm, better than nothing I suppose. Does it hold when wet?
Yes. Rain doesn't bother it at all.
__________________
'13 BMW 1200 GSW
'05 Honda ST1300
oz97tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 03:17 PM   #10
hardpackrider
Gnarly Adventurer
 
hardpackrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: San Franciso, Bay Area, CA
Oddometer: 150
correction... they (Cycra guards) still exist (and are awesome)

2 months ago I bought and installed a great set of Cycra hand guards (solid, one piece of aluminum) and they are killer. I have the same throttle lock and it is not an issue.

Contact AdvDesigns in Hayward, Ca. They had a set for my 2012 GSA, (stock bars, fit perfect and I'm sure they can advise as to your year/model.

best part is, I now have rock-solid handles, one each side, to help me pick up the bike :-)

I will snap/post a photo tonight.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
2012 GSA - xxx-black ________--- ____ -- .... .. . - . . .

Every man dies. Not every man really lives. William Wallace
I'm working on that Bill... it's why I'm here. hardpackrider
hardpackrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 05:25 PM   #11
SR1 OP
Back in S. Korea
 
SR1's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Western NC
Oddometer: 4,373
That is some good news! Thanks!
__________________
My TAT trip in 2014: http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=998193
SR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 08:03 AM   #12
hardpackrider
Gnarly Adventurer
 
hardpackrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: San Franciso, Bay Area, CA
Oddometer: 150


[IMG]http://img.tapatalk.com/d/12/09/05/uzu6uhuh.jpg[/IMG







here are some shots of the Cycra hand guards I installed on my 2012 GSA (stock bars)

what is difficult about this is the work that AdvDesigns did BEFORE I bought them. They take the OEM bolts from the ends of the bars, and tap them. to accept the Cycra bolts. All they ask, and I gladly did this) is to donate the stock bolts (that their Cycra kit now replaces) to them, so they can tap them for the next GS owner. So my 2012 bolts are likely on a fellow riders Cycra kit. Anyway, as u can see by photos, there are some intricate bends on those solid, one peace bars, the brake side.. I had to introduce that bar to my vice.. for a couple tweaks, but clutch side went right on. the bars are rock solid, and hold when I need to pick up a fully loaded bike from off the ground (this last wknd) solid handle that did not budge.

anyway, contact Adventure Designs

www.advdesigns.com

I have bought many items from them, all top quality, and cannot recommend their knowledge and helpfulness enough. Run by two brothers, who ride... read their bio on site.. great fellas.

anyway hope this helps.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
2012 GSA - xxx-black ________--- ____ -- .... .. . - . . .

Every man dies. Not every man really lives. William Wallace
I'm working on that Bill... it's why I'm here. hardpackrider
hardpackrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 08:27 AM   #13
SR1 OP
Back in S. Korea
 
SR1's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Western NC
Oddometer: 4,373
Thanks for a very informative reply! I'll have to call them tomorrow morning, since I'm about 14 hours ahead of them. Laurel and Hardy on Land continues with his useless posts, but at least it got me a bump so that a helpful person came along...
__________________
My TAT trip in 2014: http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=998193
SR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 07:36 AM   #14
hardpackrider
Gnarly Adventurer
 
hardpackrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: San Franciso, Bay Area, CA
Oddometer: 150
one thing I remembered, very simple, you tuck speedo cable under bar.. to give full range of turning.







if you need to do it (all depends upon cable length), I can advise on unhooking throttle cable, (like most things) it's very simple once u kno how.







Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
2012 GSA - xxx-black ________--- ____ -- .... .. . - . . .

Every man dies. Not every man really lives. William Wallace
I'm working on that Bill... it's why I'm here. hardpackrider
hardpackrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 09:09 AM   #15
SR1 OP
Back in S. Korea
 
SR1's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Western NC
Oddometer: 4,373
Thanks man, when they come I'll try it and get with you if I have any problems. Great pics!
__________________
My TAT trip in 2014: http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=998193
SR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014