User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-03-2012, 01:10 PM   #1
Wes Mantooth OP
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 1,104
Whatever Blows Your Hair Back...

That line, taken from the excellent film "Good Will Hunting," has taken on new meaning for me of late. I started riding motorcycles at age 20. Since then, riding has played a rather large role in helping me maintain my sanity through some fairly turbulent times. Bear with me here, I promise not to make this too dark.

A few years back, depression begat drinking, which begat more depression...and so it went. The end result, while sparing some of the details, was a totaled Ducati and a re-examination of my place in the world. As it turns out, it was the best thing to happen to me. For me, cheating death has allowed me to cherish those small things we sometimes tend to overlook.

Fast forward to 2012. Demons conquered, life somewhat together, then BAM - Momma Mantooth is hit with cancer. We all grow old, our parents all grow old, but cancer is a bitch. Really no rhyme or reason to it. Sometimes it's a roll of the dice. As was the case with my Mom.

Now, the question is. How to react? Reach for a drink? Get angry? Give up? Absolutely not. Be strong for her. Be strong for my family. Do whatever it takes to help her beat this abhorrent menace that touches so many of us.

Our fight continues, but coupled with my incident, I've really seen how much chance plays a role in our every day lives.

A late night. A sad thought. A red light ran. A speeding car. Ducati.

A cough. A few pounds lost. A breath that cannot be caught. Cancer.

After all of this, I've figured out what "blows my hair back." Downhill, decreasing radius turns. Random fire roads. Exhaust fumes attaching themselves to riding gear. The sonorous pings and pangs of an engine cooling down after a day of hard riding. Riding.

Riding, I've missed you. But Riding, I'm back.