ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > West California, the desert southwest and whatever is left
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-05-2012, 10:28 PM   #1
monsterscout OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 48
Baja 1000

Is anyone heading south from Cen-Cal for the 1000? I am currently planning on going alone, but as this is my first time on a bike south of the border, I wouldn't mind some company. Travel dates TBD.
Old 10-06-2012, 06:53 AM   #2
El Zorrillo
charity case

Oddometer: 743
i'm planning on going, but i'd be leaving from south o.c. i'm still trying to figure out dates as far as leaving/returning. i'll keep an eye on this thread.

btw, i've ridden bikes south of the border several times, twice for watching the 1000. knock on wood, never had a problem.
El Zorrillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 07:49 AM   #3
speedygee68
dirt eater

Oddometer: 218
As the saying goes, "There is safety in numbers". Try to hook up with as many people as you can.
speedygee68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 07:50 AM   #4
BigBearRider
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 201
It's a freaking excellent idea. Not sure how I will be able to swing it this year as I have two other Baja trips planned around that same time.

I've ridden in Baja a few times, and have never had any issues. Be careful, don't be stupid, and you should be fine.
BigBearRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 11:13 AM   #5
TUCKERS
the famous james

Oddometer: 11,381
Don't ride at night.

Watch out for animals on the road, day and night.
TUCKERS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 11:39 AM   #6
Strong Bad
n00balicious

Oddometer: 3,745
As someone who has been involved in racing the Baja 1000 & 500 for over 40 years, allow me to point out couple of things about going down to watch the 1000. I have no idea how far you guys intend to go down I'll assume that you will go all the way.