ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > The Rockies It's all downhill from here...
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-10-2012, 10:14 AM   #1
Osprey! OP
a.k.a. Opie

Oddometer: 3,811
Colorado GPS questions (Garmin 60csx)

A Garmin 60csx popped up on Craigslist the other day at a reasonable price and I jumped on the GPS bandwagon. I've been eyeing these units for a few years but they were a little steep.

I'm now thinking about buying the Garmin Topo maps for Colorado. Since this is so popular, does anyone in the Boulder area have a microSD with Garmin Topo on it? Would you be willing to loan it to me so I can try it before I buy it?

Primary use would be hiking, backpacking, hunting, and off road motorcycle riding. It looks like GPSFileDepot has a few alternatives which may also work. Has anyone tried using the various free Colorado maps? I'd like to hear about your experiences.

Muchas

p.s. image stolen from some russian website.
Old 10-10-2012, 10:40 AM   #2
James Adams
Not a Texan

Oddometer: 7,809
Quote:
Originally Posted by Osprey! View Post
I'm now thinking about buying the Garmin Topo maps for Colorado. Since this is so popular, does anyone in the Boulder area have a microSD with Garmin Topo on it? Would you be willing to loan it to me so I can try it before I buy it?
I have the Garmin Topo US 24K maps for the Mountain Central (includes CO) and Mountain North regions on an 8GB microSD card for my Garmin 62s (the 62-series replaced the 60-series units) and I've been really happy with them. I think that the maps might be locked to the specific device, but I'd be happy to pop the whole 62s unit in the mail to you when I get back in town next week for you to give it a try.

James Adams screwed with this post 10-10-2012 at 10:45 AM
James Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 11:21 AM   #3
Osprey! OP
a.k.a. Opie

Quote:
Originally Posted by James Adams View Post