ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-18-2011, 05:38 PM   #1
Casejeep OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Casejeep's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Lake Powell or Flagstaff
Oddometer: 745
Anyone mount a Rotopax on the inside of the rear rack?

I was looking at my rear side racks and it looks like i might have some room to mount a Rotopax? anyone ever done it? i have HB racks.
Casejeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 06:37 PM   #2
mlkdash
Righteous Dude
 
mlkdash's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Burlington, VT
Oddometer: 75
Not yet

I have the Wolfman racks, and was hoping to try something like that. The measurements I've taken lead me to believe I need something a bit smaller, or at least a different shape than, the rotopax though. Would love to see what others have done...
__________________
mlkdash
Green Mtn State
http://2wheeltravels.blogspot.com/
mlkdash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 08:33 PM   #3
señormoto
Supermoto Abuser
 
señormoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: California + Costa Rica
Oddometer: 1,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlkdash View Post
I have the Wolfman racks, and was hoping to try something like that. The measurements I've taken lead me to believe I need something a bit smaller, or at least a different shape than, the rotopax though. Would love to see what others have done...
I have my rotopax mounted on top of a pelican 1450 top case. I do have the wolfman racks as well, but I don't think a rotopax will fit on the inside. definitely will fit on the outside with their accessory mount though.
__________________
I have a feeling that there are some decisions being made on certain teams lately to make things more complex in order to ensure a certain technological standard of confusion is met.
señormoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 09:17 PM   #4
sorebutt
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Lewiston,ID
Oddometer: 1,670
I just found a fuel pack on Amazon that is made for Harleys. It holds a little less than a gallon and is designed to go in the Harley cases that have the slope with under cut in the back. The fuel cell is kind of triangular and is suppose to be heavy duty and not leak. I haven't seen one, but they look like they might fit inside a rack or other places that the rectangle ones won't fit.
sorebutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 10:54 PM   #5
Casejeep OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Casejeep's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Lake Powell or Flagstaff
Oddometer: 745
Quote:
Originally Posted by sorebutt View Post
I just found a fuel pack on Amazon that is made for Harleys. It holds a little less than a gallon and is designed to go in the Harley cases that have the slope with under cut in the back. The fuel cell is kind of triangular and is suppose to be heavy duty and not leak. I haven't seen one, but they look like they might fit inside a rack or other places that the rectangle ones won't fit.
Can you post a link or picture?
Casejeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 07:02 AM   #6
sorebutt
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Lewiston,ID
Oddometer: 1,670
Here is the link.

http://www.amazon.com/Reda-Portable-...306874&sr=8-91
sorebutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 10:03 AM   #7
señormoto
Supermoto Abuser
 
señormoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: California + Costa Rica
Oddometer: 1,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by sorebutt View Post
Interesting idea, but I'm not so sure it's a good idea to put gas inside with your gear unless you're only riding roads. Most of the time when you need extra fuel range it's because you're traveling off-road or linking up trails/two-track that are, in the case of the F8 at least, greater than 200 miles. Having gas in with my clothes, sleeping bag, food, etc offroad makes me thing the gas smell would get all over everything at the least and covered in leaked gas at the worst.
__________________
I have a feeling that there are some decisions being made on certain teams lately to make things more complex in order to ensure a certain technological standard of confusion is met.
señormoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 01:47 PM   #8
Hucker
Lost
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Southern AZ
Oddometer: 672
I was going to try the Wolfman RotoPax Fluid Mounting System and Options setup here. I have the SW Motech removable racks, so I would have to do some measuring first.
Hucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 02:41 PM   #9
Casejeep OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Casejeep's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Lake Powell or Flagstaff
Oddometer: 745
I want to be able to flip it to the inside which makes it so the bike doesnt have so much on the outside.
Casejeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 05:35 PM   #10
Hucker
Lost
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Southern AZ
Oddometer: 672
I thought I saw a pic of that somewhere, with this Wolfman setup...can't find it now.

Basically, it was mounted to the inside, where you want it, and then had the bags on the outside...not sure where I saw it now.
Hucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 07:24 PM   #11
Casejeep OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Casejeep's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Lake Powell or Flagstaff
Oddometer: 745
Quote:
Originally Posted by cushman View Post
I thought I saw a pic of that somewhere, with this Wolfman setup...can't find it now.

Basically, it was mounted to the inside, where you want it, and then had the bags on the outside...not sure where I saw it now.
My buddy has one so I'll try and see if it's worth trying, seems like it might work though.
Casejeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 07:31 PM   #12
Wicket009
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Wicket009's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Bainbridge Is, WA
Oddometer: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by cushman View Post
I thought I saw a pic of that somewhere, with this Wolfman setup...can't find it now.

Basically, it was mounted to the inside, where you want it, and then had the bags on the outside...not sure where I saw it now.

It was posted in the Auxiliary Fuel Tanks Thread:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showt...377911&page=10

from Backroads Moto
__________________
2010 F800GS
2007 F650GS
1998 K1200RS
Wicket009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 07:44 PM   #13
Casejeep OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Casejeep's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Lake Powell or Flagstaff
Oddometer: 745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wicket009 View Post
It was posted in the Auxiliary Fuel Tanks Thread:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showt...377911&page=10

from Backroads Moto
I don't see that anyone did it though...
Casejeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 11:44 AM   #14
jfman
Studly Adventurer
 
jfman's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Montreal, Canada
Oddometer: 864
Wanting to do this as well and there isnt an exhaust there on my bike it seems like a good use of that space.
__________________
Tent space is where you make it

2012 Versys 1000
Tour of the American West 2013
Alaska 2014: Hotel Budget Zero
jfman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 12:42 PM   #15
Mike.C
Stelvio Dreamer!
 
Mike.C's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Brisbane-Australia
Oddometer: 587
Inside the rack is a great place to put thte Rotopax. The other solutions of punting them vertically at the back of the seat, or flat on a rear rack are a poor compromise.

It's a tight fit though and this is a custom soft bag mount that is interchangeable with my Jessee racks (the Jessee bits are visible), so we were able to adjust the position freely to make the best use of the space. Even then to mount an unmount the Rotopax I have to completely unscrew their locking mount as the plastic Rotopax can't slide inboard enough to clear the mount.

No big deal though, it's additional fuel not a main tank so is only used when necessay.



__________________
Cheers, Mike
Don't just look at it - Ride the bloody thing!

Mike.C screwed with this post 02-16-2014 at 12:54 PM
Mike.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014