User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-17-2012, 10:17 PM   #1
LemonyLeprosy OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 36
Cool2 an Intro and a Plan

Alright everyone, hello! i'm a noob. my name is Micah, and i'm 31. i live (lived?) in san luis obisp, ca. my wife just left me so on the first of Nov. 2012, i'll be leaving on a very long trip. i've got no experience with it, but i plan to make the best of it. it'll be on my little 2001 honda rebel. so far my plan is to go up to fresno, down through bakersfield to LA, then fllow the 10 to the east coast, go up the east coast to canada, then back down through the states, shoot through mexico and follow the south american coast down, around, and up.
Got a lot of planning to do, and a short time to do it in. just got waterproof gloves from someone who turned out to be an ADV'er, and a lot of good advice. also just got a luggage rack/sissy bar that with minor modification should work on my bike. i've got some maintenance to do and a lot of supplies to get, not to mention planning, but i'm damn excited. so yup, good to meet you all.

-why did the O on my netbook suddenly start giving me problems? if future posts are missing O's, decipher them to the best of your ability.
LemonyLeprosy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 11:29 PM   #2
DaveStockwell
Rock Fodder

Oddometer: 205
Bummer on the relationship but congrats on your choice of therapy. Two thoughts:

First, a long trip is simply a bunch of short ones and with an open itinerary like your's I'd just make sure you have access to a bundle of cash, a couple hotel hunting apps on your iPhone, and a credit card that gets you airline miles (you'll be able to fly somewhere by the time you get back. After that just plan it a few days at a time, stay off the interstate as much as possible for the two lane roads are MUCH more interesting.