ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > The Rockies It's all downhill from here...
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-19-2012, 01:23 PM   #31
TheMuffinMan
Forest Ranger Magnet
 
TheMuffinMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Denver, USA
Oddometer: 5,632
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geek View Post
Shouldn't you be World of Tanks'ing?

I'm about to Elite my Teir V T49
I'm uh working....


It's a slow day and I might just leave early; the boss is working from home today
__________________
"To strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield."
KTM 525 XC-W // KTM 950 Adventure
690 Wiki
TheMuffinMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 02:55 PM   #32
DakarNick
Swabee
 
DakarNick's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Parker, Colorado
Oddometer: 6,696
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMuffinMan View Post
I'm uh working....


It's a slow day and I might just leave early; the boss is working from home today
Mine just quit. Slow day for sure

I finally bought a computer that will play back my Go Pro 2 media. An Asus Transformer Infinity My PC's video card (a decent one) went out a few months ago.

I may just buy the Wi Fi backpack or the LCD screen backpack.
__________________
'06 KTM 950 Adventure S
'12 Ram 2500, Cummins, 6-speed auto, Laramie Longhorn, RamBox
"The bouncer is a bulldog who looks like Wilfred Brimley and the password is 'diabetus'"-Stefan, SNL character
DakarNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 03:30 PM   #33
TheMuffinMan
Forest Ranger Magnet
 
TheMuffinMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Denver, USA
Oddometer: 5,632
The WIFI remote (that works with the 3 or the wifi bacpac) is nifty. I'd really like to turn the camera on and off remotely (since it's usually out of reach) so I don't have to sort through tons of video fluff at home. It'd also help conserve battery life.
__________________
"To strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield."
KTM 525 XC-W // KTM 950 Adventure
690 Wiki
TheMuffinMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 03:51 PM   #34
thump_co
..ouch
 
thump_co's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: 8532'
Oddometer: 2,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMuffinMan View Post
The WIFI remote (that works with the 3 or the wifi bacpac) is nifty. I'd really like to turn the camera on and off remotely (since it's usually out of reach) so I don't have to sort through tons of video fluff at home. It'd also help conserve battery life.
It sounds good in theory, but in reality you won't want to ride with the wifi bacpac attached.

I'm pissed about the 3 coming so quick. I just bought the GP2 and backpack setup earlier this year and have still been waiting for them to release the Android app to make it useful. The iPhone app just finally came out this month, and both were supposed to be released last spring.

Kind of crap that they couldn't devote the resources to finish developing the software for the GP2 before they start shipping the GP3.
__________________
Ride

AMA | COHVCO | Stay The Trail | BRC | TPA | BCTR | NCTR
thump_co is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 04:16 PM   #35
AtomicGeo
Chile Eater
 
AtomicGeo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Los Alamos, Northern NM
Oddometer: 4,062
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMuffinMan View Post
The WIFI remote (that works with the 3 or the wifi bacpac) is nifty. I'd really like to turn the camera on and off remotely (since it's usually out of reach) so I don't have to sort through tons of video fluff at home. It'd also help conserve battery life.
I went with the DriftHD on par with GPPRO2 IMO ; it has a wristband remote as standard as well as a LCD screen. GPRO 3 looks really good though.
__________________
2003 KX250 - plated
2014 WR450F - plated
AtomicGeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 04:25 PM   #36
rtadlock
Beastly Adventurer
 
rtadlock's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Denver
Oddometer: 1,239
I pre-ordered the black the day they were announced. Smaller, external mic, built in wifi with remote, and 120fps @ 720 are enough for me to add it to the stable. I also like that it comes with the new case that lets the camera take quality video underwater.

Also, I can see there being a software app that would allow a person to control multiple cameras from a laptop over wifi, or streaming multiple live feeds over the wifi from various cameras. I think a smart move for GoPro would be to release an SDK. Canon had one, and I built a super slick QT app that would control your SLR from the laptop and create super nice timelapse.
rtadlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 04:58 PM   #37
Geek
oot & aboot
 
Geek's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: 8000ft.
Oddometer: 30,817
I went to order one.. but then I realized I have a Go Pro 2 that I've used exactly once for 5 minutes.

When you are a kid you have time for toys but don't have the funds.
Now I have the funds but don't have the time.

Anyone know how to figure out the happy medium?




p.s. It is too bad the gopro doesn't have that "dump feature" the one camera on the market has.. where it videos in a loop and then when something interesting happens you hit "dump" and you can save the last 5 mins or 10 mins or whatever.

Sure would be nice to NOT have to wade through tons of boring video.... I'd run the camera all the time if it had that feature cuz people seem to fall down around me regularly
Geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 05:03 PM   #38
RideFreak OP
Green Chile Eater
 
RideFreak's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: County Lockup, NM
Oddometer: 5,859
I picked up the wifi setup for the Hero 2 but ended up selling it, I didn't care for the fact that it was an add-on that made the cam package larger and required charging seperately from the camera. The system is supposed to be able to stream to the web so we can watch each other's crashes realtime. Of course that would assume we were somewhere that had a signal...not!

The new housing looks very similar to the GP dive housing that accepts a flat polarizing filter I use one of those small round polarizing filters sometimes but they're a PITA as they just lay in the area between the lense and housing and can rotate when the cam is removed.

One GP II limitation that I hope is adressed is the reaction time when traveling in and out of bright sunlight, woods riding. The Hero II has a bit of delay that's very noticable to me. This cam's clockrate is 2x that of the old unit so it may have a better attack time.

THe Pro mode look pretty interesting.
__________________
Chris
"Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but to rather skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting ... Holy Shit, what a ride!"
CL Adventure Ride 2013 /CL Revisited 2014 / 700 Miles of Scenic Utah Backcountry / MY VIDEOS
RideFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 05:04 PM   #39
thump_co
..ouch
 
thump_co's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: 8532'
Oddometer: 2,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geek View Post

p.s. It is too bad the gopro doesn't have that "dump feature" the one camera on the market has.. where it videos in a loop and then when something interesting happens you hit "dump" and you can save the last 5 mins or 10 mins or whatever.
That would be awesome. Currently I average 15Gb of footage from a ride to get to 5 minutes that's maybe halfway interesting... and in accordance with Murphy, 99% of the "great" stuff (primarily crashing) happens when I've turned the camera off to save battery.
__________________
Ride

AMA | COHVCO | Stay The Trail | BRC | TPA | BCTR | NCTR
thump_co is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 05:05 PM   #40
DakarNick
Swabee
 
DakarNick's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Parker, Colorado
Oddometer: 6,696
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geek View Post
I'd run the camera all the time if it had that feature cuz people seem to fall down around me regularly
Yep, I sure have!
__________________
'06 KTM 950 Adventure S
'12 Ram 2500, Cummins, 6-speed auto, Laramie Longhorn, RamBox
"The bouncer is a bulldog who looks like Wilfred Brimley and the password is 'diabetus'"-Stefan, SNL character
DakarNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 05:12 PM   #41
RideFreak OP
Green Chile Eater
 
RideFreak's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: County Lockup, NM
Oddometer: 5,859
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geek View Post
I went to order one.. but then I realized I have a Go Pro 2 that I've used exactly once for 5 minutes.

When you are a kid you have time for toys but don't have the funds.
Now I have the funds but don't have the time.

Anyone know how to figure out the happy medium?




p.s. It is too bad the gopro doesn't have that "dump feature" the one camera on the market has.. where it videos in a loop and then when something interesting happens you hit "dump" and you can save the last 5 mins or 10 mins or whatever.

Sure would be nice to NOT have to wade through tons of boring video.... I'd run the camera all the time if it had that feature cuz people seem to fall down around me regularly
I elect to capture it all. With a decent computer system (I'm sure you have one Geek) you can jog through 2 hrs of video in about 10min. Often some of my best video isn't detected till I review the files. Sort of like the way LEOs do it, film everything. 2 batteries and 2 16G cards will do an afternoon ride and 3 of each will get most of a day's ride for me.

Files with this new cam are going to be large, you're going to want USB 3.0 and plenty of HD space.
__________________
Chris
"Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but to rather skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting ... Holy Shit, what a ride!"
CL Adventure Ride 2013 /CL Revisited 2014 / 700 Miles of Scenic Utah Backcountry / MY VIDEOS
RideFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 06:05 PM   #42
Geek
oot & aboot
 
Geek's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: 8000ft.
Oddometer: 30,817
I have plenty of hardware.. I've just zero desire to wade through endless video. Perhaps I just need my friends to crash more often so no editing is needed... endless entertainment?

Besides... I enjoy the video in my head more (cuz I can make shit up )


Geek screwed with this post 10-19-2012 at 06:10 PM
Geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 08:23 AM   #43
singletrackslayer
Legalize singletrack
 
singletrackslayer's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Morningwood, CO
Oddometer: 483
Quote:
Originally Posted by DakarNick View Post
I may just buy the Wi Fi backpack or the LCD screen backpack.
They are lame. bulky, heavy, suck extra batt juice. I can definitly feel the added weight on my head with the bacpacs.

I wanna be able to shoot some NORMAL footage sometimes. With the 3, can you get rid of the fisheye? sometimes i just want an old fasioned "view". maybe ill just wait for the GoPro 10 to come out by next fall . . .
__________________
This is Motorado . . .
singletrackslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 08:36 AM   #44
RideFreak OP
Green Chile Eater
 
RideFreak's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: County Lockup, NM
Oddometer: 5,859
Quote:
Originally Posted by singletrackslayer View Post
They are lame. bulky, heavy, suck extra batt juice. I can definitly feel the added weight on my head with the bacpacs.

I wanna be able to shoot some NORMAL footage sometimes. With the 3, can you get rid of the fisheye? sometimes i just want an old fasioned "view". maybe ill just wait for the GoPro 10 to come out by next fall . . .
I felt the same way, it added weight, was another item to charge. I like it simple on the trial.

From the videos I've seen of the new cam I don't think it totally does away with the fish-eye but the aspherical lens is how the highend cams are doing wide angle. The Hero XVIXVII will probably have it solved
__________________
Chris
"Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but to rather skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting ... Holy Shit, what a ride!"
CL Adventure Ride 2013 /CL Revisited 2014 / 700 Miles of Scenic Utah Backcountry / MY VIDEOS
RideFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 08:51 AM   #45
Hondo
What if its a Samsquamch?
 
Hondo's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Denver, Colorado
Oddometer: 9,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geek View Post
Watching this video in 1080p.. the lens and the dynamic range of the hero 3 are impressive!

Awesome video.

Looks like I found out what will be in my stocking this year -
__________________
KLRWorld.com Forums - Nighthawk Forums

"Life's an adventure, and I refuse to live a boring one."

Hondo is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014