User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-26-2012, 10:25 AM   #1
r1200gsa83 OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 14
Klim Caldera Gloves Vs Others

I'm fairly new to winter riding, I've had my bike for about 18 months but this is the first season that I feel the call of the road in the rain and cold and my summer gloves just don't cut it!

I have a Klim Badlands jacket and pants, I've been impressed with their quality and was initially drawn to their glove offerings. Has anyone here used any of their waterproof gloves that could give feedback? Waterproof is a must but I'm more interested in feel than warmth as it doesn't get below 45 here in Oregon very often.
r1200gsa83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 05:30 PM   #2
Urbandrag
KLiM Beotch!

Oddometer: 140
I have the Element long gloves since May. One step under from Calderas.
They were my weapon of choice in this last winter. They are waterproof and windproof.
Under extreme conditions, let's say, very cold nights of 0C or less. I felt a little "stab" in my fingers tips. I think it's more related to blood flow than quality of the gloves.
They are soft, and they break in quickly.
The shield squeege works great.
Regarding longevity, one of the velcro gaunlet straps started to unstitch, I sent it to a local leather crafter to sew it again, since then, I haven't tested under rain conditions to find out if the "waterproofity" was compromised. Also, I found some wear, almost unnoticeable, in both palm pads, but I blame on the abrassive OEM BMW grips.
I can post some pics tomorrow if you want...
Old 10-27-2012, 01:13 AM   #3
r1200gsa83 OP
Adventurer