ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-22-2013, 12:03 PM   #2281
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 49,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by JM View Post
Make sure you check the amperage rating for the ports. Most of the current cell phones on the market like at least 2.1 amps. At least that what my Samsung Galaxy S4 likes. Devices will charge at a lower rate but it takes them a lot longer.

Cheap may not buy you the amps you need.
No issues powering my iPhone and Garmin GPS at the same time.

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 01:44 PM   #2282
ClearwaterBMW
The Examiner
 
ClearwaterBMW's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Clearwater, FL USA
Oddometer: 5,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by JM View Post
Make sure you check the amperage rating for the ports. Most of the current cell phones on the market like at least 2.1 amps. At least that what my Samsung Galaxy S4 likes. Devices will charge at a lower rate but it takes them a lot longer.

Cheap may not buy you the amps you need.
your point is well taken but you can find a 4.0+ amp dual port to charge two devices at once at maximum speed
__________________
Greg
'11 R1200 GS Adventure with a DMC M72DX Sidecar
'14 R1200 GS & '14 R nineT (march, 2014)
Live life like you mean it... but take your family and friends (and DOGS) along for the "ride"
ClearwaterBMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 02:18 PM   #2283
Ravenslair
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Placer County, California
Oddometer: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hikertrash View Post
Yike! $60? The powerlet ones are cheaper than that. I thought they were about $30?
Blue Sea makes one for $20 (2.1 amps). The front panel portion is removable. They make good gear.

Ravenslair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 02:39 PM   #2284
Hikertrash
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Arizona
Oddometer: 2,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravenslair View Post
Blue Sea makes one for $20 (2.1 amps). The front panel portion is removable. They make good gear.

Thanks but that looks like the same diameter as a cigarette plug. I need the smaller BMW plug diameter for my fender.
Hikertrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 03:35 PM   #2285
macadamia
XK Red 27 Technique
 
macadamia's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Oddometer: 1,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hikertrash View Post
Well I blame you and your GSA thread for many of my farkles so I must be nuts
It's addictive, isn't it...
__________________
"The early bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese." Unknown
'12 BMW R1200GSA '02 BMW R1100S BCX
macadamia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 04:35 PM   #2286
QCRider
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Location: Costa Rica
Oddometer: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hikertrash View Post
Well I blame you and your GSA thread for many of my farkles so I must be nuts
^^ what he says

Quote:
Originally Posted by macadamia View Post
It's addictive, isn't it...
... almost as much as your avatar! Can't take my eyes of it each time you post something. Damn you macademia!!

I've been lurking here for a while now, so I thought today would be my frst post to this thread. After 5 months waiting, my new Ohlins Mechatronics (TTX) finaly arrived, and scheduled to get installed on Tuesday. Pictures to follow later this week hopefully. Can't wait to see if they live up to the expectations!!
QCRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 06:07 PM   #2287
Gruesome
Alter Heizer
 
Gruesome's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Chicago
Oddometer: 829
more brake line fun; Stebel air horn test mount

Replaced the standard length Spiegler rear brake line with the quarter inch longer one, found that even more unsatisfactory (touches drive shaft housing already with bike on center stand), and swapped the standard Spiegler line back. If I use a spacer against the built-in front connection banjo stop it fits. The original BMW lines must have a slightly larger diameter where they bump against the alignment stops; the Spiegler banjos point a bit sideways when fully against the stops, and that made the rear line a very stretchy fit.

I also mounted the Stebel horn off to the right just outside and under the beak, using an L bracket on an existing allen head screw, but haven't connected it yet. Is there a source for the original BMW horn connector on the 1150GS? The wire location is not great for a tap, so putting a short extension piece with a male and female connector would be nice.
Gruesome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 07:09 PM   #2288
VietHorse
Beastly Adventurer
 
VietHorse's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Recalculating... recalculating.... HCMC-Vietnam :)
Oddometer: 1,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hikertrash View Post
Where did you get the USB port? I looked on eBay and they all look the same size as a cigarette plug (too big for GSA beak) ?
I think i have put this link somewhere around ADV.
It's DMV USB socket, $28.
Existing wires are not long enough for a GS when you install the socket on handle bar or on the dashboard.


__________________

********************
Link to All about VietNam

********************
VietHorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 07:36 PM   #2289
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 49,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by VietHorse View Post
I think i have put this link somewhere around ADV.
It's DMV USB socket, $28.
Existing wires are not long enough for a GS when you install the socket on handle bar or on the dashboard.

But plenty long enough to reach the GPS power plug.

Thanks for the link!

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 08:05 PM   #2290
teomannaskali
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Plaka 34
Oddometer: 738
Where is the gps plug on the std gs? (2005)
teomannaskali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 08:09 PM   #2291
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 49,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by teomannaskali View Post
Where is the gps plug on the std gs? (2005)




Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 09:15 PM   #2292
VietHorse
Beastly Adventurer
 
VietHorse's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Recalculating... recalculating.... HCMC-Vietnam :)
Oddometer: 1,275
Jim,
I'd like to do a mod to my headlight, and I am trying to find an outlet which is the same with the Pilot bulb.
Could you pls tell me where to get the power from? I don't want to use any Possi-tap.





The pilot bulb wire is covered and very difficult to find the disconnection point to connect.





(Photo from www.gunsmoke.com)
__________________

********************
Link to All about VietNam

********************
VietHorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 05:24 AM   #2293
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 49,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by VietHorse View Post
Jim,
I'd like to do a mod to my headlight, and I am trying to find an outlet which is the same with the Pilot bulb.
Could you pls tell me where to get the power from? I don't want to use any Possi-tap.





The pilot bulb wire is covered and very difficult to find the disconnection point to connect.





(Photo from www.gunsmoke.com)
Look at the post above yours. You can get a plug from BMW (or Eastern Beaver IIRC) that can plug into that and use it for your power tap. You only get less than 5 amps from it, so it is good for small stuff.

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 02:27 PM   #2294
teomannaskali
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Plaka 34
Oddometer: 738
Which connector is it? There seems to be quite a few options
teomannaskali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 02:32 PM   #2295
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 49,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by teomannaskali View Post
Which connector is it? There seems to be quite a few options


This one. It is strapped to the wiring harness near the upper trippletree and has a black cap on it.

You can see it strapped to the frame on the right just below the satinless loop that holds the throttle cable. It has a bit of red showing on the bottom.



Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014