ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-31-2012, 07:51 AM   #1
Rockwell OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Rockwell's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Ontario
Oddometer: 646
Tune ECU Question

Can I disable both the SAS and the valve for the carbon canister with Tune ECU, and not have to use resistors to trick the ECU out?

Also, what cables are required to communicate with the ECU?
__________________
not all those who wander are lost | two earthlings ride around the world
Home | Photo Blog | The Route | The Bike | About Us | Participate!
Rockwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 08:24 AM   #2
Rockwell OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Rockwell's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Ontario
Oddometer: 646
Found this one on CJ's site: http://www.dualsportwarehouse.com/CJ...TUNE-C-KTM.htm

Other than software and a laptop, is this everything I will need?
__________________
not all those who wander are lost | two earthlings ride around the world
Home | Photo Blog | The Route | The Bike | About Us | Participate!
Rockwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 02:28 PM   #3
Desmofan
Studly Adventurer
 
Desmofan's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Oddometer: 525
Yes, TuneEcu has 4 check boxes (EPC, SAS, Idle control, O2)-you can disable all with the software (leave idle control on).

I unplugged and threw away my charcoal cannister, leaving the wiring in: no fault codes or lights.
__________________
KTM990 SMT
KTM950 Adventure
DRZ400S
Desmofan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 03:09 PM   #4
Rockwell OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Rockwell's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Ontario
Oddometer: 646
Thanks.

Why would you disable O2? Will this ignore inputs form both lambda sensors?
__________________
not all those who wander are lost | two earthlings ride around the world
Home | Photo Blog | The Route | The Bike | About Us | Participate!
Rockwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 09:23 PM   #5
Desmofan
Studly Adventurer
 
Desmofan's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Oddometer: 525
Yes it does. You really need to wade thru all 80 something pages of "990 got tunes ?" here in Orange crush. My SMT is tunecu mapped (from the website map library) ,with secondary throttles disabled and removed, o2 loop off, CPR airfilter etc, and it runs like a raped ape, but so smooth down low compared to stock.
__________________
KTM990 SMT
KTM950 Adventure
DRZ400S
Desmofan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 12:51 PM   #6
Rockwell OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Rockwell's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Ontario
Oddometer: 646
Yes. I need to find the time to sit down and go through that entire thread. Just put in the order for my cable last night. Hopefully they'll have them in stock and shipped out soon. Will have the rest of the bike together this weekend.
__________________
not all those who wander are lost | two earthlings ride around the world
Home | Photo Blog | The Route | The Bike | About Us | Participate!
Rockwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 07:41 AM   #7
Vicks
I love sand !!!
 
Vicks's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Abu Dhabi, UAE
Oddometer: 2,959
You might want to do a bit more reading about turning off the O2 sensors and the effect it has on AFR during closed loop running at higher elevations/ambient temperatures.
__________________
'07 KTM Adv990S - Gone to a good home
'10 KTM 530Exc-Rally, some items for sale
No myriad hues of laser lights, no bottles that are oozing with nectars from heaven
No beautiful body soft and warm to the touch but, i have a very small desire
Give me a dark... long... winding road, three gears to go and my Hellas on fire !!
Vicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 08:26 AM   #8
Rockwell OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Rockwell's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Ontario
Oddometer: 646
I'll try to find that in the thread.

I'm pretty new at all this stuff, but, when you say "closed loop running", what feedback signals are you referring to when you use that term? There are throttle position sensors, O2 sensors, speed sensors, air temperature sensors, etc. I am assuming that most of these are used in the feedback loop for AFR output, but, if you disable the O2 sensors, is that still considered to be closed-loop since not all the required feedback is being received? Also, are there times when the system runs open-loop?

Maybe all this stuff is covered in the TuneECU thread? If so, I should probably get to that soon. Just need to find the time.
__________________
not all those who wander are lost | two earthlings ride around the world
Home | Photo Blog | The Route | The Bike | About Us | Participate!
Rockwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014