ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-02-2012, 05:50 AM   #1
forrestrider OP
Dont Do Stupid Shit..
 
forrestrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Foley . Al
Oddometer: 1,717
990 A ABS Override Switch

Some time ago, some one had a in line switch that you could mount in the cockpit so you could turn the ABS on/off full time with out pressing and holding the button or unplugging under the seat. I always for get to press the button every time I crank up off road.
forrestrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 01:21 PM   #2
Twilight Error
Going nowhere slowly
 
Twilight Error's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: The Submarine Mines
Oddometer: 22,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by forrestrider View Post
Some time ago, some one had a in line switch that you could mount in the cockpit so you could turn the ABS on/off full time with out pressing and holding the button or unplugging under the seat. I always for get to press the button every time I crank up off road.
It wouldn't be difficult to rig a simple toggle switch to one of the sensors to kill the signal. You'd probably need to restart the bike with the switch "on" to reactivate the ABS, but that isn't a very difficult proposition.

BMW uses the rear ABS sensor to detect speed, if KTM does something similar, tap into the other sensor.
Twilight Error is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 04:49 AM   #3
veltex
powerball win needed
 
veltex's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Idaho
Oddometer: 29
abs interupt

A search should turn up several threads on this subject, a couple with pictures, a basic switch interupting the rear, boom. One of the best/most usable mods.
veltex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 06:24 AM   #4
RoundOz
Plenty of seasoning
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: West Nebraska
Oddometer: 926
Here's a link

http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=735655
__________________
2009 KTM Adventure
RoundOz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 12:38 PM   #5
Alleycatdad
Unbunch yer panties!
 
Alleycatdad's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: True Norcal, not that Bay Area/Sacto Crap...
Oddometer: 1,375
Here's mine...



Steve
__________________
When in doubt, PIN IT! It may not help, but it'll sure end the suspense...
Wretched Exce$$ See ADVr's around the world-ADV spotwalla page
Riding Wretched Wretched Passes
Bad decisions make good stories.
Alleycatdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 12:51 PM   #6
Masa
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Masa's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: F1nland
Oddometer: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twilight Error View Post
You'd probably need to restart the bike with the switch "on" to reactivate the ABS, but that isn't a very difficult proposition.
No need to restart, just hit the start button and ABS comes alive again.
Masa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014