User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-03-2012, 09:15 AM   #1
Steve907AK OP
Obsessed

Oddometer: 40
New to me 2010 R1200GSA, need help!!!

Greetings to all!! This is my first post on this forum, but I've been reading it for about two months now. It's driving me nuts now that the weather is getting colder. The more I read, the more I realize what I don't know. But there's one thing that's really bothering me....just had my 12K service and 20W/50 was put in my engine and 75W/140 was put in my tranny and final drive. Now I'm no BMW mechanic or anything, but in my earlier years would consider myself somewhat of a gear head. I've built a few small block Chevy engines, transmissions and differentials, in fact, put together vehicles starting with a frame only.
That being said, it appears to me that what the dealer used (had dealer do 12k service for warranty purposes), is not what would make any sense to me.. Why 20W/50 in the engine? This is fall in Alaska. Why 75W/140???
I am really confused. I called BMWNA. They said they can't recommend oil weight, the dealer uses their discretion.
I then called some dealers in the lower 48. They appear to be using 10 or 15W/40 and everyone I talked to appears to be using 75W90 in the final drive.
I need help because I have no problem riding in 25-30 deg weather as long as the streets are clear and dry.
I noticed my engine ticks for 45 seconds or so after turned off in for a bit in these temperatures. It didn't do this when I first changed it a week or so after I bought it in August.

Any good insight out there??
Steve907AK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 09:43 AM   #2
KHuddy
Big Sky Country

Oddometer: 2,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve907AK View Post