ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool > Airheads
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-08-2014, 01:54 PM   #1
jam_nut OP
Back Road Explorer
 
jam_nut's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Hexi Hollow
Oddometer: 259
Turn Signal Issue

Today I finally powered up my 1971 R60/5 for the first time since 1985. I am just completing a complete restoration and rewired the whole bike with new harnesses and some of my own wiring in the headlight. Everything is working, except I'm having an issue with the turn signals. Left signal works fine, but the right comes on and does not blink. I may be thinking wrong, but I assume the relay must be OK since one side is working. Could I have wired something wrong? Any ideas?

Thanks!
__________________
I might have been born yesterday, but I stayed up all night.
jam_nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 03:13 PM   #2
Bill Harris
Confirmed Curmudgeon
 
Bill Harris's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: backwoods Alabama
Oddometer: 7,269
Double-check the wiring again. Remember the "flow" with the turn signal circuit: the switched hot wire (Green-Blk) goes to the TSignal relay, which then goes to the turn signal switch on the handlebar (Green-Yellow) and then to the multi-terminal-strip with two wires (Blue-Blk and Blue-Red, R&L) and then to either the Right or Left signal lamps (same color coding).

--Bill


in RED: added the terminal strip confusion
__________________
'73 R60/5 Toaster
Luddite. Not just a philosophy, a way of life...

Bill Harris screwed with this post 04-08-2014 at 04:37 PM
Bill Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 03:55 PM   #3
Warin
Retired
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Oddometer: 1,937
Do all the globes come on on the right side?
Are the right side globe wattages correct?
Warin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 04:03 PM   #4
jam_nut OP
Back Road Explorer
 
jam_nut's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Hexi Hollow
Oddometer: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warin View Post
Do all the globes come on on the right side?
Are the right side globe wattages correct?
Yes, the globes both come on. Wattage is correct.
__________________
I might have been born yesterday, but I stayed up all night.
jam_nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 04:05 PM   #5
jam_nut OP
Back Road Explorer
 
jam_nut's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Hexi Hollow
Oddometer: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Harris View Post
Double-check the wiring again. Remember the "flow" with the turn signal circuit: the switched hot wire (Green-Blk) goes to the TSignal relay, which then goes to the turn signal switch on the handlebar (Green-Yellow) and then to either the Right or Left signal lamps (Blue-something).

--Bill
Thanks Bill. My gut tells me this is the issue. I have learned to dislike anything to do with the headlight. Hoping maybe something else.

Thanks
__________________
I might have been born yesterday, but I stayed up all night.
jam_nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 04:06 PM   #6
Jim K in PA
Studly Adventurer
 
Jim K in PA's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Pocono Mountains, PA
Oddometer: 907
I have this problem on my old dump truck. I have yet to fix it, but what is likely happening is that you have the power to the left signal routed correctly through the relay/blinker can, but the right side power is going directly to the lighting circuit, bypassing the relay/can. Check your connections at the relay and/or the switch.
__________________
Jim K in PA
1979 BMW R100T - Otto - Returned to the road - 5/12/11
1975 BMW R90S Hack - Olga - Olga's story - adopted 3/22/14
Viktor - Coming to a thread near you - eventually
Jim K in PA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 04:11 PM   #7
Warin
Retired
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Oddometer: 1,937
Quote:
Originally Posted by jam_nut View Post
Yes, the globes both come on. Wattage is correct.
Then what Bill and Jim said.
Warin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 04:39 PM   #8
Bill Harris
Confirmed Curmudgeon
 
Bill Harris's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: backwoods Alabama
Oddometer: 7,269
There may be no real answer to this-- it's all about going back and checking. I added something about the terminal strip in my post above. That is definitely one area where wires can get crossed!!

--Bill
__________________
'73 R60/5 Toaster
Luddite. Not just a philosophy, a way of life...
Bill Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 04:44 PM   #9
Olliew72
Adventurer
 
Olliew72's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Oddometer: 34
I had a similar issue after I rewired my 71 bike. I found that the lack of grounding wire to the front turn signals was the cause. I add a grounding wire to them and haven't had a problem since.

Good luck.
__________________
1970 BMW R75/5 (Came as a free box of parts)
Olliew72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 01:46 AM   #10
chasbmw
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Bath Uk
Oddometer: 2,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olliew72 View Post
I had a similar issue after I rewired my 71 bike. I found that the lack of grounding wire to the front turn signals was the cause. I add a grounding wire to them and haven't had a problem since.

Good luck.
+1

Bikes up around 1975 grounded the front turn signals through the aluminium boys and stalk. Fitting brown ground wires to these will help matters.
__________________
Charles
http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f1...ps6e61ae2e.jpg
R90s 1070 replica, R90/6, 1958 R50
1971 Commando Fastback
chasbmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 04:51 AM   #11
hardwaregrrl
ignore list
 
hardwaregrrl's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 7,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by chasbmw View Post
+1

Bikes up around 1975 grounded the front turn signals through the aluminium boys and stalk. Fitting brown ground wires to these will help matters.
+2 Had the same problem here on my '70 /5.
hardwaregrrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 06:04 PM   #12
jam_nut OP
Back Road Explorer
 
jam_nut's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Hexi Hollow
Oddometer: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by chasbmw View Post
+1

Bikes up around 1975 grounded the front turn signals through the aluminium boys and stalk. Fitting brown ground wires to these will help matters.
So where did you run the ground wire to? Back to the frame, or were you able to ground to the aluminum turn signal housings?
__________________
I might have been born yesterday, but I stayed up all night.
jam_nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 08:08 PM   #13
Warin
Retired
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Oddometer: 1,937
Quote:
Originally Posted by jam_nut View Post
So where did you run the ground wire to? Back to the frame, or were you able to ground to the aluminum turn signal housings?
Best back to the frame, but there will be a brown wire in the headlight somewheres. Don't use the turn signal housings as that is where the problem may lie.. as in lie to you that it is a good earth/ground.
Warin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 01:03 AM   #14
chasbmw
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Bath Uk
Oddometer: 2,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by jam_nut View Post
So where did you run the ground wire to? Back to the frame, or were you able to ground to the aluminum turn signal housings?
On my 90/6, I ran brown ground wires back into the headlamp and picked up a unused brown earthing tab on the connector board. The earthing wires take the same route as the power wires, it's a bit of a fiddle but not too bad. I'm not sure about /5s but the principal is the same.
__________________
Charles
http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f1...ps6e61ae2e.jpg
R90s 1070 replica, R90/6, 1958 R50
1971 Commando Fastback
chasbmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 04:50 AM   #15
Bill Harris
Confirmed Curmudgeon
 
Bill Harris's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: backwoods Alabama
Oddometer: 7,269
On the /5, on the left side of the headlight bucket next to the the turn signal flasher there should be some terminals for ground connections (tho I don't know if a '71 will have them). You'll also want to put a wire (brown color code) from those terminals up to the ground screw terminal on the switch board (the one with the brown main wiring harness wire). At ant rate, that screw terminal is where the new turnsignal ground wires should terminate.

--Bill
__________________
'73 R60/5 Toaster
Luddite. Not just a philosophy, a way of life...
Bill Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014