ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Fluff > Shiny things
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-18-2012, 08:43 PM   #1
ADVMindset OP
Americana Adventurer
 
ADVMindset's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Between here and there...
Oddometer: 1,137
AT&T U-Verse Internet , Who has it ?

Just got a call from AT&T telling us that we can get their U-Verse internet !
I'm not sure exactly how it works, so that's why I'm asking for input from anybody that might have it or knowledge of how it works.
We tried to get internet from AT&T several years ago and they said that is wasn't available. As far as I know they haven't installed any new cable/fiber optic in the area, so how can it be available all of the sudden ?
We do have AT&T for our home phone.
ADVMindset is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 09:13 PM   #2
a1fa
Riding Nomad™
 
a1fa's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Arkansas
Oddometer: 13,497
We have the fastest Intrawebs they have. Much faster than local cable co.... No complaints. Once in a while it will stutter a bit, but it can do 14Mbps... Expensive. No complaints so far.
__________________
Learn to ride. Ride to learn.
a1fa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 03:18 AM   #3
Garp
Beastly Adventurer
 
Garp's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Newtown, CT
Oddometer: 2,258
I install it, so I guess I should know how it works

In terms of technology, they run fiber to a local "VRAD" and from there to your home they use the existing phone infrastructure. Because of that there are limits to how far the signal can travel, the limit is 3000 feet for most installs but we can go up to 5000 feet by using two pairs of wires to carry the signal instead of one.

In terms of speed, what is available to you will depend on the distance you are from the VRAD, but speeds can go up to 24 MBps which is plenty for most people. have 18MBps at home and it is fine.

VRAD's just look like a large green box hanging on a phone pole, so unless you pay a lot of attention, you probably wouldn't notice if they had installed a new one close enough to service your area.
Garp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 05:09 AM   #4
MN_Smurf
Beastly Adventurer
 
MN_Smurf's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Oxford, MI
Oddometer: 2,156
I have 12Mbps service from them, and according to speedtest.net, I get everything I'm paying for.....but the phone box for the neighborhood is in my backyard, so I have an advantage.
__________________
'09 Kawi Versys
MN_Smurf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 05:42 AM   #5
Hodag
native
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Oddometer: 22,791
have had it for years
no issues
Hodag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 05:55 AM   #6
CodyY
ADVenture Capitalist
 
CodyY's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Oddometer: 9,481
i have the 12mb, it's all it's cracked up to be. Even in an apartment complex.

Their built-in 2wire wireless sucks, it drags down the speed by 1/3. I'm running a Netgear N300 off it for better range and speed.

The TV is nice too.
__________________
Not an ACTUAL motorcyclist
CodyY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 06:04 AM   #7
Snarky
Vodka Infused.
 
Snarky's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Old El Paso and Swamp Houston
Oddometer: 1,342
I've had it for about 2 or 3 years, in Houston, and now in El Paso. I have the 24 mbps service.

It's nothing ground breaking. You are still dealing with at&t and they are a shitty company to deal with at times.

HOWEVER. They are no where near as awful as TIme Warner or Cumblast (It's Comcastic! Is a negative descriptor of anything). I will say my TV probably works better than it ever did with Time Warner/Comcast's ancient throwaway boxes. At&t's customer Service actually seems care about issues, but the techs dont. But Time Warner/Comcast wont even lie to you that they care.

If you have a better cable company, like I've heard people had good experiences with Cox and what not, go with them. If you have the puss filled horrors of Comcast or Time Warner, go with at&t.

At&t Uverse / Verizon Fios
Pros:
Fiber optic inside your House/Apartment
Probably the fastest speeds outside of Google
Decent TV
Decent Hardware used (I disabled the built in wifi and attached a nice ASUS n-router set to access point mode, and use the 2wire for dhcp)
Usually not contractors, at&t employed techs
Customer Service has been good to be thus far (they called me the other day and asked if the service was working okay, and if i had any problems, they do this occassionally)
Almost no porn channels if you have kids

Cons:
Limit Service Areas
At&t techs can be be easily overwhelmed (took 2 weeks to finish my install)
Wireless 'Cable' boxes can be a bit sketchy at times
At&t Uverse customer service doesn't have any direct connection to at&t regional offices
If you can get Uverse, it might be your ONLY choice, two places I lived didn't offer cable
Almost no porn if you haven't discovered the damn internet

Comcast/TW:
Pros:
Can be cheaper with a service contract
Available almost everywhere at this point
You can get nicer new Motorola Cable boxes if you beg
Local commercials on your cable channels (I kind of like that)
Speeds are not THAT far off from Uverse
Lots of porn channels at which you can mock the titles and never watch because it's $12.50 for something free online.

Cons:
Shitty customer service, on the phone and in person
Shitty techs, almost always reject contractors
They'll try to stick you with equipment from 1998
Your fuckin neighbors can steal your cable and get you in trouble (had it happen), and worse: degrade your service
Fiber optic usually only to street
They are slow to advance their service in speeds and channels. (I got channels on Uverse I had never heard of before)
__________________
ALL ADDERS ARE PUFFS!
2012 BMW R1200 GSA, 2009 Kawasaki Versys (sold), 2001 Yamaha XT225 (sold)
PC Gamer? Support Star Citizen! Save PC Gaming and bring back Space Sims!
Pledge today! Service guarantees citizenship. @ http://www.robertsspaceindustries.com Thanks.
Snarky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 06:04 AM   #8
~DC~
An Internet Legend
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Oddometer: 464
Like anything else, I imagine your mileage can vary depending on location. I've had the 12mb uVerse package since August and am pleased with it. I only use the WiFi for my mobile devices and have no complaints about the 2Wire access point.
~DC~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 06:11 AM   #9
papalobster
With Gusto!
 
papalobster's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: FDL, WI
Oddometer: 12,646
I have the 12 Mbps and landline phone. I opted out of TV as I have an antenna and other than the odd Packer game, it's not on much.

I get what I pay for according to the net tests. The phone tech people I've had have been pretty good. I did the self install. It's not rocket science, it's phone wires.

I think I pay around $70 a month for internet and unlimited phone calls.
papalobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 06:14 AM   #10
a1fa
Riding Nomad™
 
a1fa's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Arkansas
Oddometer: 13,497
+1 on the 2wire crap. I only use it for a modem, and run my own gear. Their tv receiver is hooked to it, and and my firewall. The 2wire router will loose its firewall and dhcp lease settings once in a while and break my network...
__________________
Learn to ride. Ride to learn.
a1fa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 06:57 AM   #11
janeuner
Get Some
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Illinois
Oddometer: 1,093
Charter Communications
~$60/mo
30 Mbps down, 4Mbps up

I talked to AT&T's business guys when I moved in, and told them I would pay $100/mo for fiber. That was two years ago...I get a call from them every quarter now, trying to sell me U-Verse.

Them: Hi, we have a deal for you!
Me: What bandwidth can you promise?
Them: 12Mbps, and a home phone and TV with our best por....
Me: ...What about upstream bandwidth?
Them: Huh?
Me: Yeah FYYFF, go do your job and call back when you get a fucking clue.
__________________
'06 Suzuki Boulevard C50
'92 Suzuki GS500E (sold)
janeuner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 11:37 AM   #12
machinebuilder
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: East Tennessee
Oddometer: 995
[QUOTE=papalobster;20075587 I did the self install. It's not rocket science, it's phone wires.

[/QUOTE]


It's just phone wires

I recently had it installed, they had finally upgraded those roadside boxes and offered Uverse internet only.

Because I'm cheap and know how to hook up 2 wires for a phone jack, I did the self install.

After 11 days, and 130 min on the phone with AT&T, 7 hours waiting for techs (that never actually came to my house), they finally figured out the problem. When they put the new boxes in they never hooked up the wires to my house.

After it worked I will say I am happy with it, I'm paying for "up to 12mbs DOWNLOAD" and speed test and netflix show me at 11.X most of the time.

If AT&T and the union would start thinking about customer service again we'd all be happier.

AT&T was stupid enough to ask me a second time before it worked to fill out a customer service survey. The gentleman that called me in response to my very unfavorable answers was very nice, couldn't really do much for me but said "I am not allowed to tell you how high up the chain this is going".
__________________
the best thing to buy for your bike is gas.....Neduro
Remote is not found on the coffee table
machinebuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 11:54 AM   #13
a1fa
Riding Nomad™
 
a1fa's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Arkansas
Oddometer: 13,497
Quote:
Originally Posted by janeuner View Post
Charter Communications
~$60/mo
30 Mbps down, 4Mbps up

I talked to AT&T's business guys when I moved in, and told them I would pay $100/mo for fiber. That was two years ago...I get a call from them every quarter now, trying to sell me U-Verse.

Them: Hi, we have a deal for you!
Me: What bandwidth can you promise?
Them: 12Mbps, and a home phone and TV with our best por....
Me: ...What about upstream bandwidth?
Them: Huh?
Me: Yeah FYYFF, go do your job and call back when you get a fucking clue.
nice troll!
__________________
Learn to ride. Ride to learn.
a1fa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 12:48 PM   #14
JeffS77
cheap bastard
 
JeffS77's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Riverside , CA
Oddometer: 3,184
I am lucky if i can squeez 5mps download out of mine
JeffS77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 12:57 PM   #15
SourKraut
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: New England
Oddometer: 7,009
AT&T sucks to deal with. Badly. I think that the definition of Hell is having to deal with AT&T customer service.

Their equipment or "gateway" modem/wireless thingy has been replaced four times at my house and they won't send a tech to do it. Then you have to go to a ups store to ship it back to them.

Great when it's working but we have regular outages.
SourKraut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014