Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Ride reports
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-24-2012, 08:57 PM   #1
marshy19 OP
Georgia Clay

Oddometer: 18
San Franciso to Atlanta for Turkey Day on a KTM 690 (Gobble, Gobble!!)

Hello inmates,

That is me with my new KTM 690 in San Francisco. So now the story begins…

Far too many years I have said "should have, could have". So I was 41, newly divorced and not liking what was looking back at me in the mirror. As children we think of grand adventures. Rescue the princess from the castle and live happily ever after. We unfortunately the grind of life nearly ground me to nothing.

One of the adventures that I always wanted to take was riding a motorcycle to see the world. I started riding when I was nine. On my trusty XR80, I explored the hundreds of acres behind my house in Oklahoma. Great memories. I sold my last bike when I was 13 as my family moved to Texas.

Fast forward approximately 27 years. I finally bought another bike, an old beat up YZ 125. It didn’t matter, I felt like a kid again. The sound of a screaming two-stroke brought all the memories back.

Then divorce entered my life. Enough of that. It was tough and don't wish it on anybody. Again I was without a bike.

Some months ago I stumbled upon ADVrider.com. I started reading some inspiring stories. Some of my favorites:
- Many, many, many TAT ride stories
- Getting’ Dirty with the Wans: 8400 miles
- coast to coast (and back?) on an Italian Supermodel (thx AntiHero!)

Well i needed a bike and started looking for a new ride. For me at this point if my life it is a KTM 690. I found one. Only one little issue: logistics... It was located in San Francisco. I live in Atlanta, Georgia. Ship it? Nah. Keep looking.