User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-24-2012, 09:07 PM   #1
headtube OP
6 months of winter!

Oddometer: 248
Please enlighten me

I've been an Airhead owner (79 RS) for three months. After wrenching for the first two, I finally put 109 miles on her in three days. And with winter on my heels I'll be getting it ready for storage in December. So with very little experience, being a total novice I'm not qualified to make any accurate evaluations about vintage, collectibility, or rarity. Would someone please explain why this eBay sale fetched so much dinero?
headtube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 09:16 PM   #2
Donkey Hotey
De Jo Momma

Oddometer: 10,801
It's all in the description. Your bike isn't one of those.

R90S is an iconic bike from that period (even to non-BMW fanatics). It's got period correct accessories, looks to be in outstanding condition, etc, etc. It's all 'right.'

What is so puzzling about that?
Donkey Hotey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 09:21 PM   #3
bmwrench
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 2,019
R90Ses are being sold for more money than any other '70 on BMW. The R90S broke a lot of ground, with it's factory installed fairing and high performance. I think the US racing program helped drive home the point that BMWs could be sporty, even though many curent collectors are only peripherally aware of that.

I'm a little disapointed that the RSes aren't receiving the same attention, but that leaves them for the rest of us.
bmwrench is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 09:36 PM   #4
headtube OP
6 months of winter!

Oddometer: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmwrench View Post
I'm a little disapointed that the RSes aren't receiving the same attention
Agreed. Simply because of the fairing design.