Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool > Airheads
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-26-2012, 06:19 AM   #1
CaptDanimal OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 36
My R80RT CAFE after 13months of wrenching.

So its my first time posting on this forum . (or any other forum for that matter) Had I discovered this garage full of Air headers a year ago I doubt highly that rebuilding this bike would have taken me so long. I wouldn't say that I will ever be done wrenching on her but this is where I'm at. This is my first bike build- I've gotten all my garage know how from my dad rebuilding VW bugs so suggestions on any improvements are encouraged and will be highly appreciated. Also if anyone who loves these Airheads or Cafe's for that matter lives anywhere near Daytona Beach Florida give me a shout and lets RIDE,

This bike used to belong to my grandfather in its RT days, at 67 years old he rode it from Guatemala to Alaska and back again with 2 of his buddies, living on the side of the road, drinking and eating out of folding cups. the stories he's told me of that trip were so amazing that I ended up begging him for the bike. He's 88 now, still rides almost everyday but prefers a much lighter bike. He knew I was going to make some changes but neither of us knew how far I'd take it. He took it for a test ride last month and came back a half hour later with the biggest grin I've seen on anyone by far.

I'm currently looking for advice on achieving higher top end at lower revs as I have plenty of power (I've got no previous experience with gear boxes so this might make for and interesting thread, better front brakes and advice on how to stiffen up the front suspension., ohyah,, Im also not running a speedo, ((I just do the math in my head officer)).. is this even legal?

CaptDanimal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 07:12 AM   #2
Beater
Mighty Unclean

Oddometer: 3,170
Well done! The paint is fantastic!!