Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-28-2012, 03:59 AM   #1
Macnab OP
F650GS Dakar

Oddometer: 5
Eek Trip in South Africa

Hey guys

im new to the site but have been really enjoying it so far.
im looking for some advice on a trip that i am planning.
i intend to travel from Johannesburg (where i live) to western Lesotho, exit the bourder on Southern side, travel to Durban and then travel along or near the coast in a Western direction untill reaching Cape Town. At that point id like to head North till reaching Swakkop in Namibia where i have family. from there i will head through Botswana and head home.
I would be very grateful for any suggestions on any routes.
Technical difficulty is not a problem as my mates i have been riding for many years and have a lot of experience in enduro riding.
The origional plan is to just go with a one other person, but more may want to come along, but that shouldnt be a problem.
Maps have been bought and routes have begun to take shape. Kit is all at the ready (but suggestions will obviosly be accepted) and the bike is always being worked on. (BMW F650GS Dakar)

i look forward to any replies.

Regards
Macnab
Macnab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 12:30 PM   #2
Mark Manley
On my way

Oddometer: 652
I can recommend the more westerly gravel road route up through Namibia, it takes in the Fish river canyon, Luderitz, sossusvlei and up to Walvis bay and Swakopmund, a great ride.

"You've got to think for yourselves! You're all individuals!"-Brian of Nazareth
Mark Manley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 01:35 PM   #3
RTLover
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 3,487
SWMBO and I spent about three weeks in Namibia and Botswana a couple of years ago and loved every minute of it.