ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool > Airheads
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-03-2013, 10:52 AM   #1
turbojugend208 OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: denver
Oddometer: 101
Bing carb vacuum?

i did a complete rebuild on my r100/7 bing carbs plus new cables. I got the bike running but cant really do a 1/2 hour ride to properly warm the bike for fine tuning because my tank and other stuff is out to paint. So i'm trying to tune it enough to where when i get said tank back from paint i can take it out and ride it for a good 30 min. Anywho even though i'm not ready for final tuning, I hooked up the carbtune pro just to see what was going on... and the left carb has no vacuum pull, or at least not enough to register on the stix. i'm thinkink the vacuum port may be plugged but was wundering if anyone else has come accross this? Any help is appreciated.
turbojugend208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 12:01 PM   #2
190e
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Oddometer: 491
You don't need to do a vacuum balance. You can get a good mechanical balance in 2 mins giving basic settings that will run just fine for the purpose of a warm up run..

Here's what I do.

Turn out the throttle stop screws until the throttle discs are fully closed then turn them in again until they are just touching the operating lever.

Adjust the throttle cables so that there is zero free play .

Turn in the throttle stop screws by exactly equal amounts. 3/4 of a turn is more than enough on my carbs.

These settings should give you a reasonably good idle balance and turning in the throttle stops will have put equal amounts of free play in the cables.

Mixture screws should be put at the base setting for your carb as follows:-
1/2 turn

64/28/201, 64/28/202, 64/28/301, 64/28/302, 64/28/303, 64/28/304, 64/32/203, 64/32/204, 64/32/307, 64/32/308, 64/32/347, 64/32/348, 64/32/201 (US), 64/32/202 (US), 64/32/223, 64/32/224, 94/40/107, 94/40/108


3/4 turn

64/32/305 (UK), 64/32/306 (UK), 64/32/321, 64/32/322, 64/32/325, 64/32/326, 64/32/335, 64/32/336, 64/32/349, 64/32/350, 64/32/351, 64/32/352, 64/32/353, 64/32/354, 64/32/357, 64/32/358


1/2 - 1 turn

64/32/9, 64/32/10, 64/32/11, 64/32/12, 64/32/13, 64/32/14, 64/32/201 (UK), 64/32/202 (UK)


1 turn

64/32/19, 64/32/20, 94/40/109, 94/40/110, 94/40/113, 94/40/114


1 - 1 1/4 turn

94/40/103, 94/40/104, 94/40/105, 94/40/106, 94/40/111, 94/40/112
190e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 07:12 PM   #3
turbojugend208 OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: denver
Oddometer: 101
that worked quite well thanks.
after that i could not resist hooking up the carbtune pro again, and weird the carbs were pretty close to balanced but would not register much vacuum unless i held the so called carbtune pro upside down...
good enough for now i reckon, can't wait for tins to come back from paint.
as said by toms petty, the waiting is the hardest part
turbojugend208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 08:36 PM   #4
Plaka
Brevis illi vita est
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Oddometer: 4,585
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbojugend208 View Post
i did a complete rebuild on my r100/7 bing carbs plus new cables. I got the bike running but cant really do a 1/2 hour ride to properly warm the bike for fine tuning because my tank and other stuff is out to paint. So i'm trying to tune it enough to where when i get said tank back from paint i can take it out and ride it for a good 30 min. Anywho even though i'm not ready for final tuning, I hooked up the carbtune pro just to see what was going on... and the left carb has no vacuum pull, or at least not enough to register on the stix. i'm thinkink the vacuum port may be plugged but was wundering if anyone else has come accross this? Any help is appreciated.
I put small capscrews in the vacuum ports with some strong locktite. Solved the problem.
Plaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 09:45 PM   #5
east high
Studly Adventurer
 
east high's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Portland, Oregon
Oddometer: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbojugend208 View Post
would not register much vacuum unless i held the so called carbtune pro upside down...
Carbtube needs to be upside down to work on airheads. That's what the manual says anyway.
__________________
'71 r75/5
east high is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014