ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-06-2014, 08:46 AM   #1
BKFoster OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Oddometer: 164
Here I sit broken hearted.....

Sunday morning...beautiful day....can't ride.

I just serviced the GS last week. Fitted some nifty AF-XIED devices and they seemed to be working as advertised. Today was going to be my first ride of any distance with these.

Got up today, had my joe, got geared up and was ready to leave before the sun was peeking over the horizon. I pushed the bike out to the street and started it. Grabbed first and no throttle...nothing. Broken cable?! It was fine yesterday. WTF?

Pushed it back inside. Gloves, helmet, jacket off. Maybe it was something simple. Fat fuckin' chance.

I started at the bar, pulled the control, cable's fine. Bowden box/cables? I start pulling panels and everything looks intact but the L/R cables seem loose. Something's really wrong. Take the tank off....of course it's full (Adventure tank). Open the box and everything still looks fine, albeit loose.

Looking back it all makes sense. Yesterday after a fine carne asada meal the B-I-L and I were sitting in the garage shooting the shit and his 13 year old son comes out to escape all the women folk. He wants to sit on the bike so I say okay, it's all good. What can he fuck up? After all I am sitting 3 feet away.

Now I know what he can fuck up. After tracing the cables from the grip the the throttle bodies this is what I found.



Both cable cams(?) snapped off. The little shit must've put the TPS to 149%. FUCK! Lesson learned for me.

Anybody know if these are available separately or do I get to buy 2 new throttle bodies?



FML
BKFoster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 08:51 AM   #2
VonHelm
soggy doggy
 
VonHelm's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Grapevine, TX
Oddometer: 3,964
I didn't know that was even possible!
__________________
http://www.oilandpiston.com/
Well he’s one of those who knows that life
Is just a leap of faith
Spread your arms and hold you breath
And always trust your cape (Guy Clark)
VonHelm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 08:55 AM   #3
BKFoster OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Oddometer: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonHelm View Post
I didn't know that was even possible!
Oh it's possible unfortunately.
BKFoster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 09:15 AM   #4
GS Addict
Pepperfool
 
GS Addict's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Sunshine Coast B.C.
Oddometer: 3,412
Checked the Max fiche and they do not show as a separate part.
Cynoacrylate (aka crazy glue) will do a temporary repair.
Get the gap filling stuff that the model airplane shops sell
Loctite also sells it but its more $

FYI: I have 2 sets of complete throttle bodies in VG condition if you wish to go that way.
PM me if you are interested.

EDIT: Just looked at the part - it is swaged to the throttle body shaft and not replaceable
__________________
Old enough to know better....
Young enough to try it again

GS Addict screwed with this post 04-06-2014 at 09:39 AM
GS Addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 09:45 AM   #5
cele0001
Instigator
 
cele0001's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2014
Location: Jacksonville, FL USA
Oddometer: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by GS Addict View Post
FYI: I have 2 sets of complete throttle bodies in VG condition if you wish to go that way.
Not surprised.
__________________
I want to be unique, just like everybody else.
WORN INPUT SPLINES CLUTCH HUB SPACER R1150XX
http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=964425
cele0001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 10:18 AM   #6
BKFoster OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Oddometer: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by GS Addict View Post
Checked the Max fiche and they do not show as a separate part.
Yeah I couldn't find it either.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GS Addict View Post
FYI: I have 2 sets of complete throttle bodies in VG condition if you wish to go that way.
PM me if you are interested.
I may take you up on that. PM forthcoming.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GS Addict View Post
EDIT: Just looked at the part - it is swaged to the throttle body shaft and not replaceable
I agree. It looks like it is part of the shaft assembly at the very least. Maybe part of some rebuild kit.

BKFoster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 10:34 AM   #7
trc.rhubarb
Beastly Adventurer
 
trc.rhubarb's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Concord, CA
Oddometer: 1,873
Are you sure this is his fault?
admittedly, I've not dug into that part of the bike yet but it seems like the throttle cables were maybe adjusted a bit short. I've done this back when I was a teenager on a car and broke the arm off a carb. Seems you should run out of throttle turn at the same time you run into the stops.

Or are you thinking he did it by kicking them? I let all the neighborhood kids sit on the FI bikes and play... not the R90 though because it will flood. Never had anything but a new scratch to buff out.... someday I'll get to buffing out those scratches
__________________
2007 BMW GS Adventure
2000 Ducati 900ss
2010 Harley Ultra Limited
1975 BMW R90/6
Follow me here
trc.rhubarb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 10:58 AM   #8
BKFoster OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Oddometer: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by trc.rhubarb View Post
Are you sure this is his fault?
admittedly, I've not dug into that part of the bike yet but it seems like the throttle cables were maybe adjusted a bit short. I've done this back when I was a teenager on a car and broke the arm off a carb. Seems you should run out of throttle turn at the same time you run into the stops.

Or are you thinking he did it by kicking them? I let all the neighborhood kids sit on the FI bikes and play... not the R90 though because it will flood. Never had anything but a new scratch to buff out.... someday I'll get to buffing out those scratches
I didn't see him actually break them but it was fine earlier in the day when I rode it. They are inboard of the TBs so he couldn't have kicked them. I have 65,000 miles on the bike and have never had an issue with them before.

Yeah, I think he broke them. I won't mention to his dad because his dad didn't want him to sit on the bike but I said it was okay. I might tell the boy about the perils of forcing anything mechanical but I'm not going to make a big deal of it. I learned a lesson.
BKFoster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 11:57 AM   #9
ausfahrt
mach schnell
 
ausfahrt's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Fl & Vt
Oddometer: 1,689
Quote:
Originally Posted by BKFoster View Post
Yeah, I think he broke them. I won't mention to his dad because his dad didn't want him to sit on the bike but I said it was okay. I might tell the boy about the perils of forcing anything mechanical but I'm not going to make a big deal of it. I learned a lesson.

Well played. You'll be paid back in karma dollars.
__________________
******

You can always count on the Americans to do the right thing, after they have tried everything else.
-Winston Churchill
ausfahrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 11:58 AM   #10
mda185
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2014
Location: Central NJ
Oddometer: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BKFoster View Post
I didn't see him actually break them but it was fine earlier in the day when I rode it. They are inboard of the TBs so he couldn't have kicked them. I have 65,000 miles on the bike and have never had an issue with them before.

Yeah, I think he broke them. I won't mention to his dad because his dad didn't want him to sit on the bike but I said it was okay. I might tell the boy about the perils of forcing anything mechanical but I'm not going to make a big deal of it. I learned a lesson.
Wow, you are a better man than I am. I have two kids and I let them sit on my bike and I am not sure I would control my temper so well if that happened. Definitely try to have a calm talk with him about mechanical sympathy. Otherwise, he may do something similar to someone else down the road. Hopefully, he is still at an age where lessons learned mean something.
mda185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 02:31 PM   #11
klondike1
Nobody in particular
 
klondike1's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by GS Addict View Post
Checked the Max fiche and they do not show as a separate part.
Cynoacrylate (aka crazy glue) will do a temporary repair.
Get the gap filling stuff that the model airplane shops sell
Loctite also sells it but its more $

FYI: I have 2 sets of complete throttle bodies in VG condition if you wish to go that way.
PM me if you are interested.

EDIT: Just looked at the part - it is swaged to the throttle body shaft and not replaceable
Point to note. If there are gaps you need to fill use baking soda and the CA glue. Will fill and make it strong. I used to do the RC planes and it works well. Not as good as new parts mind you.
__________________
If you don't know where you're going
any road will get you there!
2009 BMW R1200GSA(Grey Boy)
2007 BMW F800ST(Blue Boy)
www.danieljenkins.ca
klondike1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 02:54 PM   #12
BKFoster OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Oddometer: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by klondike1 View Post
Point to note. If there are gaps you need to fill use baking soda and the CA glue. Will fill and make it strong. I used to do the RC planes and it works well. Not as good as new parts mind you.
You know they look like they could probably be glued back together but they would be on my mind every time I took a ride. And how would I explain that away if I ever sold it?

Nah, I can't do that. I picked up a used set for a pretty fair price I think. I'll put them on, try and figure out the cable adjustment (I have never has to adjust them since new) and move on.

I will just keep putting pins in the nephew doll for the rest of the day and tomorrow will be better.
BKFoster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 03:44 PM   #13
Andrew
Optimus Primer
 
Andrew's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2001
Location: Eastbania
Oddometer: 14,900
Quote:
Originally Posted by BKFoster View Post
Sunday morning... beautiful day... can't ride.

I just serviced the GS last week. Fitted some nifty AF-XIED devices and they seemed to be working as advertised. Today was going to be my first ride of any distance with these.

Got up today, had my joe, got geared up and was ready to leave before the sun was peeking over the horizon. I pushed the bike out to the street and started it. Grabbed first and no throttle... nothing. Broken cable?! It was fine yesterday. WTF?
Sorry to hear that, and I hope things turn out. For what it's worth, my 2000 GS with IICE AIR has never shown that problem, despite my niece's and nephew's best efforts.

__________________
Splitting lanes, and splitting hairs.
Andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 04:51 PM   #14
bemiiten
League of Adventures
 
bemiiten's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Hamilton NJ.
Oddometer: 4,809
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew View Post
Sorry to hear that, and I hope things turn out. For what it's worth, my 2000 GS with IICE AIR has never shown that problem, despite my niece's and nephew's best efforts.

The cable pulleys are made of steel on the 1150.
bemiiten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 05:19 PM   #15
BKFoster OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Oddometer: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by bemiiten View Post
The cable pulleys are made of steel on the 1150.
Yeah, but they're lighter on the 1200.
BKFoster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014