ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-01-2013, 10:34 AM   #91
Norhasken
Tryin' to find my way
 
Norhasken's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: On the couch
Oddometer: 18,228
To calibrate with GS 911 the fuel strip has to be completely dry.
__________________
"Life isn't much, but there's nothing else to do, La Dolce Vita"
Norhasken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 03:19 PM   #92
Out of Range
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Richmond
Oddometer: 85
Grill Igniter

After reading all the post on using the grill igniter I sent the link to a buddy. It was amazing he was reading the same post when he received my email. His fuel gauge strip has been out for over three years. He immediately went to Lowes and bought an igniter. 20 minutes after returning home he sent me a photo of his fuel gauge working for the first time in a long time. He took the bike for a ride returned home and found the DTE was reading 343 miles to empty. At that time I was standing in his driveway waiting for him to return. That was one happy ADV member. So FYYFF.
Thank you to who ever it was that figured this out and shared with the group
Out of Range is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 07:46 PM   #93
droffsite
n00b
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Oddometer: 3
Worked a charm

My 2009 GS strip gave up the ghost some time last summer. I decided to check this morning to see if anyone had a float conversion and found this thread.

I topped off my tank, pulled the grill ignitor from my potato gun, pushed the 2 leads up against the pins (the alligator clips I had were too big to fit properly) and started clicking. After 6 clicks I had 7.6K ohms. I gave it 3 more and got to 2.6K ohms. 3 more clicks didn't change the resistance, so I left it there.

The fuel gauge came back to life roughly 30 seconds after I started the bike, showing 93 miles range. I rode it down the driveway and back (about .3 miles): no change in range. I'll ride in to work tomorrow and see what happens.

Many thanks to the intrepid (and smarter than I) souls who figured this out!
droffsite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 06:02 AM   #94
cjack
Studly Adventurer
 
cjack's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Illinois
Oddometer: 854
Quote:
Originally Posted by droffsite View Post
My 2009 GS strip gave up the ghost some time last summer. I decided to check this morning to see if anyone had a float conversion and found this thread.

I topped off my tank, pulled the grill ignitor from my potato gun, pushed the 2 leads up against the pins (the alligator clips I had were too big to fit properly) and started clicking. After 6 clicks I had 7.6K ohms. I gave it 3 more and got to 2.6K ohms. 3 more clicks didn't change the resistance, so I left it there.

The fuel gauge came back to life roughly 30 seconds after I started the bike, showing 93 miles range. I rode it down the driveway and back (about .3 miles): no change in range. I'll ride in to work tomorrow and see what happens.

Many thanks to the intrepid (and smarter than I) souls who figured this out!
Great. 2.6K is in the correct range of new. I think the last two new ones I bought are a bit over 2.5K each. I have seen them measure new from about 2.4K to 2.6K.
__________________
My other bike is a BMW
Jack
RA & MOA #224
cjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 06:29 AM   #95
droffsite
n00b
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Oddometer: 3
Ride to work update

I rode roughly 25 miles to work this morning. The range moved up slowly from 93 to 152 miles; the bars didn't drop. I've been getting about 41 MPG, so I'm guessing (hoping) I'm just a couple more miles from the first bar going out.

I hate hyperbole, but this just might be the greatest fix ever. Telling the story is fun, especially when I get to the "my wife said 'you're not going to do that in the garage, are you'" part. Many thanks again!
droffsite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 06:31 AM   #96
Cataract2
Where to?
 
Cataract2's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: N. Charleston, SC
Oddometer: 1,391
Since I'm probably nuts, I'm looking at possibly getting a R1200GS as a graduation gift (after getting a job) for myself with my EE degree next year. I was wondering, is this same fuel strip used in the 2013+ WC GS as the earlier ones?
__________________
People who get made because they're old, haven't lived.
Cataract2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 06:39 AM   #97
wonderings
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Oddometer: 924
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cataract2 View Post
Since I'm probably nuts, I'm looking at possibly getting a R1200GS as a graduation gift (after getting a job) for myself with my EE degree next year. I was wondering, is this same fuel strip used in the 2013+ WC GS as the earlier ones?
From my understanding they went back to a more traditional method mid 2010 and the new LC GS's do not have a fuel strip at all.

Its a really annoying little problem that I wish they could figure out a permanent fix for. Even with a new one in my GSA I never trust it.
__________________
“If you are neutral in situations of injustice, you have chosen the side of the oppressor. If an elephant has its foot on the tail of a mouse
and you say that you are neutral, the mouse will not appreciate your
neutrality.” Bishop Desmond Tutu
2010 GSA
wonderings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 06:46 AM   #98
mikegc
Beastly Adventurer
 
mikegc's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: High Point, NC
Oddometer: 1,499
Fuel strip fix?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wonderings View Post
From my understanding they went back to a more traditional method mid 2010 and the new LC GS's do not have a fuel strip at all.

Its a really annoying little problem that I wish they could figure out a permanent fix for. Even with a new one in my GSA I never trust it.
You are correct, sir. I had an '09 GSA and am very familiar with the "zapping" technique. While you guys have the panels off of the tank, please check your quick release couplings and the flange for cracks. BMW is/has issued a recall of '08s and '09s because of the suspected ethanol problem.

Mike
__________________
IBA 25881


Duty- Honoring a Friend
mikegc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 08:21 AM   #99
arrcrussell
Gimme Dirt
 
arrcrussell's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: NE OH, USA
Oddometer: 535
For all you who "zapped" your fuel strips to get them "working" - are they accurate? I zapped mine a few weeks ago and after 2 tank fill ups, the warning light is still out, the gauge shows full when I fill it but it will not drop below 1/2 as I ride. Have any of you needed to recalibrate the strip after "zapping"?

arrcrussell screwed with this post 04-03-2014 at 03:10 AM
arrcrussell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 09:11 AM   #100
Beecher Snipes
Fool
 
Beecher Snipes's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: Mount Vernon, WA
Oddometer: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cataract2 View Post
Since I'm probably nuts, I'm looking at possibly getting a R1200GS as a graduation gift (after getting a job) for myself with my EE degree next year. I was wondering, is this same fuel strip used in the 2013+ WC GS as the earlier ones?
The 2013+ bikes use a float not a strip, and are amazingly accurate.
Beecher Snipes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 11:50 AM   #101
Cataract2
Where to?
 
Cataract2's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: N. Charleston, SC
Oddometer: 1,391
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beecher Snipes View Post
The 2013+ bikes use a float not a strip, and are amazingly accurate.
Good to know. Thanks for the info. Now to just see if they changed (updated) the final drive.
__________________
People who get made because they're old, haven't lived.
Cataract2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 08:22 AM   #102
droffsite
n00b
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Oddometer: 3
One tank down after zapping

Finally killed off my first tank yesterday. The range counter went from being extremely optimistic to more realistic over the course of the tank. I rode about 25 miles at a time between restarts; there did seem to be some degree of recalibrating that happened each time I got back on the bike.

After the refill, the range and gauge both seem to be working correctly.
droffsite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014