ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-04-2012, 02:30 PM   #1
BigDave75 OP
Will Work for Food!
 
BigDave75's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: God's Country
Oddometer: 1,715
Power Commander V

Has anyone installed the new Dynojet PC 5 on their GS???

Was it dyno tuned or are you using the provided map?

How noticeable is the difference in throttle response???

Thanks,

Dave
__________________
Rangers Lead the Way, Hooah!

BigDave75 screwed with this post 12-04-2012 at 02:51 PM
BigDave75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 04:54 PM   #2
oalvarez
Resident Raggamuffin
 
oalvarez's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: CA HWY 2
Oddometer: 2,341
I had one installed (along with an Auto Tune) by one of the area's best tuners, Mickey Cohen. He used a dyno to tune it. The bike was equipped with a Remus end pipe and Akro headers. How did the fueling feel afterwards? Let's just say that a gentleman friend of mine who had owned a multitude of boxer motors in his time thought it was the smoothest running boxer he had ever ridden. Not the least expensive of mods especially when you factor in the labor costs.

I'll leave it at that.
__________________
2012 Vespa 300 Super
past: Ducatis, Aprilias, Moto Guzzis, a Husky, and some BMWs as well.
oalvarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 05:00 PM   #3
Mr. Magoo
Follow me; I'm lost!
 
Mr. Magoo's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Central NC
Oddometer: 4,931
I have a dyno tuned PCV on my modded HP2. The bike's a real hotrod! My mods required mapping.
Mr. Magoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 05:14 PM   #4
BigDave75 OP
Will Work for Food!
 
BigDave75's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: God's Country
Oddometer: 1,715
Nice, thanks Guys, sounds like my next mod!
__________________
Rangers Lead the Way, Hooah!
BigDave75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 06:37 PM   #5
roger 04 rt
Beastly Adventurer
 
roger 04 rt's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Oddometer: 1,933
Hey Dave, As part of my decision to add Wideband O2 I took a pretty good look at all the Powercommanders.

The PCV has lots of good stuff, including the Autotune option, which allows a non-dyno learning of the amount of mixture adjustment needed to hit a target AFR. You can get either one or two channels (big $). Autotune isn't a free lunch though, you have to pay close attention to the factors it comes up with.

The biggest issue with the PCV is that it disables Closed Loop operation and the powerful Adaptation Values function of the BMS-K. Adaptation is what allows the BMS-K to constantly monitor the exhaust and adapt to things like, battery voltage, fuel pressure, air temp errors, barometric pressure errors, air flow restrictions, cylinder filling deviations, etc.

You could but two Innovate Motorsports LC-1s and maintain the full BMS-K operation. They cost about $160 each, including a gauge and Wideband O2 Sensors. I think you would be impressed by the improvement, i have been. RB
roger 04 rt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 10:12 AM   #6
DSTEVENS
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: The land of Buzzards and Border Patrols
Oddometer: 311
While you guys are at it, I want a full system on my 13GSA, my salesman told me that putting a full Akrapovic exhaust (cat delete) installed at dealer would NOT void the 5 years i have on warranty, and they could remap the GSs computer. No need for power commander. Does that sound right to you? Thank you. D.
DSTEVENS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 11:26 AM   #7
BigDave75 OP
Will Work for Food!
 
BigDave75's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: God's Country
Oddometer: 1,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSTEVENS View Post
While you guys are at it, I want a full system on my 13GSA, my salesman told me that putting a full Akrapovic exhaust (cat delete) installed at dealer would NOT void the 5 years i have on warranty, and they could remap the GSs computer. No need for power commander. Does that sound right to you? Thank you. D.

I have the full akro system (with no cat) getting installed this weekend with the K&N filter so I'll ask the dealer about that remap??? No sure if it is possible but that would save a lot of money on the PC V and the mapping. I must say though, that all the bikes I have had mapped on the dyno previously were night and day over the stock map or the map that was supplied by dyno jet with the power commander.
__________________
Rangers Lead the Way, Hooah!
BigDave75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 12:29 PM   #8
DSTEVENS
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: The land of Buzzards and Border Patrols
Oddometer: 311
Hey BigDave, do you know about warranty with Akra system? I bought 2 years extra so I wont worry too much about things going wrong, but I dont want to void warranty. I love the sound clips of the full Akra. Thanks D.
DSTEVENS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 01:38 PM   #9
oalvarez
Resident Raggamuffin
 
oalvarez's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: CA HWY 2
Oddometer: 2,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDave75 View Post
I have the full akro system (with no cat) getting installed this weekend with the K&N filter so I'll ask the dealer about that remap??? No sure if it is possible but that would save a lot of money on the PC V and the mapping. I must say though, that all the bikes I have had mapped on the dyno previously were night and day over the stock map or the map that was supplied by dyno jet with the power commander.
i'd be surprised if the dealer didn't charge commensurately for a re-mapped ECU, and you'd hope that it was mapped in relation with the full Akra system. i agree, dyno tuning a PCV offers super results.

ohlins and pcv/at on a GS/A makes for an incredible ride
__________________
2012 Vespa 300 Super
past: Ducatis, Aprilias, Moto Guzzis, a Husky, and some BMWs as well.
oalvarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 02:16 PM   #10
roger 04 rt
Beastly Adventurer
 
roger 04 rt's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Oddometer: 1,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by oalvarez View Post
i'd be surprised if the dealer didn't charge commensurately for a re-mapped ECU, and you'd hope that it was mapped in relation with the full Akra system. i agree, dyno tuning a PCV offers super results.

ohlins and pcv/at on a GS/A makes for an incredible ride
I just want to check something: Don't both your O2 sensor inputs to the BMS-K end up getting disconnected when you install the PC-V?
roger 04 rt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 02:54 PM   #11
BigDave75 OP
Will Work for Food!
 
BigDave75's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: God's Country
Oddometer: 1,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSTEVENS View Post
Hey BigDave, do you know about warranty with Akra system? I bought 2 years extra so I wont worry too much about things going wrong, but I dont want to void warranty. I love the sound clips of the full Akra. Thanks D.

They said it wouldnt effect the warranty, I bought the four year extended warranty so I wanted to make sure.
__________________
Rangers Lead the Way, Hooah!
BigDave75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 02:56 PM   #12
BigDave75 OP
Will Work for Food!
 
BigDave75's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: God's Country
Oddometer: 1,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by roger 04 rt View Post
I just want to check something: Don't both your O2 sensor inputs to the BMS-K end up getting disconnected when you install the PC-V?

Good question Roger.
__________________
Rangers Lead the Way, Hooah!
BigDave75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 03:39 PM   #13
oalvarez
Resident Raggamuffin
 
oalvarez's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: CA HWY 2
Oddometer: 2,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by roger 04 rt View Post
I just want to check something: Don't both your O2 sensor inputs to the BMS-K end up getting disconnected when you install the PC-V?
i believe both sensors were removed/replaced via the AT300.....again, i had a professional tuner (many, many years in the business) handle the installation and i no longer own the moto.
__________________
2012 Vespa 300 Super
past: Ducatis, Aprilias, Moto Guzzis, a Husky, and some BMWs as well.
oalvarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 05:13 PM   #14
EScott
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Denver CO
Oddometer: 47
Not to hijack this interesting thread, but has anyone here tried the Rexxer setup for the GS? Looks pretty clean to me, but I haven't heard much about it... Perhaps less "intrusive" than the PCV setup?

http://www.rexxer.eu/e_index.cfm
EScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 07:10 PM   #15
BigDave75 OP
Will Work for Food!
 
BigDave75's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: God's Country
Oddometer: 1,715
I have never heard of them.
__________________
Rangers Lead the Way, Hooah!
BigDave75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014