ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Mapping & Navigation
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 12-09-2014, 06:58 PM   #1
Yamezz OP
Suffers from MBS
 
Yamezz's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: South Australia
Oddometer: 182
Display large GPX or KML in Google Maps

Guys, I have a track file from a 5,000km ride I did recently that I'd like to display in Google Maps. My problem seems to be the size of the files. The GPX file is 14MB and the KML version is 29MB. Google maps seems to have a 5MB limit, and other web-based tools seem to have an even smaller limit.

What can I do?
__________________
Grammar... The difference between knowing your shit, and knowing you're shit.
Yamezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 08:15 PM   #2
worwig
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Hog Mountain
Oddometer: 1,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamezz View Post
Guys, I have a track file from a 5,000km ride I did recently that I'd like to display in Google Maps. My problem seems to be the size of the files. The GPX file is 14MB and the KML version is 29MB. Google maps seems to have a 5MB limit, and other web-based tools seem to have an even smaller limit.

What can I do?
What generated such huge files?

I'm thinking that you may need to open them in an editor and split them up manually.
__________________
Hog mountain Weather
worwig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 08:20 PM   #3
Yamezz OP
Suffers from MBS
 
Yamezz's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: South Australia
Oddometer: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by worwig View Post
What generated such huge files?
The GPS did I guess. I had my GPSMap 62s running for 2 weeks/5,000km. It does seem to have split it up somewhat, but when combined into one continuous track it becomes large.
__________________
Grammar... The difference between knowing your shit, and knowing you're shit.

Yamezz screwed with this post 12-09-2014 at 08:33 PM Reason: lost a word
Yamezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 08:29 PM   #4
worwig
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Hog Mountain
Oddometer: 1,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamezz View Post
The GPS did I guess. I had my GPSMap 62s running for 2 weeks/5,000km. It does seem to have it up somewhat, but when combined into one continuous track it becomes large.
Well if you have a Garmin, one or both tools, Mapsource and/or Basecamp, will trim a GPX file down. I have done it before, and I thought sure I used Basecamp.

I did a 5000 miles trip this summer and had a file that was just over 2MB. Basecamp (I thought) trimmed it down to 200kB. Much more manageable.

I'm sure that I used Mapsource. I looked at Basecamp, but I have no idea if it will do it or not.
Another option might be GPSvisualizer:
http://www.gpsvisualizer.com/tutoria...k_filters.html
__________________
Hog mountain Weather

worwig screwed with this post 12-09-2014 at 08:48 PM
worwig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 03:33 AM   #5
Yamezz OP
Suffers from MBS
 
Yamezz's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: South Australia
Oddometer: 182
How do you trim it down without losing detail?
__________________
Grammar... The difference between knowing your shit, and knowing you're shit.
Yamezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 05:05 AM   #6
Grinnin
Forever N00b
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Maine
Oddometer: 2,945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamezz View Post
How do you trim it down without losing detail?
The program GpsPrune has a "compress track" feature that lets you specify what you want removed. You can remove duplicate points or nearby points where you specify how near. The option that compresses the most is the Douglass-Peucker algorithm which tries to plot the same curve with fewer points. If you ask it to remove too much you'll lose accuracy but I've been able to take out nearly half the points in a track without distortion. The algorithm definitely preserves points at major turns and sharp curves.

I use GpsPrune because it works on Linux (as well as other OSs). I have to believe that the tools in other programs work similarly.
__________________
"The belief that there is only one truth, and that oneself is in possession of it, is the root of all evil in the world."-- Max Born, Nobel Physicist
Grinnin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 07:07 AM   #7
worwig
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Hog Mountain
Oddometer: 1,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamezz View Post
How do you trim it down without losing detail?
The Mapsource one trimmed out a lot of garbage. Like when you travel in a straight line on a highway for a few hours, you don't need that to have 2000 points, when 20 points can define it. When you have curves and speed changes, that is what it keep.
__________________
Hog mountain Weather
worwig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 08:48 AM   #8
adi.barda
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Petah Tikva Israel
Oddometer: 63
You can load the big GPX file in AdvRider WD application and then save (export) the loaded track as GPX. the saved file will be much smaller.

Download the app from here: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...g_client&hl=en

User manual from here: https://bitbucket.org/abware/maps/do...-UserGuide.pdf

On page 15, you can find detailed explanation how to complete your task

Cheers!
Adi
adi.barda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 09:20 AM   #9
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 6,148
I'd say you have a lot more going on in that GPX file than 5000km of Tracks.

I have Track files that are over 8000 Miles and 45,000pts that are only 3.5MB. They aren't exactly low res tracks either.

__________________
Dan - All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 09:54 AM   #10
Ravedigger
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Ravedigger's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2014
Oddometer: 245
I've never really checked the size of my GPX files, but I've always opened my files using Google Earth and it's never had any problems.
__________________
Not all who wander are lost
Ravedigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 02:35 PM   #11
Yamezz OP
Suffers from MBS
 
Yamezz's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: South Australia
Oddometer: 182
Thanks guys. I'll look into these options.

Google Earth will open it fine, but I want to see it on a map. Basecamp will of course display it on a map, but the underlying map is ugly.

I'm not sure how many points there are, but a lot of the 5,000km was undulating switchbacks through the mountains.
__________________
Grammar... The difference between knowing your shit, and knowing you're shit.
Yamezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 03:38 PM   #12
andy29847
Dirt Road Rider
 
andy29847's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: South Carolina
Oddometer: 2,367
You can open in basecamp and them "View" in Google Earth.

__________________
Andy Simons
ABC#8350
IBA#7647,
Trenton, SC
Smugmug coupon code = bQItjZEfrqLkI
MOAB Ride Report
andy29847 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 03:45 PM   #13
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 6,148
If you are looking at it in Google Earth, what else are you saving to the KMZ file besides the "Path"?
__________________
Dan - All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 03:59 PM   #14
Yamezz OP
Suffers from MBS
 
Yamezz's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: South Australia
Oddometer: 182
This all may be a little out of my depth...

I looked into the GPX file - there's 90,115 points. It looks like there's all sorts of extra information in there not needed to simply plot the route on the map. I guess if I could get rid of things like speed and elevation the file size would be smaller.

I downloaded GPSPrune, but I can't get it to run.
__________________
Grammar... The difference between knowing your shit, and knowing you're shit.
Yamezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 04:00 PM   #15
Yamezz OP
Suffers from MBS
 
Yamezz's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: South Australia
Oddometer: 182
Andy I've got the view in Google Earth bit going, but I'd like to see it on Google Maps.
__________________
Grammar... The difference between knowing your shit, and knowing you're shit.
Yamezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015