User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-05-2012, 10:10 AM   #1
neanderthaler OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 65
74 suzuki RL250 opinions

after i just bought a bultaco sherpa t model 92, i found a RL250 not too far away, and it sounds like the price and condition are great. i'm brand new to trials so i'm looking for some feedback. i know the bultaco has some historical significance of winning and some famous names as riders of that model. i'm too new and inexperienced to be brand loyal yet. i know that kicking on the left side and shifting on the right (along with r. braking on the left) is taking some getting used to. what can you tell me about the Suzuki. was it a sales flop, how does it handle, any known issues, any famous trials wins, anyone competing on one now, what differences would i notice from the sherpa???
Old 12-05-2012, 11:04 AM   #2
Todd Miller
Adventurer

Oddometer: 10
Rl250

I have owned 3 1974 RL250's and currently compete on one. They are great vintage Trials bikes. Like any other vintage bike they are no match for the modern bikes however. The RL250 was only imported into the USA for 2 years 1974-75, they are exactly the same bike except for the allum. tank on the 74 vs. metal tank on the 75. Engines are bullit proof. The only thing I hear about the RL is that it is a little heavy compaired to some of the older vintage trisl bikes. Can't say anything about the Bultaco except that they are very cool looking bikes and I see guys competing on them well. There is a guy named Mike out west who has a web site I think named Matrix Motor Sports and he deals only in parts and repairs to RL250's. I have bought from him and he is extremely knowledable about the RL and has about anything for them including upgrades. Hope this helps. Get the RL out and compete on it.
Todd Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 11:25 AM   #3
Sting32
Trials Evangelist

Oddometer: 1,244