Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Trip Planning > Americas
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-11-2012, 12:26 AM   #1
OkADV OP
n00b

Oddometer: 2
Question Need Bike Advice for the Pan American! HELP!

A friend and I are heading down the Pan American for a post-grad trip in May. I am having tons of trouble deciding which bike will be best. I have a 1997 KLR 650 now but it just burns too much oil. I am looking for new options. Anyone have any advice with BMW F650s or 800s? I am looking at 2001 F650 Dakar with 9K miles on it for $3800. Is this a good deal? What are common issues with the bike?

I am new to motorcycles so I will know very little in terms of fixing them while on the road south. I have also looked at KTMS? New KLRs seem to burn oil still so I don't know about those unless you all convince me otherwise.

Please HELP! I need something that will get me to Argentina with very few problems
OkADV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 02:32 AM   #2
GSF1200S
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 976
Quote:
Originally Posted by OkADV View Post
A friend and I are heading down the Pan American for a post-grad trip in May. I am having tons of trouble deciding which bike will be best. I have a 1997 KLR 650 now but it just burns too much oil. I am looking for new options. Anyone have any advice with BMW F650s or 800s? I am looking at 2001 F650 Dakar with 9K miles on it for $3800. Is this a good deal? What are common issues with the bike?

I am new to motorcycles so I will know very little in terms of fixing them while on the road south. I have also looked at KTMS? New KLRs seem to burn oil still so I don't know about those unless you all convince me otherwise.

Please HELP! I need something that will get me to Argentina with very few problems