ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-22-2012, 09:38 AM   #1
Deepc OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Oddometer: 299
Gear indicator bolt stripped out.

Merry Christmas. I rode from new Orleans LA to My folks place in Sarasota Fl only to find a oil leak on the garage floor upon arrival. Upon closer inspection one of my gear indicator bolts was not only loose but stripped out. What are my options? Retap? Coil? Any help would be appreciated....
Deepc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 09:44 AM   #2
DADODIRT
Beastly Adventurer
 
DADODIRT's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Durango,CO(not quite Purgatory)
Oddometer: 3,293
I just replaced the o-ring and was worried I had stripped one of the threads. Not so, but while searching one of the options was drilling and tapping a slightly longer hole with the same thread/pitch. Add a longer bolt and it should be good to go.
The real trick is not to tighten it beyond about 8nm.
__________________
I find your lack of faith disturbing.
DADODIRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 10:06 AM   #3
Deepc OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Oddometer: 299
I just measured the bolt hole. It appears that the bolt only occupies 2/3 of it. I'm guessing that there are some good threads behind the stripped out section. I'm thinking about retaping and using a bolt that is 1/3 longer. What do you think? Also, does anyone know this bolt size and what tap to use?
Deepc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 10:16 AM   #4
Peanuts
Beastly Adventurer
 
Peanuts's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Oddometer: 1,419
Screw is M5 x 12mm long. So I guess an 18mm long screw might go straight in there, but keep an eye open for the screw bottoming out before it nips the switch tight.
Peanuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 10:26 AM   #5
Deepc OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Oddometer: 299
Thanks peanuts
Deepc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 01:08 PM   #6
Deepc OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Oddometer: 299
So, I think I got it fixed. I picked up a M5 bolt that was about 1/3 longer than the original. I retaped the hole with a .80 pitch tap to match the bolt and torqued it down. I took it for a test run and haven't found any leaks. Thanks for the help.
Deepc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 06:22 PM   #7
scruffy
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Bay Area to Key West
Oddometer: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deepc View Post
So, I think I got it fixed. I picked up a M5 bolt that was about 1/3 longer than the original. I retaped the hole with a .80 pitch tap to match the bolt and torqued it down. I took it for a test run and haven't found any leaks. Thanks for the help.
When I had this problem I just took a tapered tap and ground off the tip to make a flat tap (couldn't find a flat tap) and threaded the hole all the way in. It seemed like the last 1/3 of the hole wasn't threaded. No drilling involved . The longer bolt wouldn't go in before I re -taped the hole. It must have been taped with a tapered tap originally. I did both screw holes because the original short screws weren't grabbing many threads. I think that's what caused the problem to begin with.
scruffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 06:26 PM   #8
TheMuffinMan
Forest Ranger Magnet
 
TheMuffinMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Denver, USA
Oddometer: 5,117
I would go to only 3NM max.
__________________
"All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost."
'12 690 Enduro // 690 Wiki
TheMuffinMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 01:46 PM   #9
zedtours
Gnarly Adventurer
 
zedtours's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Surrey
Oddometer: 356
Please,somebody, explain what gear indicator is?Neutral switch???
zedtours is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 03:48 PM   #10
DADODIRT
Beastly Adventurer
 
DADODIRT's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Durango,CO(not quite Purgatory)
Oddometer: 3,293
Probably the same thing. Sorry, no picture, but it is behind and slightly above the front sprocket. O-ring eventually goes bad. Mine was at 28,xxx miles when I replaced the o-ring.
__________________
I find your lack of faith disturbing.
DADODIRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 03:36 PM   #11
Questor
More Undestructable
 
Questor's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Diamond Bar, CA.
Oddometer: 4,044
I've stripped mine before.
Installed Heli-Coil(s) and it's better than new.

So what is this mysterious Gear Indicator switch, someone asked?
On the left side of the bike, behind the sidestand, is an oval panel with a green wire coming out of it.
This switch tells the bike when it is in neutral and is wired to the side stand and a switch on the clutch lever. As the bike is put in neutral, two brass ball bearings inside the switch complete a circuit that also tuns on the green "neutral" light on the dash. This ciruct prevents you from starting the bike when in gear, or the clutch is not pulled in or when the side stand is up.
The screws holding this switch into the engine, usually come loose, or the O-ring gets hard with age. Oil begins to leak out. Then people tend to over tighten the screws and strip the threads going into the engine casing. (Including myself - three times...)

It's a minor leak, but stripping the threads is a pain the a$$.

Easy fix though...

Q~
Questor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 04:32 PM   #12
Sadlsor
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Magic City in the Heart of Dixie
Oddometer: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deepc View Post
Upon closer inspection one of my gear indicator bolts was not only loose but stripped out.
I'm glad someone else asked "what is this?"
Obviously others knew what Deepc referred to; I was sitting here thinking "When did KTM put a gear position indicator on the 9X0?!...Wait...am I still in the OC forum?"
Semantics, I guess.
I'd be completely lost without my Orange Crush teachers.
__________________
You must be the change you wish to see in this world.
Sadlsor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 06:21 AM   #13
zedtours
Gnarly Adventurer
 
zedtours's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Surrey
Oddometer: 356
Neutral Switch!

Just never heard it called that before!
zedtours is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 06:57 AM   #14
Peanuts
Beastly Adventurer
 
Peanuts's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Oddometer: 1,419
It tells the ECU if the gear is one that requires power restriction, more to it than just neutral ;)
Peanuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 03:06 PM   #15
Questor
More Undestructable
 
Questor's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Diamond Bar, CA.
Oddometer: 4,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peanuts View Post
It tells the ECU if the gear is one that requires power restriction, more to it than just neutral ;)

Ooohhh! Even cooler!
Neat!

Q~
Questor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014