ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-27-2012, 08:00 AM   #31
DockingPilot
Hooked Up and Hard Over
 
DockingPilot's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, N.J.
Oddometer: 9,375
Quote:
Originally Posted by BKMLWR View Post
The real issue is what is your gps capable of handling and that will determine which method is best.

With a group ride you then need to be sure everyone's unit will handle the same stuff.

The only way I can trust my 60csx with routes mixed between auto and direct is converting them to direct with wingdb.

Using tracks, the proper zoom level is key to not missing turns.

getting some glasses with progressive lenses helps with the 60 screen....
Hi Dave! you guys get blanketed with snow last night ?
__________________
Frank Reinbold

"Every bike I ever had, was the best bike I ever had, when I had it"
DockingPilot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 08:44 AM   #32
BKMLWR
Wondering around...
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: North Carmel
Oddometer: 4,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by DockingPilot View Post
Hi Dave! you guys get blanketed with snow last night ?
getting it now and not stop until 10-14" in this area, more further from the coast. snow in forcast until Sunday...
tis the season for 685 kit in KLR....

bought a 48" snowblower last yr...fun machine....
__________________
Sometimes I get off the bike before it has come to a complete stop....
Another Proud Small Scale Faker......
Praise You In This Storm
LifeSong
BKMLWR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 09:04 AM   #33
DockingPilot
Hooked Up and Hard Over
 
DockingPilot's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, N.J.
Oddometer: 9,375
Quote:
Originally Posted by BKMLWR View Post
getting it now and not stop until 10-14" in this area, more further from the coast. snow in forcast until Sunday...
tis the season for 685 kit in KLR....

bought a 48" snowblower last yr...fun machine....
Nice!! Your good man Dave with a wonderful family. I'm proud to say I know you. Have a good New Year my freind.
__________________
Frank Reinbold

"Every bike I ever had, was the best bike I ever had, when I had it"
DockingPilot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 09:19 PM   #34
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 9,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9Dave View Post
Very much disagree.

Almost Every major event I have ridden has distributed track information because it doesn't change, unlike routes, which change when recalc'd, and are worthless if someone gives you one that was developed with a different data set.

There was one event I rode where the organizers created a custom mapset for Garmin and then loaded that. They had played with the road specs to convert their track to a road, and then load that. While it was good because it worked, it sucked because they wiped out your mapset on units that only had a limited basemap.

And if you are on a street ride, you shouldn't have a problem with missing roads and having to connect sections, which is what the OP asked about.

As for voice prompts, you are assuming the use of a unit with audio output capability, and the rider using a headset, or speakers.

But it all comes down to the "different strokes for different folks". I'll stick with what I have for now.

You can disagree all you want. Everything I stated is simple fact . I don't do "events", I just ride a shit load. 10's of thousands of miles with GPS's. I do my OWN routes and don't need to depend on someone else to spoonfeed me a route . I'd hate to see you try and ride doing 100+ MPH staring at your track.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 02:45 AM   #35
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
I'd hate to see you try and ride doing 100+ MPH staring at your track.
WTF are you doing riding 100+mph and paying attention to a GPS? Sounds like a recipe for disaster. But that is me.

From the way the OP stated the question, it sounded like the situation one encounters when routing over something like the TAT, where there are missing sections of roads - not on some bonzai road run.

The responses he's received from those of us who ride similar stuff - at posted speeds or below - address those kind of issues.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 07:38 AM   #36
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 9,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9Dave View Post
WTF are you doing riding 100+mph and paying attention to a GPS? Sounds like a recipe for disaster. But that is me.
Voice prompts.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014