ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Racing
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-18-2012, 05:08 PM   #1
Mike_MRS OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: NW UK
Oddometer: 306
Toggle switch or button? (roadbook)

I keep reading that the toggles are not that great or easy to use and that forward/backward buttons are the way to go. Any views from roadbook experts?
Mike_MRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 10:10 PM   #2
HogWild
Scott Whitney
 
HogWild's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: SoCal USA
Oddometer: 2,542
How are you going to wire it so you don't blow a fuse when you accidently press both buttons at the same time? There are ways to do it with the right type of pushbutton switches, but I'm not sure you can find small enough switches with the right features.

I think the toggle is easy to use, but they are slightly more prone to breaking if you crash and hit something just wrong.
__________________
.
New desert racing frontiers
It will be Diabolical!
HogWild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 10:49 PM   #3
Brodovitch
Team ⌘R
 
Brodovitch's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Oddometer: 3,171
Buttons all the way...

have been using these Touratech thingies side by side (also great for when running two trip computers)

__________________
TALES FROM THE BIVOUAC
TWOONEZERO
Brodovitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 12:55 AM   #4
Carlos M
www.motoxplorers.com
 
Carlos M's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Location: Portugal, Europe
Oddometer: 2,837
Most of the pros use toggle
__________________
Carlos M.

MotoXplorers.com
Carlos M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 01:05 AM   #5
fimp
Adventurer
 
fimp's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: East of France
Oddometer: 85
Toggle switch or button? (roadbook)

I used the switch (Heroes Legend) and the buttons solution (Pharaons).
According to me, one of the best solution for the road book is
http://www.mecasystem.fr/pr/303/bout...d-book-md.html

Mixed with this one for the ICO
http://www.mecasystem.fr/pr/302/bout...ise-rouge.html
__________________
Fred Millet
www.desertica.fr
fimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 03:10 AM   #6
640 Armageddon
-oo-
 
640 Armageddon's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Greece
Oddometer: 1,811
I would prefer the buttons but that is my personal feeling and not my opinion as an engineer.

APEM buttons are of very good quality and will survive most of the things you will throw at them but when they fail (as with the toggle of course) they do this without any warning.

My concern is that I have not seen a serviceable combo switch. Touratech, F2r, RNS etc ... They are all sealed. That means if I break the toggle I need to change the combo... Not good... It should be done this way and if the toggle is either damaged from an accident or if it fails you can change it with just an allen key ...
The only credit I give to Touratech is that it has a thin profile and you can fit two side by side as Brodovitch did... But then again the reverse button is a pain in the a$$ to use, you have to be a monkey or something...

As far as functionality goes, I prefer the toggle feeling but that is personal....

May be the people who use the combo ones can comment on their survive ability ?
__________________
Aurora Rally Equipment
"Do or Do Not. There is No Try" - Yoda
640 Armageddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 04:18 AM   #7
italrally
Gnarly Adventurer
 
italrally's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Berlin
Oddometer: 495
Nearly nobody from the rally pros use more touratech switches. to much problems in the sand !

There are a lot o better products on the market, look:









__________________
RallyRaid stuff and MD & MIGTEC roadbooks & RNS - Trip Computer & Alu-Supports & Carbonfibre plates for sale !!!
Design your own personal KENNY Rally Raid jacket !!!
italrally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 05:32 PM   #8
CPWSAFARI
Silverback
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Perth WA
Oddometer: 71
[
My concern is that I have not seen a serviceable combo switch. Touratech, F2r, RNS etc ... They are all sealed. That means if I break the toggle I need to change the combo... Not good... It should be done this way and if the toggle is either damaged from an accident or if it fails you can change it with just an allen key ...

The new combo switch on the KTM450RR has a replaceable toggle - not sure who makes them ?
__________________
don@cpwmotoparts.com.au
CPWSAFARI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 01:50 PM   #9
schattat
Beastly Adventurer
 
schattat's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Oddometer: 1,408
Depends on what "servicable" means to you. A lot of these remote models, including the F2R,Meca double button model and a similiar model from OZZO racng, seal their switches in hard epoxy, which makes it near impossible to remove. Had to fix a unit for a mate a few months ago, a real PITA with a mini grinder!

I use silicone on my models, similar to what is in the inside of an ICO unit or inside your CDI unit on your bike. It's sturdy enough not the brake in any way, seals the inside of the toggle switch hole ENTIRELY and is removable with a blade/screw driver if needs be. The KTM model has a plastic plug to fill the hole, not sure if the inside is still with silicone, I doubt it though...
__________________
RNS - Rallye Navigation Solutions

Yamaha WR450F Rallye Spec
schattat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 12:11 AM   #10
640 Armageddon
-oo-
 
640 Armageddon's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Greece
Oddometer: 1,811
Usually the buttons will service the rider without any problems if they are of good quality, I was more thinking about the toggle switch which is at the bottom ... May be easier to break? Of course the sealing and everything makes everything harder. At least the toggle may be able to be sealed on its own compartment without any silicon but just a sealed cover ? Then you could just replace the thing ?
__________________
Aurora Rally Equipment
"Do or Do Not. There is No Try" - Yoda
640 Armageddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014