ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-26-2012, 12:17 PM   #1
ghollaba OP
Backroads
 
ghollaba's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Broken Arrow, Okla
Oddometer: 57
Garmin vrs Tablet?

Help!!
I need to purchase a new Garmin, to be located on my Wr250, so before purchased had a few questions..
I had a hand held Garmin 60c that I would transfer files from my PC that I had build using Mapsource, that was a few years ago. I would also download from the Garmin to the PC.

Have things changed with all the Tablets?
Can a tablet run Mapsource so I can get rid of my PC?
Can a tablet take the place of a Garmin?
Don't need color on my next unit but would like a little larger screen if possible..
thoughts? appreciate it
ghollaba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 12:40 PM   #2
Craneguy
British Hooligan
 
Craneguy's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Riyadh, KSA, Cuernavaca, Mx, Houston, Tx
Oddometer: 1,028
I don't think you can hook a Garmin to a tablet, but I may be wrong.

Tablets and phones as GPS's are generally limited by the screen. Most wash-out in direct sunlight.
__________________
Young enough to think I can. Old enough to know I shouldn't. Stupid enough to do it anyway
'13 Duc Multi GT, '10 Vstrom 1k, '10 705cc KLR
Craneguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 12:42 PM   #3
DennyIndy
Old F@rt
 
DennyIndy's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Indiana
Oddometer: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craneguy View Post
I don't think you can hook a Garmin to a tablet, but I may be wrong.

Tablets and phones as GPS's are generally limited by the screen. Most wash-out in direct sunlight.
Also Tablets are not so rugged, unless you pop for one of the extra heavy duty Mil spec ones.

You could probably buy 3 Garmin Montanas for the cost of one of those.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac View Post
Fret about bigger issues, like whether a neighbor's dog is pooping in your yard.
Cheers, Denny
DennyIndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 01:02 PM   #4
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 8,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craneguy View Post
I don't think you can hook a Garmin to a tablet, but I may be wrong.
Windows 8 Tab should work.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 03:01 PM   #5
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,231
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
Windows 8 Tab should work.
Depending on the OS. 8 RT, I doubt it. 8 Pro maybe more likely.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 03:04 PM   #6
Craneguy
British Hooligan
 
Craneguy's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Riyadh, KSA, Cuernavaca, Mx, Houston, Tx
Oddometer: 1,028
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
Windows 8 Tab should work.
Shows how popular they are, it never crossed my mind (and I'm a gadget freak ) but you're right of course. You could probably pick up a cheap, used win 7 one too.
__________________
Young enough to think I can. Old enough to know I shouldn't. Stupid enough to do it anyway
'13 Duc Multi GT, '10 Vstrom 1k, '10 705cc KLR
Craneguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 09:11 PM   #7
ghollaba OP
Backroads
 
ghollaba's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Broken Arrow, Okla
Oddometer: 57
Going with Garmin

thanks everyone, I will just go with a Garmin and keep the mapsource software on my home laptop..
thanks
ghollaba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 06:13 PM   #8
klxmack
king of the box
 
klxmack's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Toronto
Oddometer: 493
[QUOTE=ghollaba;20335582]thanks everyone, I will just go with a Garmin and keep the mapsource software on my home laptop..
thanks[/QUOTE

If you buy a new Map62 it wont run mapsoure. It uses basecamp. The new GPS and software is not as user friendly.
I would have bought a new map60c and stuck with the old software if they still sold it.

Cheers
__________________
Laws of the motorcycle universe.
1. Ya don't need a faster bike, just ride faster.
2. The natural state of a motorcycle is on its side.
3. My bike and its owner are faster than yours.
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showt...hlight=klxmack
klxmack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014