ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-30-2010, 10:14 AM   #1
dukedar OP
60 easy payments!
 
dukedar's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Montreal, Qc
Oddometer: 340
Question Kaoko Throttle Lock Install Issue - F800GS - OEM Guards

I received my Kaoko Throttle lock yesterday for the F800GS with the OEM BMW hand guards (P/N CCF900).

For some reason, once I had it installed, it feels like it is always on, no matter what setting that I put it at.

Originally, I had an issue with the handguard, because it was touching the mirror and I did not have enough of a gap for the lock, but I opened up the guard a little and I was able to get it to fit. From what I can see, this will not affect the lock, as the rest of the guard will simply move inboard.

I have two ideas:

1) Based on the instructions, move the throttle inwards. I have searched the service DVD, but I have not yet found how those marks are supposed to line up for the throttle installation. Does anyone know or has seen how to do this? i.e. move the throttle and line it up?

2) Make a new spacer for the OEM guards that is a little longer or simply add a washer of an appropriate size to the existing one. Anyone try this?

I can post photos later today if it will help.

I have also emailed the supplier, hopefully I will hear back, but I figured that I would put it out here first.

Thanks!
__________________
Darren
'09 BMW F800GS

dukedar screwed with this post 03-30-2010 at 06:46 PM
dukedar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 07:01 PM   #2
dukedar OP
60 easy payments!
 
dukedar's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Montreal, Qc
Oddometer: 340
Some photos

Adding some pics:

The alignment mark as delivered:



About a 2mm gap when assembled WITHOUT the Kaoko lock:



Standard setup with OEM Handguards:



Bad picture, but that is about 11mm to stuff in there:



I will tinker with it some more tomorrow, but hopefully someone can chime in...

But the more I think about it, the more that I think i may need to go the washer route... we'll see...
__________________
Darren
'09 BMW F800GS
dukedar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 07:01 PM   #3
dukedar OP
60 easy payments!
 
dukedar's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Montreal, Qc
Oddometer: 340
I solved the issue. I heard back from Kaoko:

- loosen the mirror/brake and back it off enough to clear the cover on the switch
- remove the switch cover and loosen the throttle
- move the throttle inwards by about 1mm
- zip it all back up again.

Works like a charm!
__________________
Darren
'09 BMW F800GS
dukedar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 06:37 PM   #4
i-man
Gnarly Adventurer
 
i-man's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Beacon, NY
Oddometer: 135
Found this fix for my issue...while i was not having the issue of the lock aways being on.if the heated handgrips were one i guess things would expand the the Kaoko was always engaged..very bad..i was able to move the throttle over a hair ..seems to worked! Thanks
__________________
2013 BMW R1200GS Rallye Edition
i-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 09:22 PM   #5
murpies
Adventurer
 
murpies's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Oddometer: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by dukedar View Post
I solved the issue. I heard back from Kaoko:

- loosen the mirror/brake and back it off enough to clear the cover on the switch
- remove the switch cover and loosen the throttle
- move the throttle inwards by about 1mm
- zip it all back up again.

Works like a charm!
Hi appreciate Yur info, do you have picture of the step by step instruction? Cos picture paint a thousand story. Thanks
murpies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 12:15 AM   #6
somejuan
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Nth Canterbury, New Zealand
Oddometer: 12
There is a video on their website from memory
somejuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 02:42 AM   #7
murpies
Adventurer
 
murpies's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Oddometer: 90
Somejuan: thanks for the hind, I got it on the wunderlich video clip as to how to back the throttle switch a few inches for the it to work.

Dukedar: can post a few picture of the end product of the throttle lock as compare with your previous picture that u had share with us ? Thanks .
murpies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014