User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-01-2013, 01:04 PM   #1
RatchRacing OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 28
1987 Honda XL 250R restore / rebuild.

Hi ADVer's! I've been a lurker on the site for a while and feel that I've got something to contribute now. I've been riding dirtbikes for the last 10 years and have wanted a dual sport for a while to do some back country exploring on. A new bike is out of the budget right now, wife and kid comes first.

I picked up a 1987 Honda XL250R for $500 from Kijiji for a cheap dual sport project. I've heard positive things about the reliability of these old machines and figured it would be a worthy project. Its a non-runner and needs some work to say the least.

This is what she looked like when I got it home.

I put a carb rebuild kit in it and got it running. Not very well though. I also noticed that the head gasket was covered in silicone

So the bike and engine will come apart for inspection and refurbishment.

RatchRacing screwed with this post 03-22-2013 at 03:41 AM
RatchRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 01:11 PM   #2
RatchRacing OP
Adventurer

Got the bike torn down and the engine out.

So far it looks like someone has done some engine work to the bike, not very well though. All the gaskets are silicone covered, loose bolts everywhere, valves way out of adjustment.

More to come.....
Old 01-01-2013, 01:52 PM   #3
RatchRacing OP
Adventurer

Tore into the engine to give it the once over. Found some good stuff and some bad inside the engine.

Popped the jug off and found that the oil ring was broken, most likely by the stupid oaf that installed the piston backwards while putting it on.

The cylinder wall has a scratch in it from the broken ring , I'm hoping it will just hone out since the clearances are all within specs. You can just barely feel it with your fingernail. Looks worse in the picture.