ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-03-2013, 09:06 PM   #1
zgfiredude OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Aspen, Colorado
Oddometer: 765
HDB top clamp and hand guards-question

Ok, I'm going to go with one of Paul's set ups, but have a specific question.

Paul offers a top clamp with a spot for an ignition switch. I was thinking of having the ignition and a powerlet on the top row.

Paul tells me that the opening for the ignition fits either a Baja Designs or Sicass Racing switch, not the stocker.

1. Who has done this and which switch did you use?
2. How do you like the set up?
3. What did you do to or with the stock switch?

I hope I've explained it clearly.....

__________________
'06 950S Adv, DRZ440E, KLX440R, DRZ250, & F650GS
zgfiredude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 12:01 AM   #2
Hondo
What if its a Samsquamch?
 
Hondo's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Denver, Colorado
Oddometer: 9,000
On my KLX450R I used a Baja Designs switch that I bought from Paul- no issues & a great fit.

I did paint the letters though-



The KLX450R didn't have a keyed switch to begin with, so I used to control both the electrical & the ignition.
__________________
KLRWorld.com Forums - Nighthawk Forums

"Life's an adventure, and I refuse to live a boring one."

Hondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 07:44 AM   #3
zgfiredude OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Aspen, Colorado
Oddometer: 765
Hondo, that's beautiful!

I'm thinking Keyed Ignition (same location as yours), Powerlet (where your fan/reserved switches are), and hopefully some on/off switches across the bottom row for "stuff".

I am wondering what if any "issues" I'll have by deleting the stock ignition switch, if I do........
__________________
'06 950S Adv, DRZ440E, KLX440R, DRZ250, & F650GS
zgfiredude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 06:26 PM   #4
Hondo
What if its a Samsquamch?
 
Hondo's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Denver, Colorado
Oddometer: 9,000
The biggest drawback might be security of the switch & wiring vs the stock setup.

When I installed the Scotts/BRP upper triple tree I had to drill out the fasteners holding the switch in place. So you can expect having to remove the upper triple if you will be removing the switch.

If you can leave it, you could tie into the wiring after disconnecting the stock switch connector.
__________________
KLRWorld.com Forums - Nighthawk Forums

"Life's an adventure, and I refuse to live a boring one."

Hondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014