ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-25-2013, 10:56 AM   #1
johnny80s OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
johnny80s's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Fallbrook, CA
Oddometer: 247
GS to GSA Tank Swap Fuel Error

I installed a complete 2007 GSA tank on my 2007 GS. I finally ran into a hiccup I can't figure out. I am getting a fuel error and the fuel gauge and odometer are not working. Everything is plugged in as it should. The bike runs. I took for a 20 minute ride and it was fine but the trip odometer says 0 and the fuel gauge reads nothing, doesn't even flash. I put 5 gallons in the tank to start with.

Can anyone give me an idea what this might be?
johnny80s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 11:29 AM   #2
kk3an
Adventurer
 
kk3an's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Somerset, PA
Oddometer: 85
Is the GSA tank new, or used? Also does your '07 have the fuel strip, or a float for reading the fuel level?

Reason I ask is, perhaps it would have been better to fill the tank completely after doing a motronic reset (disconnecting both battery cables and touching them together for a brief period, then reconnecting both). I'm thinking when you introduced the new fuel measuring device to your ECM, without doing the reset and only filling up partway, the ECM may not be recognizing the new hardware that's been substituted for the old, and it's response was to simply show no data (no fuel reading).

Just thinking out loud here - but this is the procedure I would try.

Dan

kk3an screwed with this post 08-25-2013 at 11:36 AM
kk3an is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 11:31 AM   #3
johnny80s OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
johnny80s's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Fallbrook, CA
Oddometer: 247
Thanks! I have no clue if it is strip or float.

I will try filling it up and then doing the battery thing.
johnny80s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 11:59 AM   #4
capeklr
Gnarly Adventurer
 
capeklr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Cape Town
Oddometer: 307
To my knowledge the float sensing system was introduced in 2010, so lf both tanks are 07 then both should have the strip. Considering the the GSA has a larger tank I would guess that the strip is different and the ECU does not recognize it.
__________________
1998 KLR 680C; to many mods to list.
2007 BMW 1200GSA.
capeklr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 12:08 PM   #5
johnny80s OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
johnny80s's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Fallbrook, CA
Oddometer: 247
Went out to the garage and pulled the battery leads then touched them together. Put them back on and still getting a fuel error. I did not fill the tank all the way.

The tank was used. I got from Motoree off the 07 he was parting out. It was working fine.
johnny80s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 12:27 PM   #6
johnny80s OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
johnny80s's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Fallbrook, CA
Oddometer: 247
Everything I have read about bad fuel strips does not mention the trip odometer not working?
johnny80s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 12:36 PM   #7
kk3an
Adventurer
 
kk3an's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Somerset, PA
Oddometer: 85
If it were me, I'd fill the tank, and again do the reset procedure. If still not working, I would then empty the tank, and do the reset procedure once again with the tank empty.

I'm thinking you may also have to ride the bike a little ways for anything to change with the fuel reading after the reset - instead of just turning the key in your garage with the bike parked. This is all assuming the fuel strip is connected inside the tank.

Dan

kk3an screwed with this post 08-25-2013 at 12:47 PM
kk3an is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 05:35 AM   #8
Motomochila
Mechanically Inept
 
Motomochila's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: N 34 22.573' W 118 34.328' Jes North of LA a few.
Oddometer: 701
Really?? Another attempt to swap a tank. Did you not read all the threads here. Good luck...and let us know when you take delivery of your new GSA.
__________________
KTM- 2014 500 EXC, 2009 690 Enduro R E BMW- 2012 GTL 1600-sweet, 2011 R1200GS Adventure Honda- 2000 XR650R- 2006 XR650L- Yamaha- 1972 XS750 Tracker, 1971 RC5- BSA- 1945 M20, 1969 BSA 441 Victor . The list goes on but why bore you... 16 and counting. Its an attachment issue.

Motomochila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 05:42 AM   #9
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 48,061
Likely the GSA tank has a bad fuel strip. Leaving a tank dry for an extended period can do it, or it could already have been bad. I would fill it all the way and ride for a while. It might help if the whole strip is saturated, though unlikely.

As for the Odometer, that is a stumper. It has nothing to do with the fuel strip. I assume not only your odometer, but your trip meters are also not working? Since you, apparently, have a speedometer, this is an odd one, and most likely you have a broken wire or unplugged cannector. It is possible that the connector for the tank and the odometer are shared on the way to the gauge, but I do not have a wiring diagram handy.

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 06:34 AM   #10
johnny80s OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
johnny80s's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Fallbrook, CA
Oddometer: 247
Thanks Jim. I will look into that.
johnny80s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 01:24 AM   #11
johnny80s OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
johnny80s's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Fallbrook, CA
Oddometer: 247
I think I figured out what the issue is. I puled the fuel pumps out of each tank. The GS Adventure pump came out along with its dreaded fuel strip. Then I pulled the GS pump out and it has a float. If I remember right the bike I pulled the parts from had an on board computer and mine does not. So I swapped out the pumps. Moved my BBY reinforcing ring to the GS pump and am now waiting for the sealant on the stainless quick disconnect to set up. I will install that in 15 minutes then plug everything in and wait until morning to try it or maybe a little longer since it is 1:20am here.

I don't recall reading about this error ever anywhere on all the fuel strip and GS to GSA conversions threads. I did read all the conversion threads I could find. I think the reason why others did not have this problem is the folks that made the conversions used their old fuel pumps (strip or float) so their bike recognized it without issue. My tank came with the pump and all in it so I just installed it not thinking anything about it.

Thank you all for your responses. Let's hope this fixes it. And if this is the fix then I don't have to worry about the fuel strip issue.

I will let you know.
johnny80s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 04:45 AM   #12
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 48,061
It should fix the read error on the gauge, though it won't be accurate in the slightest. I'm very interested to see if it will matter with the odometer.

jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 08:18 AM   #13
YetiGS
No Talent Ass Clown
 
YetiGS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 7,307



I love threads like this where bikes do weird shit and we get to armchair figure out why.
__________________
-Scott-
Semper Fi
'04 BMW R1150GSA, '04 KTM 625 SXC
"You had better bring an extra magazine. Yeti's amped up on weird shit are hard to bring down." Lonestar2112
YetiGS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 09:21 AM   #14
johnny80s OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
johnny80s's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Fallbrook, CA
Oddometer: 247
I started the bike this morning and the fuel gauge went to top, then went to half then went to reserve. It has about 4 plus gallons in it. It reads 107 miles to empty. I am going to take it for a quick spin at lunch, check the trip and fill it up. We will see how it goes. I read of folks bending the float arm to try to make it work. I will read up on that some more. I love it when plan comes together...
johnny80s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 09:30 AM   #15
LaurelPerryOnLand
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Oddometer: 3,258
Top 100 threads list...

When you get your problem sorted...I'll add this thread to:

80. CAN YOU CONVERT A GS TO THE LARGER GSA FUEL TANK? HOW?

so others can benefit from your findings.

Good luck!
LaurelPerryOnLand is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014